We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staycation weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Staycation weekend”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We just returned home from a weekend at the resort. My husband won a 2 night stay at a golf outing so this was a "free" weekend for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our staycation weekend. We stayed in mountainside suites room 131 and I must say the room was impeccably clean. Everything in it was just immaculate. The only thing I was different was that the bathroom was a little bit bigger. Other that that, the room was great. We had a little bit of a walk to get to the water park but the staff offered shuttle service if we wanted it. Food in the resort was very good but aa with most resorts...a bit pricey. For example, we ate a late lunch on Saturday ....had 3 burgers/fries, chicken sandwich/fries and 4 soft drinks and our bill, with tip, was $85. The food Waa very good but expensive.
Best part by far...the water park. Wave pool, play pool, lazy river and 3 slides. Water was a perfect temperature for a hot summer day. Spent many hours relaxing in the river. Saturday night was spent in the water park late watching a movie on the big screen in the wave pool. It was a great weekend and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    790
    427
    213
    99
See reviews for
1,406
295
45
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great family resort. We selected this resort because it had a water park and golf course, and good reviews. We brought our 2 teenagers (17 & 19), who also had a great time. I was greeted by Brandon when I checked in, who was very polite and efficient. He asked if we wanted to be closer to the water park, and I said no, we preferred to walk and have a quieter room. He set us up with one of the Mountainside units and it was perfect. 1st fairway off the balcony, and 2nd fairway out the front and nice an quiet, just like I asked. Room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. All the staff from the golf shop to the water park were kind and courteous. Great location only a few minutes from the airport. Will be coming here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoFunCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here Monday thru Friday. The grounds were well kept and clean. We stayed in the Sedona area. We had the one king room and the kids slept on the pull out sofa. The kids would have preferred a bed but they didn't complain about their back hurting. I would check into getting 2 queens next time. The room was a little out dated but it was clean.
The staff was great, everyone was very helpful. When you check in they will help you to find your room.
The water park was fun. The food at the pool was expensive. We got the kids shakes they were $6.50 each but you at a resort so you pay the price or load up in the car to go get ice cream somewhere else. They also have pools spread out thru the resort. At the water park and at the pools they have towels for you to use. At the water park they will give you ice water for free.
We had breakfast at their market in the lobby. The muffins are $3.50 and they had a variety to choose from. They also had cereal and milk.
This felt like a family resort not like a super high class resort. We would happily stay here again. One thing that sucks is $40 resort fee, then they tax you $5 for the resort fee so it's really $44.95 resort fee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort! Stayed in room 203 in the Sedona Suites perfect view of the giant fountain. Very clean rooms, comfortable
beds. Expensive but definitely worth the stay. The waterpark was great, especially the two main water slides.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robnm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent experience. I would do it over and over again!!! The water park is very clean and the pool attendants are very accommodating. Rooms are spacious and clean. Can't wait to go back. The golf course it very affordable and beautiful. The on location restaurant is slightly expensive but why not enjoy the resort and splurge. Location is easy to get in and out and very close to malls, food and stores.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortonfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Overall, very beautiful grounds. We had a room in mountainside that had a separate living room to bedroom. Our room offered two queen sized beds. Beds were very comfortable, pillows were small but doable. Offers coffee in room and a wet bar. We had a balcony overlooking the first tee. Food was ok, but too expensive. We were not allowed to bring our own food into water park. They even checked our bags!
The weekend was very busy and overcrowded. They seem to cater to the weekend crowds because they had lots to offer like movies and BBQ by the pool. During the week, nothing going on. Easier to find a place to sit during the week.
Aunt Chilada's Mexican restaurant, just a short walk from hotel was a big disappointment. Very expensive for mexican food. We ate on the patio, once food was served the birds showed up - very annoying!
We never saw any bell staff. Concierge was helpful in suggesting places to see, things to do. We would go again, but rent a car so we could eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: if you want the waterpark, I suggest staying during the week when not too many people are there. Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EatonMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I took my mother here for Mother's day and a few days after. Our goal was to go somewhere warm to escape the frigid weather of Saskatchewan. We really just wanted to read in the sun and swim a little.

The hotel is only a few minutes from the airport and it was easy to grab a cab. Upon arrival, we checked in and were driven, by cart, to our room. While we appreciated the 15 second ride and then help with the bags, I felt pressured to tip even though help was not required. I didn't tip.

We stayed on the first floor of the Camelback in a suite. I admit the room was slightly dated and not that fancy, but was spacious and clean. I slept on the sofabed and mom in one of the queen beds in the separate bedroom. Bathroom was small, but fine. There is a fridge, but you need to empty the items already provided for resale.

The pool was literally 15 feet from our room and was surrounded by lounge chairs. We never had any problem finding a place to sit and it seemed as though we had the pool to ourselves all the time. I suppose this is because of the water park and all of the other pools in the resort. We went to the water park several times. We loved the lazy river and people watching. I also swam laps in the adult only pool, which seemed to be heated more than the others.

We took the free shuttle to the factory outlet mall a few times. Nice service provided by the resort.

If i could quibble, I want to mention that food in the water park and food items that you can order to your room or poolside are outrageously priced. So much so that it really turned me off and I didn't end up ordering all stay. On top of the prices, you must also pay a deliver fee, service charge of 23%, and finally a tip. Umm, no.

Guess what? If you walk two blocks down the street, you'll find a nice grocery story. We went there and loaded up on snacks, beer, and pop for poolside treats. Winning.

All in all, this is a great family resort and I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eriktheviking56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#33 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing