We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Las Luminarias: special time, special experience”

Desert Botanical Garden
Ranked #2 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in Papago Park, these gardens offer visitors an opportunity to learn about desert flora.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Las Luminarias: special time, special experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was my first visit to the Garden and I would definitely come again. "Las Noches De Las Luminarias" is a special exhibit during December that includes lighted sculpture, musical performances, and of course, several thousand luminarias. My cousins had no difficulty maneuvering their stroller, and the 10-month-old was quite entertained through two hours of touring. The Chihuly sculptures were beautifully lit and made the price of admission worthwhile. Hint: sometimes admission is half-price if you call the day of your visit and they have unsold tickets.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gem80013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,765
    1,255
    232
    57
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bahamas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is a beautiful venue! It is always evolving. Check it out when they have a special art installation, the Chihuly one was amazing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartiniMakerBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Last Visit was 38 years ago”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Good return to a place I used to frequent while a student at ASU. It's grown emensley, as has the admission price. It was a fun walk and the many gardens are laid-out nicely.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank vmcgilvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
221 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Las Noches De Las Luminarias at Phoenix Botanical Garden”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have been at the garden several times a year but not to witness the De Las Luminarias and it was amazing! Clear view of the beautiful sunset!!! Acoustic bands performing in several areas, singers singing Christmas songs.....this is nice......good food at the restaurant and where they were serving a buffet. This is something one needs to experience, I'm just sorry I hadn't come to this before. Luminarias always happens at the garden after Thanksgiving until 12/31 of each year. Really Special!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelJohn092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overhyped”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a great place if you want to see your desert in a cage and pay a premium price for it. I thought the admission price was outrageous and the desert vegetation was mostly the same as you could see in one of the desert regional parks all around Phoenix. Go visit Usery Mountain or Lost Dutchman and save your money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mistersunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Botanical Garden also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Desert Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing