We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected highlight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Detours of Arizona

Detours of Arizona
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Deluxe Phoenix and Scottsdale Day Trip
Ranked #3 of 53 Tours in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DETOURS is the premier tour company providing professionally guided experiences of the American West. We offer day and multi-day scheduled tours that regularly depart from Phoenix, AZ and Las Vegas, NV. Any of our scheduled tours can be made private. For a more customized experience, our Platinum tours let guests build a custom itinerary to fit their desires. With guided tours to the Grand Canyon, other National Parks, and many more incredible southwestern destinations, DETOURS can take you and your group just about anywhere in the West. We promise a personalized experience to remember. The combination of our professional guides, custom tour vehicles, individualized service, and vibrant attitude creates a highly personalized and exciting touring experience for each of our guests. Our mission is to treat our guests to the best experiences in the American West!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“An unexpected highlight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We were not meant to go to Phoenix but due to bad weather we had to detour through. We then set off on the Detours day tour of Sedona and Grand Canyon and ending up having our trip's highlight. Magnificent views and a fantastic experience! William was a terrific guide. Very knowledgeable, experienced and kept us entertained. We were on his 1000th tour!! Thanks William!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DetoursofArizona, Public Relations Manager at Detours of Arizona, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Tracy, thank you so much for letting Detours be the highlight of your trip! William has a magical way of pleasing everybody so it's no surprise to hear that you enjoyed him! We appreciate you giving Detours the opportunity to show you this amazing state of Arizona and look forward to creating more incredible memories for you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    853
    70
    23
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One Wonderful Day - Grand Canyon Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We took the One Day Tour of Grand Canyon which originated in Phoenix. It was a long but satisfying day. Going in January, the crowds were low (no crowds) and we enjoyed it more, I think.

Our guide, William, was excellent. He was knowledgeable and extremely articulate. I think all 8 persons on our tour were very pleased. William told us Detours is upgrading it's older vans and for that customers in the future will benefit. William's choice of a lunch spot near Sedona to pick up our sandwiches was an excellent choice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RetiredDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DetoursofArizona, Public Relations Manager at Detours of Arizona, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your tour with Detours! We are glad you enjoyed William and we will let him know how you felt. We are also happy you were satisfied with his lunch choice. We only choose restaurants that can only be found in AZ! We thank you for spending your day with us and look forward to touring you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our day trip to the Grand Canyon from Phoenix - our group was a pleasure to be with, & William was a great tour guide! He took care of everything from start to finish, providing info on the area & answering all our questions. We opted to see the Grand Canyon from the air - the helicopter tour was amazing & well worth it. Our first trip to Arizona was a fabulous experience!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DetoursofArizona, Public Relations Manager at Detours of Arizona, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Leslie, thank you for this glowing review of your Detours trip! William never disappoints as an informative and fun guide. We are proud to have him as part of the Detours team. It's awesome that you chose to do the helicopter excursion......what an amazing way to see the Grand Canyon! We aim to make everyone's day fun, smooth and memorable and it seems like we succeeded in that with your trip. Thank you for choosing Detours and hopefully we can tour you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL TRIP TO SOUTH RIM - CHAD WAS GREAT GUIDE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was my first time to Arizona. Four of us gals booked the tour with our concierge at J.W. Marriott Villa. Chad Williams was an awesome guide. He was a great driver and so knowledgable of the area, plants and animals, culture, etc. We were with him for 12 hours and enjoyed every minute of the tour. Our lunch was delish and we had plenty of stops for breaks, photos and shopping. The van was nice - seats were so comfortable and the view from every seat was great. We were all so glad we had chosen this tour and were lucky enough to have Chad as our guide. Thank you!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 406Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DetoursofArizona, Public Relations Manager at Detours of Arizona, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your trip with Detours! Chad is definitely a favorite so it's no surprise that you enjoyed him! We appreciate your comments about the comfort of our vans and visibility. Our vans are customized so we are always pleased to hear those compliments. We are so glad you had a fantastic day with us and next time, we will take you to some other amazing parts of Arizona! Thank you for choosing Detours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernd
1 review
“Grand Canyon via Sedona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

William was a great tour guide. Very knowledgeable. Trip was great. Saw a lot in one day. Enjoyed the Canyon and seeing it from many locations.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DetoursofArizona, Public Relations Manager at Detours of Arizona, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Steve, thank you for sharing your review of your Detours trip! We love William and we're glad you enjoyed him, as well! Thank you for choosing Detours and spending the day with us! We appreciate your business and hope to tour you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Detours of Arizona also viewed

 

Been to Detours of Arizona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing