We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely loud banging sounds all night and day.”
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Carlos
Ranked #89 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I probably should have asked for a different room. I was in 709. The banging was loud enough to startle me out of a deep sleep. I never figured out what was causing the banging (radiator pipes? elevator?). I had my ipod and resorted to wearing that at night.
Otherwise the place was fine. I got a pre-paid good price on it, but I had problems relaxing with the random banging noises.

Room Tip: The room I was in had loud noises.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peggymalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, it has been noted and improved upon since your last visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Carlos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 340 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

First off, as other have mentioned, if you want luxury and amenities, stay at the other chain hotels in the area. If you want to relive a little history and don't mind the inconveniences of an old hotel, San Carlos is a gem. Everything you would want from a vintage boutique hotel complete with ghost sightings (2nd and 7th floors!), history galore, famous guests and great staff. The place oozes with classical charm with all of the vintage accents, minimal invasive remodeling and beautiful architecture. If you stay, you can ask the staff for a tour of the owner's penthouse suite and back of house tour to see some of the famous suites where Marilyn Monroe and Mae West stayed during their visit to the San Carlos (Thanks Tina!!!) We all had a great time and appreciate you taking the time to show us around. The only downside (to be expected in a circa 1928 hotel is the small rooms, fair mount of noise and most bothersome is the water changing drastic temperatures when showering from others in the hotel flushings toilets etc.. Oh well, it just wouldn't be the same if these were not present. An overall fun experience and f you don't spend the night it is still worth a visit to look around.

Room Tip: Higher floors don't have the vibration from the rooftop HVAC units.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cooch6582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate knowing people love the historic part of the Hotel as much as we do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

And I was. It's historic, it has character, it's a little bit funky and full of personality. It's not the Westin, the Wyndham, the Sheraton, or any of other chain hotels in the area, all of which have the same personality (none) but all of which are cleaner, have more amenities, fewer drunks, and less craziness. Me? I liked it, since I liked a bit of adventure. Unlike other people, my room was always clean (and cleaned very nicely every day), the beds were pretty comfortable, the lights made weird noises (yes, that frightened me once), and the water never stayed at the same temperature (I learned, after a couple of days, to move away from the shower if I heard another toilet flushing in another room... to avoid being scalded), but the internet was fast, the tub was big enough for my fat butt to sit in and soak, the water was hot, and staff were nice, and the sense of history gave this place a personality. Remember... it's not for everyone. If you like feeling like a princess, don't stay here. But if you like having a connection to a place that movie stars of old used to stay at (and probably thoroughly enjoyed), then give this place a try.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sckjc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Dear Guest,
Your review is greatly appreciated ! we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed here because the block rooms were sold out at the designated hotels for our conference. I was glad I found the Hotel San Carlos. This is not your hotel if you want a Hyatt or Westin experience. This is the place for you if you enjoy history and a little of the out of the ordinary. It 's decor is dated, but what what you'd expect for a historic hotel. It is very clean and has all the modern conveniences. The pool area was very nice and a great place to relax. I stayed in the Marilyn Monroe Suite which consisted of 2 rooms and was great for having guests. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this if you want something with a little more personality. Unfortunatley, I had no ghostly encounters, but enjoyed my restful nights.

Room Tip: If you have kids, I would recommend a suite because the rooms are fairly small.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamhud13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Dear Guest,
Your review is greatly appreciated ! we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I went there for a business trip, they gave me a key to a room that was already full, I had to go back and ask for another one. The carpet was full of stains and bathroom had mold and rust. stay away from this hotel if you want to have a good night of sleep, I heard weird noises all night and couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, it has been noted and improved upon since your last visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Where to start. Getting burned in the shower when the hot water cycled on no matter what temp set at. Stains everywhere-carpets, bath, walls. Sewer smells circulating throughout, offset by the greasy spoon restaurant odors from the first floor. Don't be deceived by pretty pictures or package deals on travel websites. Absolutely awful. I would have walked out had a large convention not booked every room downtown. The only saving grace is the Irish bar next door.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, it has been noted and improved upon since your last visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

First of all, if you are a high maintenance type of person, you'll hate this hotel. It is old, and its charm is in that it isn't a polished gem. And unpolished it is!

However, it is a historic hotel, with a history, and a unstated beauty that I, for one, was quite fond of. Throughout the hotel, different vignettes of former yesteryear guests and celebrities are situated on walls by the elevators. There is even a tour the hotel gives (for a small fee) of the ghosts also cohabit the hotel.

Some small distractions. The water vacillates between hot and cold, the room are not very sound proof, there is a limited selection of channels on the television. On the upside, the staff is courteous and professional. The mattresses are outstanding. Even the housekeeping staff are polite, and respectful. Rooms are small, but adequate.

Hey, I liked this hotel. See it for what it is and not for what it isn't. I only regret not taking my wife. It would have been a fun stay over.

Room Tip: On the third floor, but the ice bin, is a purified water dispenser. It tastes much better than the t...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pereirra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Dear Guest,
Your review is greatly appreciated ! we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Downtown
Central City
Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix Downtown
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#26 of 174 in Phoenix
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#7 of 174 in Phoenix
833 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos

Address: 202 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2201
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range: $107 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Carlos is Phoenix's only historic bouitque hotel and has been since 1928. Each of our 128 guest rooms has been individually decorated. Hotel San Carlos is convenietly located in the heart of downtown Phoenix's financial,goverment,and entertainment distric, just steps away from many fabulous local Phoenix Attractions.Walking distance of the convention center. We look forwards to having you stay with us and experience a touch of Phoenix history during your stay at Hotel Sand Carlos.The Hotel San Carlos is Registered with Green Chambers of Commerce! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing