We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ballpark with reasonable prices”
Review of Chase Field

Chase Field
Ranked #6 of 230 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of the state's Major League Baseball team, the Arizona Diamondbacks.
Northern VA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good ballpark with reasonable prices”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Chase Field has a lot going for it. It's location downtown means you can access it from the easy to use and cheap light rail system. The parking within a couple blocks of the park is in the $10-$20 range - dirt cheap by many MLB park standards.
The food and beer prices are stadium prices, for sure, but on the lower end of what you would expect to pay at a MLB game.
Ticket prices are on the lower end of MLB teams.
There are no rain delays - needless to say - and the retractable roof means you can enjoy the game in a climate controlled park. It was 111 degrees outside when I visited, so this was much appreciated.
The Arizona Baseball Club is a club lounge/restaurant located in the outfield that is open to all ticket holders. It has TVs for other sports - I wanted to check the hockey playoffs - and no last call until the end of the game. I say again, no last call until the game is over. The bartender working the night I visited was super nice.
The two things that disappointed me about Chase Field - subpar beer selection. Virtually no craft beers available. And I was looking all over the main concourse. Get some micros in here people!
A really surprising lack of Southwestern food. There is a mom-and-pop tamale stand that was tasty - and a local family owned Mexican food chain with a couple of locations. Sonoran dogs are available at some outlets - but I was really expecting more. There was a "Streets of New York" concession there. Why? More tamales!
You may have heard about the pool in the outfield. It's there, but you can't use it. It books many months in advance and isn't cheap.
There is a TGI Fridays in stadium. I'm not sure why you would want to do that, but it's there.
So if in town, or a baseball fan, it's worth a visit - especially if you are a cold weather city fan looking to warm up for some early season baseball.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris1stVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,121
    551
    113
    21
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a must if you like baseball”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Chase is one of the most beautiful ballparks. Whether the top is open or closed its always a great experience. Diamondback fans are the greatest, and some of the most friendliest. Go to the game alone and by the 4th inning you'll have a new pal sitting beside, in front, or behind you. Nearly every seat is a great seat. Food is good (try the garlic fries!), but pricey like every other stadium, but you wont walk far to find something you like to eat.
The second level is more intimate, with specialty foods and less people roaming about.
Go early and watch batting practice, and you may just get an autograph from or a picture with your favorite player. Dbacks are known to be one of the most fan friendly, charitable teams.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank imfrantik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Chase field is like a mini-Miller Park (Brewers!). Great field & location. Took shuttle to get downtown & was really convenient getting to the park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great Experience For Sports Lovers and Families”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I attended a baseball game at Chase Field and it was quite an experience. The field is indoors so you don't have to worry about sitting in the heat. The field is gorgeous and it even has a pool! It was my first time seeing a pool inside a baseball stadium.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dynamitetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well designed stadium”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Easy to get to right downtown, via light rail or car. We walked. 45 minutes before the game, they slowly opened the roof and some huge windows in the outfield which, on opening day in April, gave us all a view of the sun setting over the mountains in the distance. But the highlight was of course the game experience. Enthusiastic, fans who i would say were mid-level on the friendly scale. Really nice stadium layout, absolutely outstanding scoreboards. All the info you want on this game, and lot on some others, is there if you care to glance over, but that's like a lot of modern MLB parks. Only puzzling thing: huge-selling jersey in the stadium was Justin Upton, who had been traded to the Braves several months before. Never saw that. My 16th MLB park, and I'm putting this one in my top five.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AFamilyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chase Field also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Chase Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing