We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second anniversary getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pearce
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat
Ranked #2 of 2 Pearce B&B and Inns
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second anniversary getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Nancy was very accommodating when we had to change our reservations. From the instructions as how to get to this remote, beautiful place, to the greeting when we arrived, everything was great. We had the Agave Suite, with patios front and back and lovely views. I especially enjoyed all the birds and the resident deer that came morning and evening to drink from the trough right outside our room. Not having been in this area before, I wanted to see Kartchner Caverns and Tombstone, Az.. This was nice, but took time away from our retreat. Next time we will spend all our time there and enjoy the trails and scenery. We were anxious to try Nancy's fresh, natural ingredient breakfast, and were not disappointed. What a wonderful, relaxing time we both enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was a great choice if you're pretty old, but still active; lots of direct access to hiking trails into Coronado National Forest. We booked a 'casita' with a full kitchen. Everything we needed for food preparation was right there. The property was probably an old homestead farm that was spared-out as an 'inholding' when the surrounding area was declared a National Forest. The owner-innkeepers and the folks who work on the property are helpful and friendly. We plan to return.
Tom & Ann, Santa Barbara, CA

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the main house. If you cook your own food, book one of the casitas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank atcarlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stunning landscape, a warm welcome, comfortable surroundings and magnificent food -- this is what a vacation should be. We stayed in both suites, and each one was delightful in its own way. We also loved the "green" aspects -- from passive solar heating and cooling in the casita to the solar-heated hot tub. The peace of this place pours over you, restoring and energizing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pat574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I'm just back from a wonderful 2 night stay at the Cochise Strongold B&B, and I only wish I could have stayed longer. The hotel is in an incredibly beautiful canyon, with exquisite views of the Dragoon mountains on all sides. We stayed in the Agave Suite, which is comfortable, spacious and nicely decorated. Porches at front and rear provide perfect shaded spots for reading and watching the amazing array of wild birds and deer. There's a great hot tub from where you can watch the stars, and the whole place was perfectly serene for the whole stay.

No review of Cochise Stronghold B&B would be complete without mentioning the wonderful hosts John and Nancy, and in particular Nancy's really superb breakfasts. The menu is full of fresh, local ingredients crafted into delicious and plentiful platters. The chili relleno souffle and cornbread were particularly good, and just be sure to try the orange juice. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomElRumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were going to use this as a "base of operations" to go visit Chiricahua Nat'l Monument and other places, but decided to just hang out here for two days instead. Good hiking trails. Great accommodations, and they'll fix you food if you haven't planned ahead for that.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JimBob42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
209 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed in the yurt. It sleeps 10, has a tempapedic bed and others are comfortable. The yurt has electricity, sink with running water, dishes, microwave, CD player, plenty of tables, chairs. The outhouse toilets are a short path and no trouble, and an indoor toilet and shower for use at the "food shack" where meals and snacks can be prepared. I loved this arrangement. The breakfasts were so good and filling. There were food options given. On the grounds are an outdoor solar shower and a hot tub. Both were lovely under the night stars. Enjoyed seeing deer, hummingbirds, blue jays. The view of Cochise Stronghold and Rockafellow Dome is awesome. There are nice hike trails from the campground close by.
The only thing was it did get warm in the yurt in late April, but I didn't ask for a fan. I opened up the top vent in yurt and sat much outside on front deck.
Nancy and John have a lovely place and are gracious to share it. Her and Lyda greeted me and gave just the right amount of attention.
I'm sure the cottages are nice also. Part of me didn't want to leave, but I moved on to more adventure.

Room Tip: For a large group, the yurt would be a nice option...as well as for one or two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is what a great B&B is supposed to be.

The Cochise Stronghold B&B is the perfect balance of exotic and mysterious – comfortable and friendly – and uniquely American Southwest. The silence and clarity reminded us of the Sahara Desert, but our surroundings and accommodations at the Cochise were much superior. We stayed in both the Agave and Casita Manzanita suites. Both were a superb value.

A minimum two-day stay is required. To stay less is to miss the experience. We stayed three. Nancy and Lyda and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. They take a sincere yet modest pride in their quality operation.

The breakfasts are prepared to order from scratch. Try the Chile Rellenos Soufflé and the special Cornbread baked in black iron skillets. We dined on our patio where there is only one rule – you must share the area with colorful songbirds and a roving family of mule deer.

If you like photography, you will love this area. The photo-ops are infinite. Our six-hour hike into the mountains of the Cochise Stronghold was a lifetime memory. And our visit to the nearby (50 miles) Chiricuhua National Monument was a real Southwest treat. Look for the profile of Cochise in the mountains.

If you like some adventure and history coupled with superbly relaxing experience, you must stay here. We arrived unknowing – we left refreshed and energized.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lapolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pearce
23.6 mi away
Arizona Sunset Inn
Arizona Sunset Inn
#1 of 8 in Willcox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
32.2 mi away
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort
15.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
15.5 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
24.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Willcox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat

Property: Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat
Address: 2126 W Windancer Trail, Pearce, AZ 85625
Location: United States > Arizona > Pearce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pearce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: Cochise Stronghold, A Canyon Nature Retreat, is located within the spectacular, historic, mountain canyon. Cochise Stronghold Canyon surrounded by 64,000 acres of evergreen Coronado National Forest. It is 80 miles SE of Tucson, Arizona, in the mailing district of Pearce. Regional attractions include the Canyon itself; Amerind Museum & Art Gallery; Kartchner Caverns and Chiricahua National Monument.Cochise Stronghold Retreat has an outdoor spa under the star, perfect for stargazing the clear, dark night skies. Wonderful walks and hikes out the door. Nature enthusiasts enjoy abundant wildlife and birds. Guests enjoy complimentary, gourmet breakfasts created by the nutritionist owner. For an additional fee supper dining is available. Top ratings by Frommers Arizona; Lonely Planet; National Geographic Traveller; A Thousand Places to See Before You Die; The NY Times ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing