We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Customer Service”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were guests Jan. 1 thru Jan 4th, 2013. 2 mornings and 1 evening we did NOT have hot water. I called to report it on Jan.3rd. Was told the boiler had gone out but they were addressing it, relighting it, and should have water in 10 minutes. We knew that was inaccurate but anyway, proceeded with COLD showers around 9:30 am. Upon return, I took the time to answer a email describing my stay where I again reported the cold water issues as well as the fact that the minibar fridge didn't work as well. Regardless, I heard nothing. This am, Jan. 24th, I was told that there were no records that we EVER reported this. Are you kidding me? You just basically called me a liar. I was not asking for anything in return............just wanted to take the time to make sure they were addressing the problem for future guests. Unacceptable. Everyone talks about their unecessary resort fees............we were hit with a $40 daily fee. On a side note, the young man handling our room service was excellent as was housekeeping. There are so many other great places to stay in Phoenix.....I will enjoy them instead next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Paige F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Paige,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. We strive to not only have a beautiful and relaxing resort, but also one with impeccable service. I apologize for any inconsistencies and inconveniences you experienced during your visit. I appreciate your feedback and take your comments seriously as I lead our staff. Please reach out to me should you still have any questions or concerns. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    775
    422
    210
    98
See reviews for
1,381
291
45
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were here for a convention in downtown Phoenix, this staff couldn't be more awesome! Treated us like celebrities. Especially the Bell service, they made sure to take care of us anyway they could. They were the main reason our stay was exceptional. Could not say enough about them! 7stars!

Room Tip: I don't think room location makes a difference, excellent service makes up for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curleyblonde607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Curley Blonde,

WOW, 7 Stars! It is incredible to see that you had such an outstanding time and felt like celebrities. We all look forward to welcoming you back, and giving you more of the Arizona Grand royal treatment.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I traveled with a friend last week to phoenix, Az....coldest time in twenty years. But the arizonia grand resort made up for the weather. It was absolutely beautiful resort. The service was superb. Our room was lovely, especially the comfort of the bed. My only suggestion to improve the best of the best would be to offer robes in the room. Would most definately return, hopefully during warmer weather.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Ghennie,

I am glad to see you stuck out the cold snap with us, that week was definitely out of the norm for Phoenix! Thank you for the tip, I’m sure a robe would have helped with the cold. I look forward to welcoming you back to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First class resort with all the amenities you could ask for! Stayed in a beautiful one bedroom suite which was very roomy. We were lucky enough to have some 80 degree days in January, so the pool area was used and very clean and comfortable area to relax at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lahensinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Lahensinger,

It is great to see that you were able to experience some amazing Arizona pool weather even in January! Thank you for your compliments, we look forward to welcoming you back when your business travels bring you back to Phoenix.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLSBAD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Extra fees that are basically unused are not good. I can agree with the 2.00 per day for the housekeeper. But, 10 dollars a day per adult extra fee??? Basically we paid 30.00 for a guy to show us to our room.. We brought our own coffee maker, used our own wifi, didn't use any amenities. Rip off for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CARLYN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Tolebird,

I am sorry to hear that you felt you were overcharged. By the looks of your charges it appears you had visited us with a group, the housekeeping and bellman fees are only required when a large group reserves a number of guest rooms and adds these stipulations in a contract in order to secure a lower group room rate. We truly do appreciate your business and would like the opportunity to welcome your family back again in the future. Should your travels bring you back to Phoenix please contact our reservation specialists to choose the room and rate best suited for your needs.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Average sounds so damning, no? But I don't think this merits a "Very Good".

We flew in to Phoenix in June, on our way to the Grand Canyon. We were staying in PHX only one night and we chose this resort for the kids, because of its "water park".

Pros: We had a large 2br suite near the water park. Pleasant, roomy, newish and well appointed.
Service was friendly and helpful. The water park is 2 minutes away.

Cons: The waterpark was a little disappointing. I suppose it is something that is hard to keep in good repair, but when you swim in something you kind of want ti to be pristine. Also, it was kind of lame IMHO ... although the only other hotel with a waterpark that I can compare this to is Atlantis in the Bahamas, so that may be unfair. It didn't help that in June the vegetation is a little sad in PHX.

NOTE: Based on reviews on this site, I was worried about being able to get chairs or a cabana. FWIW, midweek in June, the place was empty. I think there was a conference, and they were not really waterpark-types.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6ContinentsNCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear 6ContinentsNCounting,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay last summer. It is great to see that your family enjoyed your spacious two bedroom villa and close proximity to Oasis Water Park. I am sorry to see you were not as equally impressed with the quality of the water park and vegetation in the dry June weather. I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, maybe in the spring when the resort grounds are lush and blooming.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This resort was nice, I stayed for one night and was pleased when I left and would probably have come back again. However, I noticed a charged for 25.00 on my credit card the next day and called the hotel to inquire and was very displeased to find out that it is what they call a hotel fee. This fee apparently gives me access to the fitness center, phone calls, the coffee maker in the room, and wifi access. This charge is a per night charge. Outrageous! This is not given as an option and is a BS excuse to sneak in charges on a hotel room you ALREADY paid for. I also was a little surprised to find that I had two regular sheets on my bed in place of a fitted sheet. Overall was an okay time but the fee just ruined it for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Isaac D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Isaac,

I am glad to see that you were pleased with your one night stay and would visit us again. Thank you for sharing your feedback on our resort fee. We use this one fee to cover services like valet parking, WIFI, fitness center and fitness classes and save our guests from paying for the services on an a la carte basis. We make a point to cover the resort fee and inclusions when booking a reservation, within the confirmation letter, when checking in and on the folio processed when checking out. I hope that you decide to visit us again when your travels bring you back to Phoenix.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#33 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing