We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Phoenix Convention Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Phoenix Convention Hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We had a 5 day stay at the Sheraton Phoenix Downtown. I needed to stay downtown for a conference at the convention center and found this hotel to be top notch. The service from everyone we encountered was outstanding - from the valet parking to the bellmen to the front desk folks. Kristin, a concierge, not only was personable and friendly but she never steered us wrong - all of her recommendations were spot on with what we were looking for. In all honesty, I have stayed at the Ritz Carlton & Four Seasons & the service here was every bit as good!

Hotel itself is on the newer side, impeccably clean and 1 1/2 blocks from the Phoenix convention center. We had a corner room on the 27th floor. I had read the corner rooms were oversized but I really don't think that is true - we did have a larger bathroom but that's it. The rooms are an OK size with a large desk and flat screen TV. I must admit the closet & clothes area was a bit on the small side. It looks like an armoire built into the wall with a small closet area sitting above 2 smallish drawers. And that was all the room offered for storage - which is just fine for a short stay but there were 2 of us there for 5 days and I had both business & play clothes so it was a bit cramped. The room was tastefully appointed and extremely quiet - I never heard a sound from outside the door. Valet parking was $25/day or self park for $19. We used the valet and the car was always ready by the time we walked out the door. The District Bar was fun place to have a drink - we ate at the restaurant and we were not at all impressed. Service was good, but I thought the menu was limited in scope and the food was only just OK. They have a Starbucks cafe for morning coffee. Housekeeping was excellent. Fitness Center was large with more cardio equipment than I have seen in other hotels along with weights and machines. Pool was more of a lap pool and there was hot tub. I didn't use the pool but did go to the Fitness Center every day.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - excellent hotel with superior service from everyone we encountered.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtmbf50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    546
    118
    39
    38
See reviews for
112
144
93
1,070
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
401 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I was in Phoenix for a conference at the Convention Center. The Sheraton was about 1 block away. Very nice rooms, great service. Great place to stay. Just a couple of blocks from both basketball and baseball.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2010

During my week long stay I visited the lounge area next to the hotel and received fantastic service from Tearsa. She was always tentative and friendly while she waited on me and my friends. Drinks were reasonably priced and always delicious. Tearsa was always honest with how the food and drinks were. She definitely needs to get a raise and/or promotion. Others on the bar staff were equally as friendly as they passed by and weren't afraid to start up a genuine conversation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxxalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We were attending the ATA conference.

My assocaite and I had the pleasure to meet and be served by bar waiter Ken Kriske. The bar was the first place we landed when we arrived at the hotel. Ken welcomed us and made us feel right at home. He told us about the hotel, Phoenix the Convention Center and more. If we needed anything he was our go to guy. He keep us fed and our the drinks in check.

I hope he is recognized for his qualities. He represented the Sheraton hotel and the city of Phoenix like few others would. He made our stay in Phoenix a real pleasure.

Again thanks Ken. Keep up the great job that you do.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lengland5451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leoper, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Ken is very much recognized for the wonderful way in which he represents the hotel. We have thanked him before and will again for the great job that he continues to do for us.

We’re pleased that you had such a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

We value your business and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards



LEO PERCOPO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I recommend the freindly and great service of the staff at the bar. If you're looking for inexpensive drinks, great service, and a nice atmosphere this is the place to go. I would like to give credit to Bradley Brock and Joni Huddleston for their excellent and friendly service to their customers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse110680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leoper, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Thanks so much for letting us know about the service you experienced with the staff at our bar. Brad and Joni truly exemplify the professional, yet friendly face of the hotel and we feel lucky to have them represent us.

We’re glad you found the atmosphere so appealing, please come back and visit soon!


Warm Regards



LEO PERCOPO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We work in the area and visit the bar on occasion for cocktails. The servers are always friendly and attentive and have a knack for remembering your drink preference- always key in turning the impersonal atmosphere you find in many hotel bars into something more comfortable. Maggie's particularly adept at this on the floor as are Joanie and James behind the bar.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JackHensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2010

The Sheraton Downtown PHX is a great hotel all around. It is centrally located, has great rooms/beds, full workout center, excellent restaurant menu, and the staff is outstanding. Everyone from the valet service to the front desk to the bar/restuarant staff takes the time to get to know return customers and make their experience better. Bradley Brock, of the District 9 restaurant/bar is always there with a handshake and a conversation. In addition to being an excellent bartender, he always makes time to chat about whats going on, no matter how busy the bar is. He, among others, makes this my hotel of choice when visiting Phoenix.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmh0171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#3 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Phoenix

Property: Sheraton Grand Phoenix
Address: 340 N 3rd St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2128 (Formerly Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#18 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#19 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#31 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Phoenix is conveniently located in the center of the city, adjacent to the Phoenix Convention Center and just five miles from the Sky Harbor International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Grand Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing