We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay”
Review of ZenYard Uptown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ZenYard Uptown Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Phoenix B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 26, 2009

My husband, father and I stayed two nights at Zenyard and we had a great time. We found Dale and Eddie to be super hosts who spent time with us just chatting and being hospitable. Zenyard is an interesting, relaxing place to stay and Dale and Eddie go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BibaClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 396 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2009

My husband & I have been traveling quite a bit this year & have stayed in some REALLY nice places (hotels, inns, b&bs, vacation rental houses) all over the country. The Zen Yard is hands-down not only our favorite accomodation in Phoenix, but possibly our favorite anywhere. Why? It's the only one that feels truly like a second home, and the best value-for-money we've found. We've done the Phoenix high-end resort thing, but once we experienced Zen Yard there was no going back to any of those. The proprietors, Eddie and Dale, are the nicest, most interesting, fun & mellow people. It just feels good being there. The property is a unique mini-compound (I'm jealous, I want to live in a place like that!) & they're working diligently & constantly at beautifying & upgrading it. Every time we go, it's fun to try to find all the little changes they've made since last visit. It's slowly turning into an urban paradise.

The main house encompasses the owners' quarters, the South Room and the Central Suite. In front is the drop-dead gorgeous pool area. Zen-like, indeed. In back is the main house's hot tub in a beautiful little nook, the Cowboy Casita with its own hot tub, and another casita that Dale is making into a massage studio. So far we've booked the Cowboy Casita four times & the Central Suite once. Both are incredible value for the money - I won't mention prices here in case they fluctuate a bit, but DO check them - the rates are amazingly low considering what you get, and you simply will NOT find a better deal in Phoenix, whether summer or winter season. The Casita is at the back corner of the property, extremely quiet & private, with its own yard & outside hot tub. Inside is a cozy living room with big window looking out to Squaw Peak & a cheerful eat-in kitchen with a table looking out corner windows to the private yard area. Cute bedroom area & bath. The Central Suite is divine - again, you feel like you're in your own little world. From the parking lot you have private entry direct into your own vine-covered patio that leads to the keyless-entry French doors off the sleeping area. You can fling the patio doors wide open & bask in the warm Phoenix night air while laying in bed or on the sofa. This one also has a great eat-in kitchenette, and beyond that a little bathroom & huge walk-in closet. Impeccably decorated.

Eddie & Dale are the perfect innkeepers & adaptable to your traveling style: they don't hover & you can be left quietly alone, OR if you feel like chatting they're super accessible, open, friendly & helpful. Oh, and the location is conveniently central, near 7th St. between Bethany Home and Glendale. Nice mid-century, established neighborhood. Plenty of restaurants, cafes, shops, grocery, etc. very close by yet you feel tucked-away & secluded. Also ask them about their separate rental house with private pool, not too far away, and also at a killer bargain rate!! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationveterans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Dale and Eddie are amazing amazing hosts at this wonderful place. And it smells AMAZING. If you have any interest in aromatherapy, come here. The flowers attract a beautiful array of birds that pleasantly greet you in the morning. There are enough hot tubs and a wonderful pool that you have no excuse not to relax. And btw, they offer a very nice little continental-style breakfast that includes organic foods and fruits from the fruit trees in the backyard!

free wifi, btw and an enclosed parking lot on the property (it's actually really nice how they set it up).

Come here and relax. It is soooooooo worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachgoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

My daughter and I stayed here for just one night, but found Zen Yard to be a clean and comfortable place to stay. We had the suite with plenty of room and a nice little kitchen with everything we could need.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Washboardmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Eddie and Dale are wonderful hosts, and their place is beautiful and just getting more so with renovations. We stayed here 2 nights, one on either side of our trip to Sedona. We stayed in the Central Suite the first night, and the Cowboy Casita the second. The rooms were lovely, and the bed in the Cowboy Casita may well be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. They have a pool and 2 hot tubs. We were lucky enough to be there when Dale's mom was visiting, and got to share in the homemade brownies and chocolate chip cookies. They were so helpful with suggestions of where to go for fantastic wine and food, shopping, must-see places (the current Chihuly exhibit at the Desert Botanical Gardens). It was wonderful and I highly recommend Zenyard.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sikerai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

I stayed at the Zen yard for almost a whole week, i have to say that i loved the place, the decor is spiritual with a very nice taste. Very well kept, place was quiet clean. Rooms were very comfortable. 15 min from downtown. They had a nice pool and a hot tube. The best of all was the hospitality that Eddie and Dale showed us, i really felt at home. If i ever return to Phoenix, this is where i will stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomaxMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Ed and Dale were the consumate hosts during my four day stay. I choose the Central Suite with a private entrace and bathroom. Each guest chooses a private code for the duration of their stay which I appreciated for a security perspective. The kitchen facilities in my suite were basic but in working order. The linens were quite luxurious which was great. My breakfast needs were accomodated nicely and the pleasant conversation during the morning and evening made me feel like a old friend rather than a guest.

The pool was lovely with a great privacy fence along with soothing statuary. It was a a great respite during the hot days which are common in Phoenix even during mid September. The off street parking was private and easy to access.

The dinner recommendation was superb as was a recommendation for a great massage: www.massagekai.com. If you are looking for a relaxing place in North Central Phoenix look no further than Zen Yard.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NMandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ZenYard Uptown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ZenYard Uptown Inn

Address: 830 E Maryland Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85014-1570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Phoenix
Price Range: $75 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ZenYard Uptown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban co-op lodging home with individual guest rooms and suites. It's a perfect location for leisure and business getaways for nightly and weekly travelers. We have a solar heated salt water pool and a hot tub on the property. Honor bar includes self help options for drinks, sodas, beer, wine, premix alcohol, snacks, cereal, pastries, milk, juice and more for individual purchase and add to your bill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your ZenYard Uptown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenyard Guest House Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing