We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We didn't want to leave"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We arrived and were immediately greeted by a bevy of smiling, genuinely happy employees. The room was clean, neat and the mattresses were superb!! My Grandson didn't ever want to leave the water park (neither did I) We will return!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moochie1Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,768 - 2,774 of 2,902 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed at the villas overlooking the golf course. The golf course was beautiful and challenging. The lobby grill was excellent. Everyone who took care of us was wonderful. Tip: Unless you are totally enamored with children, enjoy the beautiful water park during the week!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJDJBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

This was our 2nd visit here. We absolutely loved it. The newly refurbished rooms were well done and ideal for a family. The kids took over the living room area while me and hubby had the bedroom. The water park was absolutely the best!!! I am an overprotective mom but had no problems giving our two 8 year old boys a little freedom inside the water park. The grounds were very clean and the water park area was immaculate. Although I recall the water being a bit warmer last year, it was nonetheless a blast to play in.

This is our number one favorite family getaway. It is worth the 5 hour drive for a fun getaway that can be quite affordable if you plan accordingly. We will definitely be back again before the summer is over!!!:)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggourrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Stayed in a Villa overlooking the water park. on an unusually mild weather June weekend. The villa was beautiful, spacious and comfortable with a great balcony. The Oasis water park was the BEST...while the kids had an active time, we parents relaxed in the lazy river.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this resort for 3 nights last week and had a great time. We arrived early (before 11 am) and was able to check in right away. They also upgraded us to a 5th floor water park view at no extra charge. We also got a late check out on our last day here.

The water park wasn't crowded so we were able to have fun in the lazy river and just hang out. We also went to the adults only pool a few times and it was very quiet and relaxing. Our first morning there, we thought we would go hiking and started up the trail. Within 2 seconds, we saw a snake on the path so that was the end of our hiking. We used the fitness facility every morning after that and it was excellent.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurants "Rustler's Roost" and "Aunt Chiladas" and enjoyed both. We were able to get a ride up to "Rustler's Roost" because it's quite a walk uphill. Our room was clean, comfortable, and updated. The only negative side was that it didn't have a small fridge for keeping drinks in your room. We bought a small cooler at the local store and used that. It did have a mini bar, but we didn't want to open it due to the cost involved.

All in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable trip. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This resort needs to decide on an identity. The place is showing its age. The first room we were put in was like a cave -- no view out either window and very dark. We were moved to a nicer room with an open view, but that took two hours. By the time this was settled it was 5 pm. We had to pay an automatic extra facility fee that allowed us use of the facilities. We went to the water park and learned it was closing at 5. Same thing next day. However, we lost one evening of usage of the pool and lazy river, but still was stiffed for the $20.00. This hotel is geared to conventions and convention attendees, not families. They seem to expect guests that do not use the facilities. Your money is better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenwood305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I was at the resort for a conference and stayed an extra day, inviting family members and friends to join me for dinners or the water park when I had free time. I worked out early every morning at the Fitness Center (they have good classes available -- although not convenient times for conference goers) and swam in the lap pool (or in the "private" pool closer to my suite) every evening. I had a lovely suite with a balcony overlooking the golf course in the Mountain view side of the complex. Had dinner twice in the Lobby Grill -- both times excellent food (my mother raved about her fish dish).

Only negatives are the daily "add on" prices for the "resort" useage -- that can really add up! Be sure you know what you are paying for so you that you aren't surprised (including annoying little automatic gratuities).

I definitely appreciated that they didn't add on a wireless charge for my computer use in the room!

The resort is very well laid out -- but depending on your room, there may be a lot of stairs and walking involved, especially if you are going from your room to the conference center area. Make sure you make advance arrangements if you don't like stairs (and you generally cannot park near your suite). The staff will take you around in a golf cart -- but that takes time to arrange and the bell staff may be busy.

Some have commented negatively about the location in South Phoenix. Phoenix is a major metropolitan city with all the problems of one -- and the location of this resort is NOT Scottsdale. However, I still think this is one of the nicest resorts I've every stayed at, while still being convenient to the airport and downtown Phoenix, and a good jumping off point if you want to spend a day in Tucson or Tombstone. Do take advantage of the desert hiking and bike riding in the area -- unique attributes to the southwest! Kids will love the waterpark -- in fact my sister and I did too even though we are "mature" adults!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#25 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $190 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing