We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The service was amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The service was amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

My husband and I had our wedding at the AZ grand resort November 2010 and it was absolutely wonderful. Our guests could not get over how beautiful the view was and our wedding planner Melanie really kept things together making our wedding a night to remember! Our guests are still talking about it. The rooms were a bit pricey and they did charge us for more guests than we had which was a complete misunderstanding, but the overall atmosphere was so fun. Thank you AZ grand for making our wedding the best!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you so much for the great review – we’re thrilled to hear your special day was the best! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    763
    416
    208
    98
See reviews for
1,361
282
45
607
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

My family and I spend 1-2 weekends at this resort each year - because we enjoy the Oasis waterpark. While I have noticed a slip in service levels over the last year, this most recent experience was noticeably worse and worthy of not returning. The staff appear to be very junior and not properly trained. The resort was busy and the staff did not seem equipped to handle the large # of guests. When we arrived in our car and pulled up to the front lobby, no one greeted us -- there were employees walking past us with no recognition. I finally stopped someone and told them we were checking in and asked if we could leave our car. He said "ya, just give me your keys" The lady that checked us in barely cracked a smile. I tried to make pleasant conversation with her to no avail and she eventually told me she had already been "beat up quite a bit that day." We told her we were travelling with another family who had already checked in and requested a room close to or connecting to them. She told us that the room our friends checked into did not offer a connecting room (of which we confirmed later that was false), she then offered to place us in a room in the same building and confirmed that it would have a ground floor patio that opened to the waterpark (we agreed to take this room rather than have our friends check-out and wait for two connecting rooms to become available because we decided this patio option would be nice for all of us to enjoy). When we arrived to our room, we found that our "patio" opened to the parking lot and had no more than standing room. At the waterpark, we found the pricing of food & drinks to be downright ridiculous-- Example: $7 for chicken fingers, we had to pay extra for a side of BBQ sauce + another $4 for fries, all of which show up in a plastic basket.. My friend and I went to the spa for pedicures ($70) and I will tell you the service and atmosphere did not warrant more than $20. The pedicure area was stuck in the back of the salon, the "massage" chairs barely rumbled. The actual pedicure was very, very basic. We spent most of the time listening to the two nail technicians discuss their personal lives. When my pedicure was completed, my technician stood up, left and never even acknowledged that the pedicure was completed. My friend and I were told by someone else that we'd have to move because the chairs were needed "like right now" - we proceeded to walk barefoot across the salon to an empty chair. My technician returned to the salon room with supplies for the next service and noticed I was still there and said "oh sorry, I was busy, I'll be right there to help you with your shoes." Very disappointing! At the breakfast buffet, there were no labels on food items, the oatmeal was ice cold, and all staff seemed too busy to stop and offer assistance or even smile. Finally, we requested on two separate occasions to receive transportation to Rustler's Rooste. We stood outside both times for 10+ minutes and no one arrived. At one time I eventually walked to the front lobby. A bellman was standing outside with a ear piece on. As I stood directly in front of him, he did not acknowledge me but continued to speak into this earpiece. The man that finally drove me up to Rustler's Rooste also spoke on his ear piece non-stop to his other bellman buddies, cracking jokes. It was downright rude. I could go on with several additional examples. But, my final comment is that of warning. When booking a rate at this resort, ALWAYS take into consideration the additional $30 resort services fee. I saw several guests very upset about this at check in. Also, we booked a rate that included a $50 resort credit. Read the fine print on this as well. There are limitations as to where this can be spent. This resort is tricky in how it markets its rates and it does not clearly identify this rate during the reservation process. I am very sad, as this has been my favorite Stay-cation resort for a number of years… but it might be time to find a new home-away-from-home. I am one that will spend money for a good vacation experience and enjoys splurging on spa expereinces., but, the Oasis Waterpark is no longer enough to overlook the poor service and lack of value you receive. Unless I hear of a dramatic service upgrade, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXAZSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

Ryan and all the staff at the Arizona Grand really went out of their way to make our stay the best it could be! The villa we stayed in was absolutely gorgeous, the pools were quiet and relaxing, the food and beverages were fantastic! The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jxmeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you for your review – we’re thrilled to hear you had a great time! We hope to see you at the resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

We traveled for a girls weekend and were upgraded to the villas which were fabulous. We had multiple spa treatments, lounged by the pool and loved spending time together at such a relaxing resort. Thank you Arizona Grand for making our stay so nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you for your review! We’re glad to hear you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Where do I begin? The staff and front office Manager Ryan, the pools, the Villa, the spa, the service, Room Service Food, the Cocktails served at the pool, the vibe, the firepits, the surroundings, the whole resort is amazing! Look into the Villas. They are BEAUTIFUL!!! I loved it so much, I am already going back! I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Arizona. The way we were taken care of truly AMAZING!!! Ryan made our stay unforgettable with his guest service. We were so happy!!! The Villas are large,have a kitchen, spotless clean, bathrooms have it all, and the beds.....YOU WILL SLEEP LIKE A BABY. I truly can't say enough. I have been back to Colorado for 2 days and I can't stop smiling and thinking about it. See you next year Arizona Grand!!!! Same time, Same place, same AMAZING experience I am sure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaduckgirlstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
We’re so glad to hear that you had such a good time on your trip– thank you so much for your great review! We look forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Annual girls trip to the Arizona Grand Resort and each year it keeps getting better and better. We all had a great time and was very well taken care of by Ryan. He went out of his way to make our stay perfect and we will keep coming back year after year because of it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
We are so happy to hear you had a good time. Thank you so much for your patronage to the resort! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

The grounds of the Arizona Grande are breathtaking and made me feel as if I was on a tropical vacation. I love all of the fountains, palm trees, flowers, fire pits, and well-manicured trees and shrubs. Our room in the Villas was to die for and with the water fall right outside our window, I thought I may never leave. The spa was such a relaxing, wonderful experience, and I love all of the different pools. Each staff member that we met was friendly and helpful, especially Ryan at the front desk. He was amazingly accomodating! I can't wait to go back next year for the fourth year in a row!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie_munroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you so much for the great review! We’re glad to hear that you had such a great time. Please do come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#34 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing