We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in downtown phoenix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
Ranked #18 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed there on our last day and it was fine. The hotel room is small but the lobby and the bars/ restaurants are huge. Staffs are friendly. Good walking distance to the historic site and shopping area of downtown phoenix.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank drsfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience here. It was great to hear that you found our location in the heart of downtown so convenient and especially that you found our staff to be friendly.

We appreciate your business and hope that you would choose us again when in the Valley of the Sun.

Warm Regards,


Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

We used Phoenix as a little stopover between LA and Grand Canyon for our road trip, and it was a great stay! The Westin, as you'd expect from a larger chain, was clean and had all the amenities you usually require for a stay. It seems they cater for a lot of business travellers.

There is parking available (either self-park or valet - extra) at a cost, and unfortunately wifi is also chargeable in the room, which I still don't understand these days. We spent some time poolside which was nice after a long drive, and there is quite a large gym available.

The hotel is a short-walk (10-15 mins) to the city / US Airways Arena / Chase Field, and there are shops/restaurants (Hooters, Starbucks and cafes) across the road.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezza1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

It is so nice to know that, although we were just a one night stopover, you found the hotel to be a great value and enjoyed your stay with us.

I can well believe that our 4th floor pool area was a welcome respite from the road trip; so glad to hear you found your way there to relax and unwind.

We certainly hope you will come and stay again and for a longer period of time. We will be ready to warmly welcome you back!

Warm Regards,


Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is a well-situated hotel in Phoenix. Within walking distance of many restaurants and attractions it is ideal for both business and pleasure. The hotel restaurant is on the verge of becoming a destination restaurant. The lobby is large with plenty of room to meet, have a beverage, or just watch the sidewalk traffic.

My room on the 25th floor had two queen beds that were very comfortable. Two large chairs by a table provided comfortable seating although the view of the TV was limited. It appeared that the TV was mounted on a gimbal to allow movement, but I could not get it to move. The best viewing was from the bed. The room also had a small, but useful refrigerator. The bathroom was nice and large and the towels were thicker than many hotels. A really nice room.

So what was the problem? Housekeeping. Housekeeping did not refresh the coffee stand or bottled water even after calls to the frontdesk. One response from the frontdesk was "Look down the hall and see if you spot a cart"! Not good response. On another day, I just gave up and found a cart and worker (who did not understand English) but provided the missing coffee, missing cups, and missing water. That was the same day I discovered that although the bed had been made and new towels supplied, the sheets had not been changed. I had cut myself and there was still a bloodstain on the sheet in the nicely made up bed. Shame.

Having said all that, this is still a great hotel. I just think the staff were overwhelmed.

Room Tip: If you like to snack at night, the hotel prices are very high. No stores close by. Bring your own ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenLakerGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Being busy is never an excuse for less than desirable service. Our guests deserve a guestroom in pristine condition and daily refresh services. We apologize that this was not your housekeeping experience while with us…your feedback has provided us with a great teaching tool for our teams and for this we thank you!

Thank you for all the rest of your other lovely comments, especially about our restaurant.

We hope we will have another opportunity to “wow” you in the way that only the Sheraton Phoenix can! Your business means a lot to us.

Warm Regards,


Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this Sheraton before and never had any problems. This stay started typical as the others without any major incidents. Gym is nice. Rooms are small. BUT... Last nite there a coworker saw a bedbug in room. It was reported to the staff and the tried to accommodate. The next day the hotel staff denied it was a bed bug. Didn't really seems like good customer service. I am SPG Gold and find this poor customer service on their part.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank EddieMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hello Cruel-Sebastian,
Thank you for providing us with feedback during your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our fitness facility, but we wanted to address your concern with our customer service. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and it seems as though we did not uphold our top notch service during your stay. Please know that we take your concern seriously and we are looking into this immediately.

We value each and every one of our guests and we also value your feedback so we can continually improve. Thank you for your business. We hope you will give us another chance by visiting us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The place was sold out. There were multiple conventions. The building is very tall and has two banks of elevators. Of the four elevators for the upper floors only one was working during a significant portion of my visit. This was just awful. Also the place thinks it's so fancy but every little piece and part was on the edge of being battered and was in sad shape. The Sheraton thinks it's such a classy brand, but not really. I was stuck there because of the convention I was attending and would never go back if you paid me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_odomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations for a satisfactory stay. On behalf of the hotel, we extend our sincere apologies that you experienced frustration instead of satisfaction while here. We may have been busy, but that is never an acceptable excuse.

We value our guests, we never take your business for granted and we thank you for extending the gift of feedback to us, so that we may continue to improve, especially the elevator situation.

Thank you again for letting us know about your experience.

Warm regards,


Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights for a business trip and found this hotel up to the Sheraton standards. it was conveniently located to the con center, had fast Wi-fi, clean rooms. I really enjoyed the view from my northern-facing(?)room in the 1420's block. During a packed con I saw long lines at the elevator banks for the higher floors 18+, but never for my floor, so that was a huge plus.

The gift shop was charming and the staff was very helpful with my tacky tourist questions and even helped me pick out the least dorky hat for my times out in the sun. The best part of the hotel was the District restaurant which had a fantastic lounge space and a delicious late-night menu of sliders and bacon wrapped dates. Cocktails were a little weak but at least they were an attempt at something nicer than EVERYTHING that the bar options at the nearby Hyatt (sad sports bar was sad) and Renaissance had to offer. The breakfast was delicious too! Green chile cornbread eggs Benedict were so great, I didn't feel guilty ordering them two days in a row.

The only real complaint I had was that the towels and sheets were truly scratchy and awful and cheap. I felt like the towels left a film of fuzz all over me and it was gross. But in the scheme of things, since I wasn't paying, it was okay overall and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scifigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found District restaurant to be such a great value.

We have a great culinary team and the menu offerings are brand new, so how nice to hear how much you enjoyed how everything tasted. The team will be happy to know…

Thank you again for your business and your recommendation.

Warm regards,


Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Had a horrible time at this hotel. This is normally the hotel we stay at for comicon, but after all the issues and the way we were treated never again. From slipping in the shower, to finding a bra in our room. Nothing was comfortable and the beds felt like plastic. Also i understand hotels do authorizations, but my card got authorized six different times. Will choose another hotel to stay at for comicon next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TylerLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

We apologize for your less than desirable stay during what should have been an enjoyable annual event. We loved hosting the Comicon event.

If there is anything we can do to change your mind about staying with us again next year, we would love another opportunity to provide you with the kind of service that we know the Sheraton Phoenix is capable of providing.

Again, we are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and in falling short in providing exceptional care to you while here, we do genuinely apologize.

Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback.

Warm regards,


Rooms Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#24 of 174 in Phoenix
2,080 reviews
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#7 of 174 in Phoenix
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#15 of 174 in Phoenix
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Phoenix

Address: 340 N 3rd St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2128 (Formerly Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#18 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#19 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $97 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Phoenix is conveniently located in the center of the city, adjacent to the Phoenix Convention Center and just five miles from the Sky Harbor International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Grand Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing