We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Peoria Sports Complex
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Peoria Sports Complex was the first Major League Baseball spring training and player development facility in the country shared by two teams. Built in 1994, the San Diego Padres and Seattle Mariners utilize the facility year round. The complex has a main stadium and twelve practice fields. In addition to baseball tournaments, the facility hosts community events, concerts, art and trade shows, weddings and group events. The surrounding area includes numerous hotels, restaurants, shopping and entertainment.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

i grew up spending almost every spring here. The spring training games are super fun and I even had a walk for cancer event here when i was in highschool. I will say It wouldn't hurt putting a little money in some upgrades though.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    77
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best food in Cactus League”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

There is a wide variety of food vendors beyond centerfield, and behind third base, making this a Cactus League favourite. Every seat affords a good view of the action.

Helpful?
1 Thank frankieg73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Happenin' Park”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I'm not much of a Baseball fan. More of an ex-Cricket player/fan, though I've been to this complex for other events over the years. It's located in Glendale's/Peoria's north Arrowhead Mall and restaurant district with plenty to see and do. Fourth of July fireworks and more events are regularly hosted here and are very popular with the residents of both these cities too.
The Complex has a main Baseball park and a dozen other fields. It's the home of the Cactus league's MLB San Diego Padres and Seattle Mariners spring training Camp. They also have a variety of other events staged here like concerts with Van's Warped tour for example, Peoria Police's bike safety day with guard/police dog squads putting on a small show on the side with officers riding their big BMW (Bimmer) motorbikes on a slalom course etc.
The annual Volkstock festival was spawned there with VW themed and sponsored concerts that bring back 'Woodstock' fever/nostalgia and so on. Lotsa Hippy generation flower children from the sixties w/o the pot and booze or the rainy, muddy scene with nudists running around. Bring your dog for sure and have a blast. Everyone should connect with Woodstock and it's artists/music era. I believe it's etched in our history and part of American culture/genre.
Other than that a host of other events are on their calendar year round. A very large complex that sprawls many city blocks surrounded by numerous bars and restaurants, bistros, bowling alleys, shopping malls, movieplexes and the like.
Recommend it for all as a place to visit in Peoria, a vibrant, growing city in metro Phoenix's vast urban sprawl. Best time to visit is any time other than the sweltering summer, although some do.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank arun s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Peoria Sports Complex”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been going to the Peoria Sports Complex for about 13 yrs. It's an awesome place to watch the players warm up and get autographs! Players are much more friendly during Spring Training. It's so up close and a more personal experience being so close and interacting with the players. More teams are in the valley now, so get to see many more players than in the past. The parking is great. Many choices for food and drink and at a reasonable price, plus you can bring in your own food and snacks. I've met many friendly people from other states and share my photos with them and see the same people come to the Complex every Spring. I never liked baseball before going to games here, but really love it and can't wait for next years training. I highly recommend the Peoria Sports Complex for a great baseball experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“small sports arena, good location”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

place for sports fans, have clean bathrooms, several restaurants in walking distance, no shade.
Have good lightning for night events, spacious parking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLuciaaqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peoria Sports Complex also viewed

 
Peoria, Central Arizona
 

Been to Peoria Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing