We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearce
Reviewed February 16, 2010

One of the best weekends ever! Sunglow is magic - The staff is extraordinary, the meals heavenly (we were even treated to an elegant "high tea" replete with string trio to serenade us!) and the accommodations pure luxe. Our special "salon" weekend was brilliant-not only did we all learn by sharing passions but had so much fun in the process. Such a special chemistry at Sunglow-the pristine air allowed for a clarity of focus not only on the world around us but on the lives we live.
Sign me up for next year!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MenemshaSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 208 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2009

The excellent staff at Sunglow Ranch will provide for all your needs but will still make you feel like part of the family. It's a perfect combination of luxury and simplicity. The ranch has no TV, no phone, and your cell service will be patchy. However, each room has wireless internet. Our two small children were welcome and safe on the property. There is a good sized event room for family gatherings, conferences, seminars, etc. This would be a perfect place for a reunion of college friends (I'm cooking up plans as we speak) or for a business planning retreat. A pool is currently under construction and will be ready for summer. We will definitely return to Sunglow Ranch. One more thing - your meals are all part of the package. No worrying about where to go, loading up the kids, etc. Relax, relax, relax.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBNKenyon98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

First don't bring your cell phone or lap top and take the time to enjoy whats around. When we arrived at 5PM we were greeted by deer taking a slow walk over to the pond with a gorgeous sunset happening. at 6:30 it was time for the included dinner. Who would have guessed we would be having salmon. with an hour drive you can get to various southeast Arizona landmarks - Tombstone, Chiricua Mountains, Cochise Stronghold, Coronado National forest. Plenty of hiking, wildlife and scenery around. At first glance there is definitely some sticker shock - EST. $280 for two people but when you break it down for a nights stay and two gourmet meals (breakfast and dinner (and always wine and dessert), it was really reasonable. I will definitely find a way to get back there in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdsiejak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Sunglow Ranch is managed by Susan Numm with a small very friendly staff that are deicated to making your stay pleasant and comfortable. No TV or Telephones provided in the Casitas. There is a large Community Building for gatherings or watching TV. The dining area is a beautiful building with a flair of the old west with wrap-around pourch.
The food is outstanding. I have traveled and lived in many parts of the world and never experienced taste any better than you will find at Sunglow Ranch. They are truly gourmet
Chefs. Susan, Coleen and Pamela get the credit for providing meals you will never forget.

There are hiking trails and plenty of wild life on this 400 acre ranch. The Chiricahua National Monumet is a short drive away also with many hiking trails. The setting is breathtaking.

A return trip is definently in our future.

Sunglow Ranch is a short scenic drive from 1-10. Take the Willcox turn off

R. Hudson, Oro Valley, AZ

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USMC1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at Sunglow to go hiking in nearby Chiricahua National Monument (a truly breathtaking jewel in the National Park system). Sunglow was the perfect place to come home to after a day of hiking in the mountains.

Sunglow is about 5 miles from the nearest main road and offers serenity, quiet and isolation. The price includes breakfast and dinner -- delicious! -- which we had on the cafe's porch every single time. My favorite part of our stay was sitting on the porch, basking in the tranquility of sunset as we awaited dinner, and watching the surrounding mountains turn gold as day turned into night.

A few deer roamed the property, and some geese hung out by a huge pond right on the property. A couple of adirondack chairs await guests underneath a shady tree right by the water. Also, a 2.5-mile nature trail goes around the property and is a sure way to relax even more and enjoy the awesome beauty of this place.

I highly recommend this property to folks who seek a serene getaway from the city. For day trips close by, a visit to the towns of Bisbee, Tombstone, and Douglas will keep one busy, as well as a full day at Chiricahua National Monument.

Please note this is not a full service hotel; there is no business center or pool or tennis courts or fitness center. They only have 9 rooms on the ranch, which promotes a very comfortable, intimate environment. There is a cafe/restaurant and small gift shop on site. Sunglow's staff provides a family-like atmosphere and are the friendliest of people. The manager's two dogs occasionally kept us company and were just the sweetest things. We had no TV or phone in our room -- just the way I like it, because it is the perfect way to relax and bond with whoever it is you traveled here with. Books are provided, and stargazing is an option. Indeed, the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

we spent an amazing few days at sunglow. upon arrival, you are greeted with the sound of only birds - all aspects of modern life drop away. there is no background noise of cars on the road, no sounds of overhead jets, not even a jet trail to speak of. sunglow seems a world away from all of life's annoyances.

once there, you see nothing but blue sky and beautiful mountains - part of a national forest. the ranch has hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding - or doing nothing. once the sun sets, the stars that you see are amazing. i have never before seen stars that stretch from one end of the horizon to the other.

i would return in a heartbeat. this is a place that is 2 hours from an international airport - but is a world away from reality. a true gem!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelerfrombos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Our trip to Cochise County, Arizona was a venture into frontier history, tracing the life of an ancestor who prospected for gold and silver in the nearby Swisshelm mountains in the 1870s. Once at Sunglow, it was easy to slip back 140 years in time, as the landscape in this ranching area near the Mexican border bears hardly a mark of 21st century life in the rest of the United States. Sunglow Ranch nestles into the high desert sandy earth, unseen from any road, quiet but for birdsong and the occasional breath of wind. With the invaluable help of the Sunglow staff, we were able to meet and talk with local residents, to hear their tales of life past and present. The stories were of early settlers pitting human ingenuity and hard work against the forces of nature in a land where every growing thing has thorns, water is more precious than gold, and a break in a fence line means loss of food and income for a whole family. The ranch offers guests the rare opportunity to experience both past and present. History is exposed in the regional landscape of ghost towns, old mines, forts, ranches and cemeteries. The present is found in nearby small towns like Elfrida, chatting with folks in the mercantile store or the Lone Star Restaurant. And the present is also found on the roadways, which are rigorously patrolled by the Border Police in cars, helicopters, vans and ATVs. Travelers who venture to Douglas, 40 miles south of Sunglow, will see the ongoing construction of an impenetrable metal wall along the length of the US-Mexican border. Talking with locals reveals varying points of view about this immigration crisis, which is largely unknown to most Americans. In sum, our week at Sunglow was not only one of immersion in a unique and hauntingly beautiful desert and mountain eco-system, but also one of the best 'out of classroom' educational experiences we have ever had.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winmar04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort

Address: 14066 S Sunglow Rd, In the Chiricahua Mountains, Pearce, AZ 85625-6169
Location: United States > Arizona > Pearce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearce
Price Range: $309 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 475 acres in the Chiricahua Mountains,a short drive south of the Chiricahua National Monument. This award-winning, hideaway guest ranch resort is surrounded by the 100,000 acre Coronado National Forest. Comfortable lodging and inspired dining. Dinner and breakfast from our menus are included in room rate. Dining guests welcome by reservation. Guest amenities include swimming pool and hot-tub, bocce and horseshoe courts, mountain bikes, private horseback trail rides and uniquely-decorated casitas with private patios and amazing mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch Hotel Pearce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing