We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I just returned from a four night stay at the Sheraton Downtown for a business conference. What a great experience! The rooms were comfortable, the food was amazing and the facility overall was clean. The hotel has a great location and is within walking distance to so many restaurants, shops, theaters, etc.
Really enjoyed my stay, and impressed by all the attention to detail.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Customer care is among our highest priorities and it is gratifying to know that the amount of attention we pay to details to achieve that high level of care for our guests is noticed and appreciated. We genuinely appreciate your business and your feedback.

We hope to once again be your hotel of choice when you return to Phoenix and we stand ready to welcome you back for another great experience.

Warm Regards,
Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,602)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Grand Phoenix
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in 7 hotels in our trip across the southwest, this one was mandated by work and was ok when it was just me. But once you added the kids this became a very painful place to stay. First it was by far the smallest hotel room on my trip. THe location is nice, the rooms were both clean and well appointed, but four people in a room this size was painful, and room service, forget about it. Speaking of room service, the most expensive as well, and probably the worst on our trip as well. We stayed here half for business and half for family and this hotel could not possibly have been worse for family. But if my company hadn't dictated I stay here, I wouldn't have. The room rate here was the highest of our trip and our room once again was the smallest of our trip,and we were on the preferred level. The internet was horribly spotty, thankfully comp'd due to our business level, but still, spotty, slow and didn't work across the whole hotel. Also breakfast, seriously, just seriously, very very meh, and very very expensive. $25 per person is just too much for a buffet. The valet and bellman services were very accommodating and timely. The pool was a saltwater pool that was very nice, but of course made my kids eyes burn like crazy. The exercise room was very modern. Wouldn't have stayed here if not for business, food very marginal and pricy, bar restaurant also very pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turbo_Todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

We were sorry to hear that your family visit was not as comfortable for the four of you and to hear that your trip did not meet your level of expectation.

We take feedback from our guests very seriously and use it to improve a service or a product, and for that, we do appreciate that you took the time to provide us with information that will only help us to get better.

We would love another chance to have you stay with us in the future.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The city of Phoenix is great for its weather, and colleges. My stay here was great and exceeded my expectations in most ways. The view from the higher floors is amazing. The rooms are spacious and very clean. What I didn't like was the price per night during spring break. Especially when there aren't any clubs or pubs that stay open late and when the entire city left for spring break.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

It sounds like the students were on spring break and maybe that bit of timing made it seem like the city was less busy, but I assure you there is more to the downtown area than the university campus. Anytime you are looking for activities or events, I would suggest speaking with our Concierge desk, as I am confident they could point you in the right direction.

However, that said, it does sound like your stay was lovely and we are happy to hear that your expectations were exceeded. That is the kind of feedback that we really enjoy hearing!

We look forward to the chance to welcome you back for another visit.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here two nights during a recent conference taking place at the hotel, so the location was great. The hotel is conveniently located in the center of town and the rooms are quite comfortable, especially the beds and pillows. Water pressure and temperature in the shower were great.

There are numerous restaurants in the vicinity, especially directly across the street in an entertainment area. The breakfast buffet, while not cheap, is very nice.

In-room internet was complimentary during our stay, but would otherwise be $15. Very fast speed makes it easy to use.

What got me was the disparity between the class of hotel and the level of service offered. Three examples:

1) At breakfast on our first morning, we were told there were three levels of buffet available from only breads to the cold side to the whole thing. The server that morning was smiling, friendly and attentive. On the second morning the server explained that the first server was clearly wrong and must be a new employee ("I've been here over three years" she boasted), that there were only two levels available, namely "only toast" and the whole thing. She was also definitely unfriendly compared to the first one, not even returning during the meal to see how things were going, and leaving dirty dishes on the table until the very end, when she presented the bill.

2) Due to the timing of the conference, I had the do-not-disturb sign on until about 2pm. When I left the room, the cleaning staff were just outside, and I asked whether they would be cleaning the room. Yes, was the answer. To my surprise, the room was entirely untouched when I returned later that evening. The hairs in the bathtub, which were not mine, also left me wondering how thoroughly the place gets cleaned between guests.

3) When we left, we told the bell staff outside we needed a cab to the airport. They called us a limo. When we stated we simply wanted a taxi they seemed insulted and made a great fuss. Perhaps they get paid off by the limo drivers?

Overall a nice place to stay, but with a property at this level, the services provided should be up to par across the board. Unfortunately, they were not.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okazon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Our sincere apologies in falling short several times during your stay in providing the level of service that you rightly expect of a Sheraton. We are really very grateful for the gift of feedback that you took the time to give us. Hearing this and sharing your comments with our staff members will only help us to improve. For this, we do owe you a big thank-you.

We certainly hope that you might return in the future so that we can provide the kind of experience that I know we can!

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel captures so much of the character and flavor of Arizona and the Valley of the Sun! The staff, in particular, are exceptionally attentive and every staff member I interacted with had a genuine 'can do' attitude to provide guests with a warm and welcoming feeling. The Assistant Manager of the hotel's District Restaurant is a perfect example and a wonderful representative of Sheraton: cordial, welcoming and always with a ready smile and genuine interest in helping--a rare and welcome change from many of the hotels I stay in. The rooms are well appointed with wonderfully comfortable beds, thick duvets, piles of pillows, plush towels and plenty of quiet! Very impressed with the the hotel and the staff! Can't wait for the opportunity to return! All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Nothing makes us happier than hearing that our staff not only exceeded your expectations during your stay, but left you with such warm memories of your interactions that you can’t wait to return. That is just very gratifying to hear.

Of course we feel the team here is genuinely concerned about the care and comfort of our guests, but it certainly means a lot to us to hear one of our valued guests confirm it!

Thank you so much, we promise to provide the same level of exceptional service upon your return.

Until then,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I do not stay at Sheraton properties much, but this hotel is worth a repeat visit if doing business at convention center.

Had high room (24th floor) and it was very quite and well suited for doing work. Plus - Starbucks in room with coffee maker! Had utilize laundry services, not cheap, but in a pinch needed and they did a good job as well.

Wireless and wired connections worked well throughout property. The have a "Link" lounge which was great for work too. Business center (also a FedEx Center) in hotel had scanner with pdf creator that came in handy for printing and signing documents that I needed to send via secure email.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank PH4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We are delighted that you were able to seamlessly complete any of your work items and projects during your recent stay with us and found all of our systems working in tandem to keep you connected! We know how important that is in this day and age….from the quiet of your guestroom to our Link @ Sheraton experienced by Microsoft, to our Fed Ex business center, we are happy to hear that you felt so productive while here.

We certainly hope you will choose us again if your work brings you back to our city. We are aware that you have many choices when you travel and so we do appreciate your business!

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here and had a lovelyyyy stay! The beautiful aroma when you walk in the doors. The friendliness of the staff. Sexy bar. Gorgeous rooms with STARBUCKS coffee and a gorgeous Phoenix view!
I also met Alberta Milton....she made me feel very welcome while my friends and I enjoyed the pools area! Keep it up!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvAirplanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

We are so pleased that you felt nurtured during your stay; by the beauty of our city in its glorious spring, to our welcoming team of associates and our lovely Sheraton scent that greeted you when you came through the doors, this is just wonderful feedback to receive and we thank you for taking the time to let us know.

We will also be sure to let Alberta know how she added to your warm memories of your stay with us.

We look forward to your return and we thank you and genuinely appreciate your business.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#7 of 174 in Phoenix
833 reviews
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#26 of 174 in Phoenix
2,007 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Phoenix

Address: 340 N 3rd St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2128 (Formerly Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#18 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#19 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#31 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $124 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Phoenix is conveniently located in the center of the city, adjacent to the Phoenix Convention Center and just five miles from the Sky Harbor International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Grand Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing