We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Reserve with OpenTable
Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 2,916 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: North Mountain
Cross street: 7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.
Description: Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant sits atop of the Pointe Hilton Resort overlooking the Phoenix valley below. The view was amazing in the early evening ; and the sunset was spectacular to watch. Our food was very good; though the service was a bit slow. The restaurant was not that crowded either. I defiantly would come back just for the view to bring company as it is a one-of-a-kind.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    114
    31
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dessert only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Loved the dessert it was like a frozen chocolate banana so good. The view is amazing though. We could see the whole city and watched a storm roll in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Desiree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We got there early for our reservation and had drinks on the patio. A fantastic view as the sun sets. We requested a window table and we're accommodated with the best table in the house. After sun set, the city lights make for a very romantic dinner. Make reservations and go early.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great View, Average Food, Non-Existant Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nine of us sat outside at the Different Pointe of View for a good-bye party for a friend and colleague.

Although drink orders were taken right away, they took a while to come out, and our food order wasn't taken until we'd been there for nearly an hour. The server just disappeared. It took another hour for our food to come out after ordering,

The portions were small, and the flavor was OK. We finally had to track down our server to get the bill. Since there were nine of us, they tacked on a 20% gratuity which is not a surprise. What was a surprise was that they divided the gratuity evenly nine ways based on the total bill. That meant the person who only ordered a $9 small salad paid the same $5 gratuity as people who ordered entire meals with drinks. That's just wrong.

Great view, but not worth a return visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XlntAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Only open for dinner. Wonderful panaoramic views of Phoenix area, and the sunset over the foothills was beautiful. We had great service and the food met all our expectations. We took our wine out on the terrace after dinner, when it had cooled off outside. Lovely view of the city lights. Will go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb0_59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing