We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful any time of the year ! We Love This Place !”

Desert Botanical Garden
Ranked #2 of 230 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in Papago Park, these gardens offer visitors an opportunity to learn about desert flora.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delightful any time of the year ! We Love This Place !”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Educational, relaxing, restorative, this garden is one of the best attractions in Phoenix. From my first visit here in 2003, I knew that I would always come back for more. The butterfly cage is the thrill for the kids, changing exhibits are inspiring, seasonal displays are tasteful and culturally significant. The setting, the trails, the botanical markers, the intricate displays, the friendly staff, the excellent food, all help make this a place to remember. When my most sophisticated friends
visit Phoenix, I always take them here to impress ! Not to be missed. It will not disappoint.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Savvygal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,910
    1,287
    237
    59
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Day at the Garden!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The weather cooperated to give us a wonderful day at the Desert Botanical Garden. Enjoyed the special art exhibit by Philip Haas and the sculptures by Carolina Escobar. Lunch at Gertrude's was a real treat. Took tons of photos throughout the day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carliewired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Deepen your understanding of desert plants”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I took a guided tour with a docent. She educated us on the bones of cactus, diverse wildlife and native history. Our Dallas Arboretum membership helped us get in for free. A must see while in Phoenix.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“plants, cactus and more”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

very nice in April ,the catctus are in bloom, and the butterfly house is open , not so much to see before that.Very nicely laid out and very informative guides

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to take a walk in the desert!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

$15.00 (senior) gets you in to this expansive and well laid out park. We took a guided tour from a man who knew his stuff. and he was entertaining too! I learned a lot about desert plants and animals. Then we walked a few of the trails on our own. (The map you get is very helpful.) The garden is so well kept up and beautiful. The weather was perfect--about 73 degrees. Even so, we were glad we had hats and water. When we got tired, we relaxed in Gertrude's, a very nice cafe on the grounds. We'll have to go back and finish the trails we didn't get to.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank vickyzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Botanical Garden also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Desert Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing