We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
2 reviews
“Excellent Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Our family of three and two other families visited this property during Spring Break. We had children ranging in age 18 - 7 in our group and six adults - there was something for every one of us to do! The resort offers a fantastic health club facility, hiking nearby, bike rentals, the beautiful golf course and driving range and of course, the water park! We highly recommend this property to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l0vedthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear l0vedthesun,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful recommendation! It is great to see that everyone in your large group found activities of interest at our resort. That is always our goal! We look forward to welcoming your family back to Arizona Grand Resort.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    747
    402
    204
    96
See reviews for
1,325
280
45
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

nice resort, clean, golf marginal., waterpark is fun good slides and lazy river.

Stay away from aunt chiladas on site mexican restaurant..... we love mexican and this place is terrible.

overall great family resort, there restaurants are Lacking service and quality, and the overall staff service of the resort is POOR....

Room Tip: if your looking for a water park good central location this is your place, If your looking for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear tim s,

Thank you for your compliments regarding Oasis Water Park and recommendation as a great family resort. I am disappointed to hear that you did not love Aunt Chilada’s -- I truly have a weakness for the chile relleno with jalapeno cream sauce. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We took our 2 year old here for a 5 night stay in early April. Admittedly we didn't realize it was still Spring Break, and the resort was busy, but we still enjoyed our stay. It's a good location, only a 15 minute taxi ride ($20) from the airport, and you can easily walk to the Mountain Reserve trails next door. And there is a large grocery store just around the corner ( we took a cab but you could walk), so you can stock up on essentials if you want. We also took a taxi to the Phoenix Zoo which is about 20 minutes away (so you dont necessarily need to rent a car). The restaurants are a little overpriced, but that's to be expected. Some reviews have complained about the older rooms, but I quite liked the character of the older buildings, and our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Its a great place for families with lots to do to keep everyone happy. We would go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petersenmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

This past week I was on spring break with my children and one of the nights we used our delta points to get a special room at the Arizona grand. It was a lot of points and it totally was a treat!

Just by luck we were put into the penthouse suite two beautiful bedroom a gorgeous living room and an incredible patio where you could enjoy the sunset and see the gorgeous sky line, I am talking - huge porch,better yet Balcony, I could have had 50 guests.

Where I felt like a "queen" was when our bellman "Van" greeted myself and six little boys (13 and younger) and escorted us in a large enough golf cart for all- to our room. Van also made us dinner reservations at a fun restaurant called the rustling roost. He and I exchanged cell numbers and communicated via texting. He continued to check on us throughout our stay and it was unbelievable. I really felt like I won the lottery. I am one to really appreciate a pleasant unexpected surprise. The room and the service we were given were exceptional.

We are all thrown many cards in life. I have gotten a few tough cards (ie: breast cancer) over the past couple of years and what a treat to have everything go our way this week. !!!! My boys were in hog heaven and couldn't believe our stay.

Thank you very much to all who made our stay so wonderful - a big thank you to our bellman, Van!!!!!!!

A.P. Little

Room Tip: Worth money to get Sedona penthouse 600 s
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyplittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Amyplittle,

What a review! It is great to see that you had such an outstanding vacation and enjoyed your suite so much. Thank you very much for your kind words. I have passed your compliments on to Van; it is truly our pleasure to serve our guests. We can’t wait to welcome your family back to Arizona Grand.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I was sorely disappointed in my two night stay at the Arizona Grand Hotel. The first room we were shown had been left open, smelled like cigarette smoke and the living room light bulb way on the counter. The hotel quickly accommodated us in a second room that smelled vaguely like vomit. Ugh. Neither remote worked for the television, there was no channel guide, the extra pillow didn't have a pillow case and the bathroom garbage can was dirty. And that was just the first hour! The second day we were very disappointed to find the water park over run and no available seating to be found within an hour of opening. Disheartening when that is part of the reason for the trip. This was my third stay at the resort and will be my last.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Rosepebble,

I apologize for the experience you had during your recent stay, and am sorry the resort did not live up to your expectations. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you in the future and demonstrate the true Arizona Grand experience that our guests have come to love.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Our family of four stayed for three nights in a poolside suite in the Camelback building in early April, 2012. The suite was very tastefully decorated in a modern, fresh taupe and cream palette with wicker accents. It was very clean with the exception of a couple grease marks on the carpet from a previous occupant's wheeled suitcase.

The suite contained a bedroom with two queen beds, a built-in closet, a TV, and the bathroom. The bathroom was TINY (the door barely cleared the toilet) with the sink and granite make-up counter/mirror out in the bedroom area. I personally dislike this design due to lack of privacy for the person getting ready. Plus, turning on the lights above the make-up counter to see wakes up anyone still sleeping.

The beds were comfy with pretty white linens encasing a feather comforter. We had four pillows per bed although they were tiny (about 1/2 the size of a normal bed pillow). The bath towels were thick and fluffy. There is a french door in the bedroom, with very nice "black out" drapes, leading out to a small balcony that is handy for hanging wet swimsuits to dry.

The bedroom was separated with a door from a living room that contained a sleeper sofa desk/table with chairs, another TV, and a mirrored wet bar area with a second small sink and refrigerator (no microwave). The set-up was perfect for our two kids to stay up watching TV without disturbing us while we slept. There was a game controller with the TV, but renting the GameCube and the games were extra $$$.

The suite was very quiet -- we didn't hear any other hotel guests during our stay. Without fail, the maid service came to spread up the beds and replace the towels no later than 4:00pm each day (remember to leave them a tip when you check out!)

Our suite overlooked one of the two "family" pools with a jacuzzi that were open from 10-10. These pools were rarely full/loud since The Oasis water park was only a 2 minute walk through the building. Guests enter water park through the gift shop, instead of the large iron gates, which I found kind of odd. The gift shop is also where you switch out your broken wrist band from the day before for a new one (unless you can tolerate leaving it on from one day to the next). As other reviewers mentioned, there is a long line that starts queing outside the gift shop a good half hour before the park opens.

The Oasis contains a lazy river and the two 8-story water slides plus a large sun-bathing lounge area (plus two canopies for shade lovers). This area is called the "island" and is open from 10-6. The rest of the waterpark contained the zero-depth entry wave pool, jacuzzi, a kid pool (with basketball hoop), a toddler pool, a splash pad, the DJ stage, the food service station, and a large "tiki" style bar plus plenty of loungers. This area is open from 10-8. The DJ begins his kid-oriented schtick each night at 6:00. I understand there are movies shown at dusk, although we didn't participate.

During our visit to The Oasis, we were always able to get enough pool towels and lounge chairs, although the loungers were due to be pressure-washed. The roving servers for food/drink orders and people to bus the cups/plates get stretched a bit thin at certain times of day depending on the size of the crowd.

We ate at the pool-side buffet (near the wave pool) for dinner one night. The food was plentiful and good ($17 adult; $10 per child), although the one-trip rule bothered a few guests in our party.

Tips: 1) The resort lobby is the third exit around the traffic circle; the signage needs improving. The resort also has Villas (privately owned condos), a conference center, and a golf course, so it's easy to get lost when trying to find where to check in. 2) The Marketplace off the hotel lobby serves Starbucks and pastries for breakfast if you don't want to go to the hotel restaurant. 3) The lobby is gorgeous with outdoor seating around firepits -- perfect for an evening glass of wine. 4) The front door staff are happy to drive guests to various parts of the resort, including to the Rustler's Roost restaurant (a must see). Also consider visiting Aunt Chilupa's for margarita's -- it's a short walk on a lighted path from the hotel. 5) The Tempe Mills mall is about 5 minutes away -- kind of teen place with GameWorks (huge video arcade) and stores that appeal to the younger set, but it also is where the Sea Life Aquarium is located.

Our family would not hesitate to stay at the Arizona Grand Resort again.

Room Tip: 1) When booking, ask for a room that isn't on the "delivery route". There were a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear cwal,

Thank you for the thorough review of your family’s recent stay. It is great to hear that you felt so well taken care of and had a fun stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our 5-night stay at the Arizona Grand. We left on the on the first day of Spring Break and it was getting very crowded and it would have been less relaxing, had we stayed longer. The negatives: the $40/night resort fee which I thought was really high; the room carpet stains (which weren't really that bad) and the mini fridge could have been a little cleaner. There were many more positives: the spacious rooms with the separate bedroom; good restaurants on-site; friendly, helpful staff and beautiful grounds and pools. I especially enjoyed my happy-hour wine with a good book in the lobby bar overlooking the golf course. Since we had a later flight, after check out at 11am, it was really appreciated to have the use of the pool and the spa to freshen up before leaving for the airport. Having the use of the business center was really helpful too. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rustler's Roost restaurant -- a fun place for dinner with excellent prime rib. Golf course fees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear AlyMcK,

It’s great to see you that you had a fun spring break and loved Rustler’s Roost. I am sorry to see that there were a couple of negatives during your stay, but am very happy to see that the positives outweighed them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Arizona Grand Resort.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#34 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing