We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“garden walking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Botanical Garden

Desert Botanical Garden
Ranked #2 of 226 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in Papago Park, these gardens offer visitors an opportunity to learn about desert flora.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“garden walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

a wonderful place to learn about the desert life and the plants that grow there. peaceful and a joy to walk through.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,527
    1,213
    224
    55
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cactus forever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is another gem of the Phoenix area. Wonderfully laid out exhibits of the various plant life of the desert. Very informative but fun. Probably not best visited on a hot afternoon - they are open early and stay open late. Very unique botanical gardens.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pittsburgh_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you want to walk around the true beauty of the desert landscape and learn a little bit about the indigenous tribes that live here this is the place to do it. Best times to visit are during spring and fall when the temperatures are in the 80s. If you are here in the spring they have flowering desert plants as well as the butterfly tent. Great for couples or a group.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix3816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Attraction in Phoenix Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I very much enjoyed my visit to the Desert Botanical Garden. I had read about this attraction in one of my travel books and felt it was a must see while in the Phoenix area. I arrived at the garden around noon and ended up staying until after 6. When I first arrived, I was disappointed to see the restaurant was not open yet and the gift shop was closed. I had not eaten yet so I was afraid there were not going to be any food/refreshment options. Fortunately, I saw that there was a cafe on the other side of the gardens. I made my way there first, and was a tad disappointed to see that all the selections were pre-made and I could not get anything without onions, however, the prickly pear tea was very refreshing and the views from the cafe were exceptional.

I hiked all the rest of the trails 1-2 times each. My favorite was the one that had elevation gains to allow you to see Camelback Mountain and the Red Rock Buttes from the top. I was astounded by all the different types of cactus and succulents. The garden has really done an exceptional job of labeling and caring for all the different types of plants. While I was there, the Butterfly Pavillion, Dio de las Meutros, Four Seasons, and Pumpkin Patch events were also going on in addition to the regular garden exhibits/trails. The butterfly pavillion was great; I captured some stunning detailed pictures of the flowers and butterflies. I also took some incredible pictures at sunset with the changing light and also some pictures by moonlight. I took an entire media card full of 720 high quality pictures and I definitely think it was some of my best photography. I thoroughly enjoyed this attraction.

I would definitely recommend tennis shoes. I saw so many people in flip flops and heels. I'm a flip flop kind of girl, but all the trails aside from the main trail, are not paved and there are some loose rocks. Sunscreen is a must (I reapplied twice while there), and even though there are refreshments available, I took a large bottle of water and refilled it. Even though it is not humid in Arizona and I had sunscreen on, I found myself drinking almost constantly while there. The park is very well though out and there are several shaded/sitting areas; however, some of the trails are in direct sunlight almost the entire time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clintonville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“unique foiliage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Definitely worth it when visiting Phoenix! There are some wonderful trails and the displays are set up so beautifully. There were all kinds of volunteers working there, it shows how much the gardens mean to the community.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tleigh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Botanical Garden also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Desert Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing