We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our second time at this resort. Beautiful scenery, well maintained property. We reserved an attached room for our teenaged boys and this made our vacation enjoyable for all of us. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The Oasis waterpark has something for all ages and we enjoyed it very much. The resort is within close proximity to all shopping and off-site restaurants.
The golf course was an excellent experience especially with the assistance of golf-pro Mike along for the day, Can't wait to make a third trip next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francare048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,972 - 1,978 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overall resort expansive, staff friendly and helpful. Room service prompt and meals still hot on arrival. Recommend room mountain view. We had room facing water park and music annoying starting at 9am each morning. Elevator was out for 3 days , a bit of a draw back since we were on the fourth floor and had elderly relatives visiting. Very frugal with toilet paper despite requests to leave just 1 roll .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I spent one night here for a conference.
Room was a nice, large suite with separate bedroom and small balcony.
Room was well equipped and the separate living area definitely would have been handy had I been working or had others staying with me.
Property was rather large and confusing to find one's way around.
Did not use the waterpark or pools.
Mexican restaurant was disappointing as far as authenticity.
Hotel lobby grill was good and met my needs, but quite expensive.
Despite the hotel fee that said it included "gratuities" I still felt obligated to tip the bell staff for everything and none of them declined.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level floor, away from the water park and any busy roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Second time at this resort. Went with family and loved the rooms and unbelievable insure water park. The fitness center and meeting facilities are amazing. Great staff and there are several onsite restaurants. Love this place.

Room Tip: Restaurants onsite are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevedenver033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Steve,

It was a pleasure to welcome your family back! I hope that you were pleased with the recent upgrade to 42” HD televisions. I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Paul Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I just returned home on Sunday and truly enjoyed a very nice getaway from the winter weather in Canada. I highly praise the service of the staff at the hotel. Everyone provided good service from phone reception, to housekeeping to front desk and gift shop, etc. After spending just 4 days at this resort, I was refreshed and would recommend this resort to others and I would consider staying again for my next visit to Phoenix.

The best part about this resort was friendly staff, decent array of resort amenities, and its close proximity to shopping! Extra stars goes to Mason, the front desk manager, Derek in security and Erica at guest services desk for excellent service to go the extra mile to help locate missing item and to provide peace of mind during the search!

Although the property is not ranked as a five star resort and may seem slightly dated, it does a good job to pull off the "grand" in its name with its large property size and the landscape designs. I enjoyed the fountains around the resort and how there's nice space for taking strolls and walks. The lighted trees at night adds the extra touch for walks around the resort.

I also appreciated that we can drive quickly to off-site restaurants and it takes just 2 minutes to visit Fry's across from the resort for quick shopping. The resort also provide a shuttle service to the outlet mall which is only 5-10 minutes drive away.

This resort boasts of many pools, a water park, nice golf course, good restaurants on site, easy access to hiking and shopping, business meeting space. If you are planning to look for conference space in Phoenix, this is a good place to consider. If you need a personal getaway to recover from winter blues, I would recommend this place if you can find a good flight deal to Phoenix since Phoenix doesn't boast of the same attractions as in Florida or California. I enjoyed Phoenix for the same warm weather but without the crowd factor as the popular tourist cities like Orlando or LA in the winter times.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the third floor to connect quickly to conference center in the resort by taking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Maria,

Wow, thank you for the Five Star rating! Thank you for your compliments I was proud to share your review with my staff, especially Mason, Erica and Derek. We know that an interaction with a member of the staff can make or break an experience and we strive to create lasting memories and relationships with our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort and the wonderful Arizona weather soon.

Best regards,

Paul Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Close to the airport this hotel has a very big property, very nice golf course, water park and large conference center. The resort is big enough to take a long morning or evening walk in very calm settings. Enjoyed the meal in the main restaurant next to the lobby. The veggie pizza was outstanding. The rooms are fairly decent and clean. the best part was the balcony opening to the golf course. Visited in January and was a very good brak from Canadian winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Rick,

Thank you for choosing Arizona Grand Resort & Spa for your warm winter getaway. It is great to see you had such an enjoyable experience. I hope you have the chance to visit us again.

Best regards,

Paul Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed on the resort for four days , they upgraded our room with no problem and put us in a room with a great golf course view. Room was clean and nice the towels were restocked daily , everyone that worked at the resort was extremely nice and helpful which started us off great all the way till we left. Only thing I wish was different was if the rooms had a washer and dryer in them but thats not a deal breaker. We'll be coming back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Anthony,

I am happy to hear that you had an outstanding stay and felt at ease during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Paul Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#33 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $194 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing