We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab day out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Detours of Arizona

Detours of Arizona
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Deluxe Phoenix and Scottsdale Day Trip
Ranked #4 of 53 Tours in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DETOURS is the premier tour company providing professionally guided experiences of the American West. We offer day and multi-day scheduled tours that regularly depart from Phoenix, AZ and Las Vegas, NV. Any of our scheduled tours can be made private. For a more customized experience, our Platinum tours let guests build a custom itinerary to fit their desires. With guided tours to the Grand Canyon, other National Parks, and many more incredible southwestern destinations, DETOURS can take you and your group just about anywhere in the West. We promise a personalized experience to remember. The combination of our professional guides, custom tour vehicles, individualized service, and vibrant attitude creates a highly personalized and exciting touring experience for each of our guests. Our mission is to treat our guests to the best experiences in the American West!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just been on the tour to the Canyon. Would recommend this company without hesitation. Our tour guide/driver Rick was friendly, knowledgeable and courteous. A great day out

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda120462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    66
    20
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great trip to Sedona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Tour was to Sedona and also included other stops along the way (Jerome, Oak Valley, Montezuma Castle). The van only holds 10 people and there were five on our tour, making it a much more intimate experience than a typical motorcoach tour. Seats were leather captain chairs and very comfortable. Our driver was very knowledgable of the area and let us decide what we wanted to see and how long to spend at each stop. I would definetly recommend this tour and I plan on using this company for a Grand Canyon tour the next time I'm in the area!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PBK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon and Sedona One Day Tour, Must Do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a wonderful day with Les! He talked a lot but he was super informative being a former school teacher on the Indian reservations. He picked us up right on time at our hotel in Phoenix and we only had 6 people in our group, which was nice.

This is a must do if you have never been to the Grand Canyon before and only have one day available to be able to go. We came for a conference so only had one free day and boy are we glad we did it!!!

You see so much in one day, it's kind of amazing! We stopped in Sedona at Bell Rock for a picture stop and LOVED it. Also had another 30 minute stop in the Sedona shops. Then we went onto the Grand Canyon. Les was awesome and took us on 4 stops of the Grand Canyon. This tour took us to not only the popular South rim that others tours take you to but also to the East rim, which I personally liked even better! The Grand Canyon was breathtaking!!!! Then at the end we went to the Camden Trading Post and they have every souvenir you could want there.

It was a long day but it went super fast. Les gave us so many interesting facts about the Indian culture and the geography, etc. He was definitely an experienced tour guide! And we was very helpful as far as offering information in the bus and at the canyon, taking pics for us and providing water bottles. Also all the pit spots made the journey not seem so long and he took rest stops for us to use the restroom. This tour also included a yummy sandwich lunch, which was nice.

I would recommend this tour to anyone!!!! And it seemed like we did a ton for the price, 13 hour tour for under $155. This tour was a great introduction to the Canyon and I can't wait to come back and stay longer!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank britravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Day trips with Detours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I used Detours for two trips from the Phoenix area.

First to the grand canyon with Nemo as a brilliant guide/driver. What a trip! DO TAKE THE HELICOPTER OPTION you will not regret the cost. The included lunch was a proper doorstep of a sandwich, delicious. Plenty of water supplied and even some sweets. A long but absolutely fantastic day.

Second was a trip to Tombstone and the San Xavier mission. A lot of the cowboy tales from my childhood realised in one day. Montana ( what an apt name) was our guide/driver knowledgable and great fun. Don't miss the gents loo in fat nose kath's.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sldav15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I took the Grand Canyon day trip with Charlie and really enjoyed ourselves. Excellent commentary. Lunch will serve well for dinner too - huge sandwiches. Trip from the Canyon thru the Navajo reservation was surprisingly (to me) very scenic.

Comments have been made regarding unsafe driving. i found Charlie to drive the speed limit. And while there are some curvey roads, you need to remember that the drive is experienced in driving the van and experienced in driving the roads. Your safety won't be compromised

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiarmuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Detours of Arizona also viewed

 

Been to Detours of Arizona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing