We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!!! Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!!! Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

For being a Sheraton they lack in luxury and customer service. Pool was dirty and gross my husband had to literally clean the pool from all the debris just to swim. Had to call guest services 3 times for more creamer..never got it. I'm still waiting for the creamer! Beds say queen but they are not. No vending machines for snacks. The restaurant is overpriced. Also be careful parking there they charge $19/day no free parking with stay or being a preferred Sheraton guest. no free wifi. They make u sign up for their preferred guest service in order to get the wifi codes. No shuttle service included. They offer a car to the airport for $25 flat rate. The airport is 2.1 miles away! I expected more from the Sheraton than this. They nickel and dime u for everything. My tv broke in my room. Few things that are somewhat decent is the location ,you can walk to shops across the street. They have happy hour and reverse happy hour from 10-close. Pool is salt water if you like that. They did fix the tv in record time. The bartender at the pool bar was so friendly and easy going. She was the best part of the stay. She gave us a long list of local places eat. All in all, I expected ALOT MORE perks from such a well known luxury hotel...a clean pool, prompt service when needed, free wifi regardless, and a free shuttle service to the airport...I was in utter shock and disgust at the parking fee after spending so much $ there they the nerve to charge for parking. There are signs that say parking fee but I assumed since I was staying there those rates are not applied. NOPE!!! I will tell everyone NOT to stay here. I have a ton of family that come to Arizona and I will recommend they stay somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Claudia,

We would have loved for you to bid us farewell with a much better impression of us.
In the areas that we fell short, we do extend an apology that you found things less than satisfactory. Your care and comfort are important to us and of course we want you to feel that our hotel is a good value for the price and that you feel valued while staying here.

We will let Heather at Breeze Bar know that you found the connection with her to be the best part of your stay. Thank you for letting us know as well that our Engineering team responded quickly to the problem with your guestroom television.

ALL of the feedback you provided will help us in our daily quest for excellence and in providing exceptional service. We thank you for this gift of feedback.

Regarding parking, our City has grown and the demand for parking along with it. Please know that we consistently compare pricing for parking within the downtown area and make adjustments as a result of it.

Again, we are so sorry that your stay with us was not all that it could be, or at the level that we know the Sheraton Phoenix can deliver value and service.

Warm Regards,


Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    551
    120
    40
    38
See reviews for
113
145
94
1,081
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Worst hotel experience of my life. Unable to sleep the entire night due to the rudeness of staff and noisiness of the location. Double charged for parking and no response when I asked about it. Manager seems to feel the customer is always wrong. Maids were rude and unprofessional. I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Steve,

Although we cannot speak to the disconnects you experienced here with our staff at this time, rest assured that we will conduct due diligence in finding out the details, so that we can use your experience during your recent stay to re-educate and re-train our team members. There is absolutely no excuse for rudeness to a valued guest.

We genuinely thank you for taking the time to write.

On behalf of the Sheraton Phoenix, we extend sincere apologies for your experience here.

Warm Regards,


Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is by far the "NEW" Sheraton. This property looks brand new. Many Westin's should be so nice! The staff were very, very helpful and friendly. Beds were super comfortable. In room coffee maker, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipityquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, it is very gratifying to hear, as customer care is among our highest priorities.

It was a pleasure to note how much your enjoyed your experience, thank you for taking the time to share your memorable moments with us.

We will look forward to welcoming you “home” on your next visit.

Warm Regards,


Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for the Volleyball Festival in June. Super hot but the hotel was an air-conditioned oasis. Great location two blocks from the convention center and across the street from a small mall with a half dozen decent sized restaurants as well as Cold Stone, Subway, Starbucks, etc. There is also a Starbucks stand in the hotel as well so no need to walk across the street if you just need a quick coffee fix.

The hotel itself is nice with decent amenities. The on-site restaurant is fairly good, the beds are comfy, nice sheets and pillows, small pool and gym and the club lounge is nice. Unlike some SPG properties, the club lounge is also open on the weekend (6-11 in the am and 4-7 in the pm). Mornings are continental style but there is oatmeal. Boiled eggs were the only protein. Evenings had cheese and crackers and a couple puff pastry appetizers (one mushroom, one beef). I think it was great they limited the number of club lounge passes they sell so the lounge doesn't get too crowded.

For our stay, the best part was the service. The staff was friendly and helpful. Jeff Gardner (the front desk manager) was absolutely amazing and went above and beyond on more than one occasion. He's the one who made our stay so special and made me feel valued as an SPG member. You can't beat the service or the location of this hotel. I'm definitely returning on our next trip to Phoenix.

Room Tip: We had room 3117 and that side of the hotel had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriacr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Victoria,

Thank you so much for letting us know that your expectations were exceeded during your recent stay! We always enjoy having the Volleyball group in-house.

We are especially thrilled to hear that as a loyal SPG member, you felt that we valued that loyalty – because we certainly do!

It was very kind of you to recognize Jeff Gardner, he will be happy to know that he impacted your stay in such a positive way.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Phoenix.

Warm Regards,


Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed at the Sheraton to attend a conference at the Convention Center. The employees are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Service is prompt and efficient.

The room was much smaller than expected at a hotel of this stature. There was little walking space. All of the lamps were mismatched and the desk chair DEFINITELY was no where near ergonomic! It was much too low for the desk, no wheels, and a 'sinking' cushion. The food was not great and much too expensive for the quality. The cleaning of the room was not good. It looked good on the surface but shortly after getting into the room while looking for an electrical plug, I pulled back the draperies and there was trash and a couple of screws on the floor. My bedroom slippers quickly attracted leftover hair from the floor. There was also hair on the floor of the bathroom. The area behind the coffee tray had obviously not been cleaned after several occupants. Dust was thick in that area and there were a couple of almonds under the coffee tray. Totally unacceptable!

Overall, our experience was good at the Sheraton and I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We hope you would consider staying with us again as we know we can do better.
Your feedback will help us to do this. It means a lot when a guest cares enough to provide us with feedback, we consider it a gift, and we genuinely thank you for it.

We were very happy to know that you found staff service to be friendly, efficient and prompt.

We know you have many choices when traveling and we would love to be your choice of hotel when you find yourself in the Valley of the Sun again.

Warm regards,


Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was at the hotel for a business conference that was being held at the Convention center down the block. It was fairly convenient to the Convention center and if you did not want to walk there were pedicabs outside the hotel to take you. Please note... the pedicab drivers cannot give you a price for the ride. They are only able to take tips by law. If one of them quotes you a price you need to let them know that they are breaking the law. The rooms at the hotel are on the small side, but comfortable. No big issues there. The lobby bar is nice and the drinks are good. The only probable I had was different bartenders charging different prices for the same exact drink. Just pay attention to what you are paying. The hotel is very convenient to the airport (10 minutes). I had lunch at the only restaurant at the hotel and it was good, but not great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor and you will get a much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Cathy,

Well of course we do not like to be described as “average” and strive more to the “exceptional” rating, but, your review and feedback were greatly appreciated and the issues you spoke about duly noted.

Our team really does strive to provide exceptional service and this is a daily and continual quest by all of us here at the Sheraton Phoenix. We seem to have fallen short during your stay and for that we apologize.

Our business travelers are very important to us, your patronage and loyalty never taken for granted.

We hope that you will return and allow us to have another opportunity to be of service.

Warm Regards,


Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great location for a conference I was attending. It is within walking distance of many restaurants, Chase Field and the convention center. Meeting facilities were very good. Concierge helped our group with baseball tickets.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Dave,

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location in the downtown area and that you were even able to attend a baseball game – spending a summer evening at Chase Field watching a ballgame is time well-spent. It was great that our Concierge arranged that for you.

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed the meeting facilities here as well.

Your business is very much appreciated and we also thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here.

Warm regards,


Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
814 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#2 of 174 in Phoenix
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Phoenix

Property: Sheraton Grand Phoenix
Address: 340 N 3rd St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2128 (Formerly Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#18 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#19 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#31 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Phoenix is conveniently located in the center of the city, adjacent to the Phoenix Convention Center and just five miles from the Sky Harbor International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing