We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not that grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This resort needs to decide on an identity. The place is showing its age. The first room we were put in was like a cave -- no view out either window and very dark. We were moved to a nicer room with an open view, but that took two hours. By the time this was settled it was 5 pm. We had to pay an automatic extra facility fee that allowed us use of the facilities. We went to the water park and learned it was closing at 5. Same thing next day. However, we lost one evening of usage of the pool and lazy river, but still was stiffed for the $20.00. This hotel is geared to conventions and convention attendees, not families. They seem to expect guests that do not use the facilities. Your money is better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenwood305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,748 - 2,754 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2009

I was at the resort for a conference and stayed an extra day, inviting family members and friends to join me for dinners or the water park when I had free time. I worked out early every morning at the Fitness Center (they have good classes available -- although not convenient times for conference goers) and swam in the lap pool (or in the "private" pool closer to my suite) every evening. I had a lovely suite with a balcony overlooking the golf course in the Mountain view side of the complex. Had dinner twice in the Lobby Grill -- both times excellent food (my mother raved about her fish dish).

Only negatives are the daily "add on" prices for the "resort" useage -- that can really add up! Be sure you know what you are paying for so you that you aren't surprised (including annoying little automatic gratuities).

I definitely appreciated that they didn't add on a wireless charge for my computer use in the room!

The resort is very well laid out -- but depending on your room, there may be a lot of stairs and walking involved, especially if you are going from your room to the conference center area. Make sure you make advance arrangements if you don't like stairs (and you generally cannot park near your suite). The staff will take you around in a golf cart -- but that takes time to arrange and the bell staff may be busy.

Some have commented negatively about the location in South Phoenix. Phoenix is a major metropolitan city with all the problems of one -- and the location of this resort is NOT Scottsdale. However, I still think this is one of the nicest resorts I've every stayed at, while still being convenient to the airport and downtown Phoenix, and a good jumping off point if you want to spend a day in Tucson or Tombstone. Do take advantage of the desert hiking and bike riding in the area -- unique attributes to the southwest! Kids will love the waterpark -- in fact my sister and I did too even though we are "mature" adults!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We had a great family vacation in Phoenix and loved the Arizona Grand Resort. The rooms are beautiful and all the staff are so friendly. The pools were great and the waterpark was so fun. We loved it! The staff members are very helpful and really go out of their way to make people comfortable. The proximity to places to go in the Phoenix area was great too. There is a big mall just minutes away and many places nearby. The kids loved it and my daughter said "I feel like we are rich" because we were so pampered and the resort is so beautiful. We will definitely go back and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

loved it! totally renovated guest rooms... brand new lobby with restaurant, bar & great gift/pro-shop/cafe... STUNNING Villas I got to stay in...beautifully furnished... water park ONLY open to guests, so very managable and NOT crowded (granted it was mid week) large fitness facilities, golf on site; outlet shopping around the corner... and best of all....$15 taxi fare to airport....beat that with any Scottsdale hotel...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YPSChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

The room remodel was fine, but they forgot to update the TVs. And they were charging around $200 per night in a room going for next to nothing in Vegas. AZ Grand is in a crappy area in South Phoenix right next to a freeway. Then they ask for more money when you want to use their water park. And don't bring anything but water into the Oasis. Heaven forbid you would want to save a bit after overpaying for the room and any food you purchase. We paid that $200 ish and had no microwave, no fridge, no DVD player or radio. Oh, and feed the kids at the breakfast buffet ($5.95 ea.) but don't touch it. For $12.95 they give you choices- eggs, fruit , waffles, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, juice and coffee. Sounds fine, but it was awful. Powdered, cold eggs, dry, cakey waffles and after that, the fruit & bacon aren't worth the $13.
What bothers me is that they were sold out. I like to think that there are enough people doing as well as to pay for everything separately, but I'd like to think that our current economy calls for a consciousness these people at AZ Grand simply don't have.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tempemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Family with two kids ages 8 and 9. This is the place we chose to hang our hat for the weekend, not only to see Brian Regan at Dodge Theater, but to also celebrate our children's school year efforts a week early. We were able to get a fantastic rate which included many perks for food, golf, spa, and the water park. The room was very nice and very comfortable, with a full kitchen, eating area, sleeper sofa, two flat screen tv's (not that we watched very much). The water park was the best for all of us - we all got a chance to hang out and enjoy one other at each water park activity and share in the excitement of it all. The staff at the hotel was top notch at every location we visited on the property, I really appreciated the gentleman who, after check-in, drove/led us to find a parking spot and then to our room location. The ambiance was fabulous. Although we live in Tucson, this will definitely be our Phoenix hotel from here on out.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacieV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We were completely surprised on how classy this resort is. It was fun, clean and easy to get around. Everyone who worked there, whether the front desk, housecleaning, the water park, restaurants, concierge, or even the guy who provided us with transportation was pleasant and entertaining. We will definitely consider the Arizona Grand Resort for our next vacation. It is a great place for a family to go. We loved the hiking. It was a great family workout.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank careening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#33 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $194 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing