We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Phoenix
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Desert Botanic Garden

Breathtakingly beauty and definitely worth the time and price paid. I could have easily spent the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
karensL6457IJ
via mobile
Really neat place!

This place is definitely worth paying a visit - lots of cool and unique types of cacti, history... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Connector67506695135
,
Des Moines, Iowa
via mobile
Read all 8,605 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Phoenix
from $179.00
More Info
from $169.60
More Info
from $132.05
More Info
from $207.61
More Info
Reviews (8,605)
Filter reviews
8,605 results
Traveler rating
6,494
1,666
323
72
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6,494
1,666
323
72
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly exhibit chihuly glass quail light show native plants plant life gift shop special events phoenix area visiting phoenix bring water bloom butterflies desert paths succulents luminaries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 8,605 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful Cacti and desert plants. Seen many Gambels Quail and other animals on the many easy walking paths. Perfect for a leisurely stroll.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank robertsJ9269CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was generous with the 4 stars but thought 3 was too low given the quality of the facilities supporting/surrounding the gardens. I visited on January 18 and I expect the brief period when the cacti are blooming would be interesting. Unfortunately I did not get to see this. $29.95 for an adult ticket is outrageous for wandering around the desert. Another TripAdvisor reviewer tipped me off that you can get a AAA discount of 20% so my ticket was just over $23, which was still too much imho. While all cacti are labeled somewhere, they aren't labeled everywhere so you have to keep looking to find out what things are. The place was very full however. Lots of older people and families. It was "dog days" so many people brought their dogs, which was cute.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank MyGreenFunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Desert Botanical Garden in Phoenix is something rare. Always beautiful, something new to learn about and see on each visit. A great restaurant and multiple helpful and friendly staff and volunteers. We had a visitor from Portland and she thoroughly enjoyed all of the amazing art and great information about desert flora and fauna.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On Dec. 2. 2019, I spent a good four hours at Phoenix's "Desert Botanical Garden". It was an amazing four hours spent and admission was cheap for all their is to peruse. It is easy to get to by Uber if you do not drive. I recommend this place to anyone visiting in Phoenix and surrounding area's!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank W2614BQdanieli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would not recommend going in January. We spent $30 a piece for a ticket and none of the cactuses had bloomed. It was very plain and definitely not worth the drive or the money. I think they need to lower the prices for this time of the year or at least make the public aware that they won’t be seeing much for flowers.

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank 20tabbithas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbgphx, Public Relations Manager at Desert Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I’m so sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your time at the Garden. We would love to hear about your experience and what could have made it better. Please contact our Guest Services Manager at acannon@dbg.org. If you reach out to that email, he will share a promo code with a discount for you to come back at another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews