We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience! Superb photography opportunities!”

Hot Air Expeditions
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Phoenix Hot Air Balloon Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Hot Air Expeditions we pride ourselves on providing hot air ballooning experiences in the Phoenix/Scottsdale, Arizona. We've been operating locally in the Valley of the Sun for over 26 years and rated the "Best Ballooning in Phoenix" by Fodor's Travel for 22 years in a row! We provide morning flights daily, year-round and sunset flights are offered seasonally, November through March. All flights include gourmet catered fare from Vincents on Camelback, along with a champagne toast and flight certificate. Come check this off of your bucket list with us!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great experience! Superb photography opportunities!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I did this with a friend. During this time of year to can only do a sunrise ride, which starts at 6am. We actually booked it for another day but it was cancelled due to high winds. Be prepared for this to happen and leave another day open if you really want to do it.

Our ride was 1.5 hours long. The pilot, Mike, gave us a great ride and took us right up to 7000 feet. He had some challenging winds before we landed, but when we did land, it was so smooth, I think even he was surprised!

The scenery was beautiful, but be warned that the burners are very hot and close to your head. Wear a hat or hoodie to keep your head protected. Also try to eat and drink before you leave as flying on an empty stomach may be upsetting.

Not sure it's worth $200 to some, but we thought it was!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pokee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    61
    18
    11
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had the best experience in my life for my first time ever in a hot air balloon!!
It was all amazing and i am still in awe about the entire experience.. Only disappointing thing was the sun had already risen by the time we got into the air, but nontheless, it was just amazing!! Loved it all.. The Pilot, the crew were great, the breakfast, it was all fabulous!! Even loved my certificate at the end.. How fabulous is that!!
Would definitely do it again, and so beautoful over Scottsdale! What an amazing experience and view and crew and food and everything!!
I was part of a Trafalgar Tour and best money and optional tour ever!!
Thank YOU GUYS!!!! :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Santoriniigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great scenery with experienced pilots!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Patrick, our pilot, showed us some great desert scenery including Lake Pleasant! His sense of humor certainly enhanced the trip. We were picked up very early in the morning. The sunrise was picture perfect as the crew was inflating our balloon. When we took off, we skirted the desert for a while before going up over 1 mile high!! We were up in the air about 1hour and 15 minutes. As we were descending we saw four wild burros trotting through the desert below us! After a soft landing, the crew set up picnic tables in the desert and we had a champagne toast, a croissant with cheese and apples slices and a small veggie quiche--all from Vincent's restaurant on Camelback and all very tasty. We met two nice couples --one from New Jersey and one from Tennesee and a young lady from Australia---lots of fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great experience and very friendly staffs”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a great experience. All the guys who took care of the balloon and who picked us up from hotel were absolutely amazing. Our pilot Patrick was very funny and easy going which made the experience unforgettable. I would recommend this company to anyone who wants to do hot air balloon rides. What a great experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank vbeaudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our trip began at 4:30 a.m. The company goes out early each morning to find the best spot to launch. When we arrived at the take off site in the desert, we were informed of the inflation procedure and facts about the balloon and flying. Before lifting off, landing procedures were explained. Our balloon held 12 passengers. We then flew anywhere from about 100 feet above the ground to 2000 feet, dipping down occasionally to see animal life. After an hour flight, we amazingly landed very smoothly, fairly close to our launch site. Breakfast was served with linen tablecloth and china in the middle of the desert. There is nothing like an 8:00 breakfast in the desert, complete with champagne, mimosas, juice, quiche, croissants, cheese, fruit, and even a cake for celebrating anniversaries! After toasting our safe flight, we were inducted into the Ballooning Society.

Since I have a fear of heights, I wasn't sure I wanted to do this activity. But as I later discovered, there is no height sensation while in the balloon. I felt perfectly comfortable the entire time. there was no feeling of rising and falling. The dest is the perfect place for this activity.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hersheyknikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Air Expeditions also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Hot Air Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing