We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accomodations complete with a beautiful water park and friendly service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We only stayed here one night as we were wrapping up a trip in Arizona. The main attraction for us was the Oasis water park, as we have three small children. The resort far exceeded our expectations. It was great to be able to print our boarding passes right in the lobby as we checked in. Since we had a late afternoon flight, we were able to extend our checkout until 3pm (for only an additionaly $25) so we could stay and enjoy the park. My children loved the wave pool, river, kiddy area, and water slides. We could have stayed far longer in the Oasis than the 3 hours we allowed. Our suite seemed huge - separate living room and bedroom areas, each with its own television. We ordered pizza for dinner from room service. It was great not having to drag our kids out. Their were always lots of staff members available to help with anything we needed. If we have the opportunity to visit Phoenix again, we will definately return here!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin-sandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,861)
There are newer reviews for Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,587 - 2,593 of 2,861 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2010

Ew! What a terrible place! The best comparison to this place would be a random roadside Motel. Old rooms, tube tv's, tiny bathroom, postage stamp sized towels - the whole place just looked and felt dated and dirty. The food offerings were barely a step above fast foods. The crowd this place attracted looked more like a methamphetamine convention group - tatoos, grossly obese etc. - I could not wait to leave and get a clean shower. The room furniture was old and the place looked like they ran out of money for maintenance/updating. I would not put my toe in any pool/water park water - this place just gave me the chills and grossed me out in all respects.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottandLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Overall stay was pleasant through a busy weekend. Food is average, rooms are clean & waterpark nice. We left our valuables in the room safe the day of checkout with the intent of checking out of room via room TV prior to the 12:00PM checkout time. left 'do not disturb' sign on door. Arrived at room at 11:45 to find sign taken away. used my key to enter room to find maid finishing up. The maid gestured for me to leave; I tried to explain that i was checking out & getting my valuables, however, she did not understand english. She apparently left to get security & returned with 3 of them demanding my identification. I explained what I was trying to do, however, they still demanding ID. After showing the ID he stated they have a lot of security problems & he was protecting my valuables. Interestingly he had no paperwork to determine or verify my name, nor did he apologize after I suggested one was in order...just stating that they have a lot of security problems. I sought out the general manager who was not on site, but, did speak to the acting manager who apologized. not sure what their big security problems are, but, unfortunately its not a very nice way to treat a paying guest with his family. i've stayed in hotels around the world & have not been treated as though I was a criminal. The acting manager didn't offer any free meals or drinks considering the situation. The staff needs to speak the language of their guests.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank rhhjch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2010

I had the opportunity to speak directly with this reviewer and apologized for the negative impression and expressed my appreciation for taking the time to share their experience with us. It is a top priority for us to provide a safe environment for all of our guests

Paul Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We checked into the Arizona Grand looking forward to 3 days of rest and relaxation to recharge after our trip to Sedona and the Grand Canyon. After waiting 30 minutes to check in we proceeded to our room in the Camelback suites, which would probably normally be a great location. You could hear the yelling before we even entered the courtyard and found about 40 girls in the pool yelling Marco Polo and having chicken fights. When we got to our room we called the desk to change our room to a more quiet location and were told that the resort was full and there were 700+ girls basketball players dispersed throughout the resort and there was nothing they could do for us, but they would look into it and call us back. We waited about 1/2 hour and didn't hear back so we called the Hilton close by and checked out, it took about 1/2 hour at the desk before we could check out and at that time the manager said he could give us a good rate on a casita. Since we were already told the teams were throughout the resort we decided to check out anyway. This was not at all what we were expecting for a resort, the short time I was there I felt like I was in a college dorm.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank soccrmom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The one thing that struck me about our stay, was how friendly and helpful all of the employees were. They always asked did you enjoy this or that etc.
The resort is very clean, food was good and plentiful.
I loved the stay, and would highly recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNTAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We love this resort. We stayed 3 nights in V425 in the Villas and our room was just great. The bed was absolutely wonderful, large bathroom, flat screen tv, in room coffee, great view of the water park, very quiet, and very, very clean. We did'nt use the water park but we walked through it. What a great place for kids and families we just did'nt have time. The entire resort is just beautiful and immaculate. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. It's a large resort so they have golf carts to take you to your room or anywhere you want to go at the resort. There is a shuttle that will take you to the Arizona Mills Outlet Mall just a few minutes away and they were always on time taking and picking up. We ate at the lobby bar and it was good the Pina Coladas where great! One evening we ate at the Rustler's Rooste and it was just OK. Don't get the ribs. Someone told us the ribs weren't very good but my daughter got them anyway and she didn't care for them at all. Prime Rib and Pork Chops were good. We went to Kona Grill in Chandler they have great food and a wonderful atmosphere. Love the Arizona Grand Resort!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetraveling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Arizona Grand did a whole new renovation to its property...its in phoenix but NO CACTUSES! This resort is self containing and no need to leave property. Variety of restaurants on site, all the fun the kids could even want, the resort has a water park that is hands down the best at any hotel/resort. Need to improve guest rooms tho with a ceiling fan in the bedroom, over the bed...and flat screen tv's in all rooms would put the final touch on a great destination resort! will stay again and recommend to all my friends and family..Great rates for corporate clients also....New villas are there as well and for sale with great options for reimbursement on your unit if the hotel needs your villa when you are not using it! New ideas, New rooms, New hot spot in the desert...AZ Grand Resort

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#33 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $151 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing