We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house and hosts”
Review of ZenYard Uptown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ZenYard Uptown Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Phoenix B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

ZenYard is an absolutely perfect bed and breakfast, and Eddie and Dale are the warmest and most helpful hosts. They have created a beautiful and comfortable space in a nice Phoenix neighborhood which is well situated for exploring the city and the countryside beyond it. We stayed with them for a week while trying to decide on relocating to the region, and they were so good at guiding us to the best sites and activities in the area to aid us in deciding. They recommended good restaurants, and urged us to join in the art walk in Scottsdale on Thursday night and the First Friday art walk in Phoenix. They also told us where to go for a wonderful mountaintop sunset view of the city, and where to go to view wildlife in nearby Tonto National Forest. Their house is spotlessly clean, the pool and gardens are wonderful, and the breakfasts are delicious (and pretty). Our experience with them just couldn't have been improved upon. It was a real pleasure to stay at ZenYard, and we'd recommend it highly to anyone visiting Phoenix. (George & Patsy)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgePatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 396 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

After arriving a little later than planned, we were warmly welcomed by Eddie and Dale. The room was modern, well equipped, and in a veritable oasis - you don't realize the road is right outside the front door of the house. The gardens are spectacular - Dale has done a great job on them (it's a work in progress, as he will tell you!). The pool was just the thing we needed to cool down after driving from Winslow that day. Breakfast was delicious - only the coffee could have been stronger (for my liking).
Definitely recommend it, especially if you plan to head to taliesin etc in the Scottsdale area. And a great price too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinkieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I didn't think much when I booked this place apart from "pity we're not downtown"; although the reviews did say it was relaxing, from past experience I doubted I would actually notice. Moreover, when we arrived we were both pretty irritable, after getting very lost and having real trouble with the rental car. Despite what was, therefore, effectively a recipe for disaster, within seconds of arriving and being greeted by (I think) Eddie, all this dissipated - no mean feat as we are not naturally relaxed people. Both the warmth of Eddie and Dale's welcome and the clever way they had arranged everything in the house made us feel like we were staying with friends more than in a b&b - and it was indeed very relaxing!! - and this succeeded in turning what was meant to be an unremarkable stopover into a memorable part of the trip. The place is not downtown - but there are places to eat and have a beer within easy walking distance (and their recommendations were good; the meal was really nice - and I am very fussy). It's also a pleasant and safe area. The home cooked breakfast was really very nice, and I was mesmerised by the humming birds that hang round the garden. We spent the evening drinking beers while dipping our feet in the pool. Definitely not your average b&b - thanks guys!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavlovsfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

No need to search activities or entertainment while in Phoenix, ZenYard is the destination
in and of it's self.
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our short stay with these most gracious host.
Thank You Eddie and Dale for creating such a loving atmosphere.

Steve and Barb

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night at this guest house. It has a very homely feel and we were treated delightfully. We would highly recommend for anyone staying in Phoenix. I did not know a review had to be at least 200 characters.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

the house was wonderfully appointed, comfortable and quiet. Eddie and Dale could not have been more hospitable. Their restaurant recommendation to Christo's a block away was spot on. If we have another occasion to stay in Phoenix this will be our first choice and we will mention to others headed that way. It was also a great value and the made to order breakfast was as good as you could find anywhere. Thanks again.
Renee and Larry

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aptosclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We set out on a multi state journey of the southwest and west coast. I happened upon this place on Tripadvisor. It will not disappoint. Unfortunately we arrived fairly late and could only stay one night, but we thoroughly enjoyed the little time we did have. The hosts are extremely organized and accommodating. They made sure we had everything we needed. There were snacks available all the times for a nominal fee and complimentary fresh baked cookies upon arrival. The breakfast was to die for. We had parfaits, crepes, eggs and bacon. I wish they could come to my house to cook meals for us all the time. On top of all that, they are 2 of the nicest, most down to earth guys you'll meet. We'd definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ZenYard Uptown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ZenYard Uptown Inn

Address: 830 E Maryland Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85014-1570
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Phoenix
Price Range: $81 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ZenYard Uptown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban co-op lodging home with individual guest rooms and suites. It's a perfect location for leisure and business getaways for nightly and weekly travelers. We have a solar heated salt water pool and a hot tub on the property. Honor bar includes self help options for drinks, sodas, beer, wine, premix alcohol, snacks, cereal, pastries, milk, juice and more for individual purchase and add to your bill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your ZenYard Uptown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenyard Guest House Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing