We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mama Mia”

Cucina Tagliani Italian Kitchen - Peoria
Ranked #16 of 277 Restaurants in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Glendale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mama Mia”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Went one hour before close and restaurant was almost empty. Waitress came by to take our drink order and whisked away before we could place the rest of the order - it was getting late and we already knew what we wanted. When she came back I mentioned the fried zucchini appetizer which she again ran off to fill, without asking my guest what she wanted. Some man came back with the zucchini and left. Much later she came back to take the rest of the order, but by then my guest gave up on the soup idea and just munched on the zucchini and bread, of which they could have at least offered to refill (the bread basket). Zucchini was hot and delicious, comes with both a marinara sauce and ranch which is a nice variety. Bread was tasty too, maybe a tad on the oily side with the amount of butter (or margarine) on it, especially since you are dipping it in more oil and vinegar. I really like that there is oregano on the table because I use a lot. Split an order of Chicken Marsala (the large size w/2 chicken breasts) between two of us and ended up taking half home for later. Quality of food is always good here, just a little weird on the service tonight. Beautiful atmosphere, very romantic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flynn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    51
    37
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“sauces have down graded”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

decent place that lowered it's standards over the past year. too bad they got frugal. Decent waiters and staff.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“quality”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once our favorite italian, visited 2 times a week. Haven't been in for 6 months. No main reason, go to elephant bar and BJ's now. Tags changed their great sauces to lesser and it changed the taste. Nice restaurant, male waiter are very good, just lost the taste.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Skip This Restaurant”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had read reviews of this restaurant - some people liked it, some did not. We did not and here's why: the tiny caprese salad had three tomato slices and two slices of mozzarella, the spinach cannelloni arrived luke warm and the noodles appeared to be stuffed with baby food (green mush), the calzone was "doughy," i.e., undercooked and the service was lacking (we had to ask for salad plates, empty glasses, etc) to be removed from the table. Our server disappeared towards the end of the meal. So, take your appetite and your business elsewhere!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarakay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Italian alternative - but not up to par”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We wanted to try a new Italian experienice - the meal did start with delicious garlic bread immediately presented - so we were hopeful but disappointed in the meal. Caesar salad was adequate but not a real Caesar. Partner had Sausage Lasagna but the Marinara sauce was overly sweet and spoiled the flavor of the dish. My Ziti dish had the same problem. It was as if the sauce was sweetened unnecessarily. The tomatoes would have been delicious without the addition of so much sweetener. The calamari appetizer was adequate - but heavily coated. All in all we probably will not return as there was even an overcharge mistake on our bill which we had to bring to their attention.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sowestsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina Tagliani Italian Kitchen - Peoria also viewed

Peoria, Central Arizona
 
Peoria, Central Arizona
Glendale, Central Arizona
 
Peoria, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cucina Tagliani Italian Kitchen - Peoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing