We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Arizona and Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour”
Review of DETOURS of Arizona

DETOURS of Arizona
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.99*
and up
Day Tour to Sedona Red Rock Country and Native American Ruins from Phoenix
More Info
$85.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Deluxe Phoenix and Scottsdale Day Trip
More Info
$134.99*
and up
Apache Trail Day Tour from Phoenix
Ranked #3 of 55 Tours in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DETOURS is the premier tour company providing professionally guided experiences of the American West. We offer day and multi-day scheduled tours that regularly depart from Phoenix, AZ and Las Vegas, NV. Any of our scheduled tours can be made private. For a more customized experience, our Platinum tours let guests build a custom itinerary to fit their desires. With guided tours to the Grand Canyon, other National Parks, and many more incredible southwestern destinations, DETOURS can take you and your group just about anywhere in the West. We promise a personalized experience to remember. The combination of our professional guides, custom tour vehicles, individualized service, and vibrant attitude creates a highly personalized and exciting touring experience for each of our guests. Our mission is to treat our guests to the best experiences in the American West!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The 12-hour day trip to the Grand Canyon for a helicopter tour and other sights on the way there from Phoenix and back was awesome. Our tour guide, Chad Williams, was excellent and very customer oriented. He made the day very comfortable for the 3 couples and 1 single person who didn't know each other at all before the tour. Chad made sure we had enough comfort stops and gave us generous amounts of time at all our tour stops. He was very well informed with facts of interest along the route through the Sonoran Desert, Flagstaff, Williams and Sedona. The helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon was surely the highlight of the day and made our tour complete since the park was still shut down at the time. The additional sightseeing stops to compensate for not being able to enter the park were very interesting to us and Chad wasn't ready to call it a day until we all made that decision. I highly recommend Detours Tours and especially Chad Williams; it will be excellent value for your money.

Thank Giants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DetoursofArizona, Public Relations Manager at DETOURS of Arizona, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your trip with Detours. We are so glad you enjoyed your tour! Chad is awesome! We will definitely give him your feedback. Thank you for taking us up on our Grand Canyon Shutdown Special and allowing us to take you on a slightly different tour than normal. Fortunately, you were still able to see the canyon from the sky! Please let us know how we can create amazing memories for you in the future! Thank you again for touring with Detours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

877 - 881 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Seems every time we make plans in the past to see the Grand Canyon, something gets in the way. The first planned visited halted by a job change, the second when it rained in Las Vegas cancelling our planned helicopter ride. But this time, we knew it would be a go.

Until the rouge tea-baggers in Congress shut down the government. And the Canyon, too, of course.

The fall-back position was to arrange for a professional tour operation to ferry us to Maverick Helicopter Tours for a bird’s eye tour of the Canyon. We figured that on our last full day in Scottsdale, it would be preferable to let someone else do the driving and then get to see some sights on the way.

Detours had been struck a mean blow by the closing of all National parks, but being quick on the uptake, they rearranged their usual Grand Canyon tour and came up with a nice modified plan.

We were picked up at our timeshare by Chad – former Navy guy working tours for a nice change of pace from his truck-driving gig. Our conveyance was a comfortable van carrying no more than 7 people on this tour. Chad was very knowledgeable about the area despite having located to the Scottsdale/Phoenix area only a year and a half earlier. He was very up on all the native plant/cactus life, the history of the area and odd bits of questions mostly asked by me concerning the economy of the region, water and crops.

The tour swung through Flagstaff (where a tasty lunch was procured,) into Williams to the train station, then up to Maverick Helicopter for our buzz over the Grand Canyon. (For a review of the flight, please see my review of Maverick.) We swung through the Oak Creek Canyon then pressed on to Sedona and Red Rock Canyon in time for sunset.

As we fell, exhausted, out of the van on our return to the timeshare, we knew it had been a winner of a day. Detours AZ had done some quick thinking, hired great staff, and provided a wonderfully rich day of sights and information. Pick this one with a clear mind – these folks know their stuff.

Thank SidelineObservant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DetoursofArizona, Public Relations Manager at DETOURS of Arizona, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you so much for writing a review of your experience with Detours. We are so thankful that helicopter rides were available so folks like yourselves could still see the amazing Grand Canyon. We are very proud of our guides and Chad never disappoints. We will let him know your feedback! We really appreciate you trusting us with our modified trip and we hope you will tour with us again. Thank you so very much for your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The day started with a 100 mile detour due to an accident, which wasn't the only one as we discovered as the trip progressed.
The Tour Director/Driver (Lesley Cherry) was very knowledgeable and informed about the culture of the peoples, cacti and other vegetation,. Since we had a detour we did get to see more of the country side then we should have and she knew the area well.
No complains regarding the sights, Grand Canyon was awesome as was the Painted Desert and Sedona. We lucked out with a beautiful sunny day. Since we were so late getting to our destination we were a little sort on time at the stops but we had enough time to enjoy them and make plans for our next visit.
The only criticism that I have is I wished the driver had slowed down a bit. I realize that she was trying to make up for lost time but we where uncomfortable with her driving at times.
All in all I would recommend this tour.

Thank Campcariboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DetoursofArizona, Public Relations Manager at DETOURS of Arizona, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience with Detours. We are so glad you enjoyed the trip we provided as well as the beauty of Arizona. We appreciate your understanding of unforeseen events along the highway. Leslie is one of our most knowledgeable guides and while her intention is always to ensure safe and timely arrivals and departures, we do apologize if you felt unsafe. Listening to feedback is how we grow as a company. Rest assured, we do everything we can to make our guests feel comfortable. We hope you will tour with us again in the future! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you take this tour and have William you will not be disappointed. The only negative was too much shopping in a very touristy area, would rather have spent more time viewing the beautiful countryside.

1  Thank dlcd2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DetoursofArizona, Public Relations Manager at DETOURS of Arizona, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip with Detours! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience! Sedona is an incredible place to visit, offering so many things to do, from hiking to jeeping to shopping and eating! We try our hardest to satisfy all guests in the van and do our best to touch on all the different aspects of the amazing town of Sedona. We hope you tour with us again in the future! And remember, we do custom tours, which can be designed to fit with any group's specific desires. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is our first trip to Phoenix and the Grand Canyon and we wanted to do it at our own pace so we arranged though the Plaza resort for Detours to pick us up at 7:00 a.m. For a full day at the canyon and then sunset at Sedona. Robert met us promptly in an ac ford expedition for the three hour drive to the canyon. He was knowledgable about the culture of the area, history of the state, cacti and other vegetation, just everything. Then when we got to the canyon he took us to the most beautiful locations. Avoided the crowds by going in the "back way." Had a bottle of wine (not Robert!) at the first stop at Lipan point and enjoyed serenity and 77 degree temps. Remember that the canyon is at about 7000 feet so its cool with a breeze. Then Robert showed us all other fabulous locations up to Tovar restaurant and we had lunch at the lodge overlooking the canyon. Then we drove to Sedona and Robert gave us the opportunity to shop in some of the quaint local shops before driving up to the mountain sunset. Not a more beautiful location ever. Then back to Scottsdale by 8:30. Robert could not have been more helpful. He let us enjoy the sites privately but was always there to answer questions. This is not a cheap trip ($750 for the day) but its a once in a life time one. You can take a bus or van with a group but going leisurely with Robert was first class in every way. Thanks Robert! Kim and Ralph Thomas, Shreveport Louisiana.

Thank kimhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DetoursofArizona, Public Relations Manager at DETOURS of Arizona, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Mr. and Mrs. Thomas,
We are so glad you enjoyed your custom trip with Robert. He is a wealth of knowledge! Arizona is an incredible state and you chose to visit two of it's most reigning landmarks. We offer custom trips all over the Southwest, so if you plan on coming back this way, please let us create more memorable experiences for you! Thank you for touring with us! We appreciate it very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DETOURS of Arizona also viewed

 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to DETOURS of Arizona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing