We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in Cochise County”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearce
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is one Western resort that packs in exactly what one would expect from a secluded stay in the desert while offering touches of charm and hospitality - like what a guest at the Cartwrights would have expected had they had a chance to ride into a modern day stay on Bonanza, only with vineyards nearby instead of cattle ranches! As soon as we arrived, we were warmly greeted by Andrea who was serving as manager for the weekend and did an outstanding job at hostessing. She showed us around to the large pool and hot tub, fire pit and conversation area as well as the dining room before leading us to our accommodations - a two room unit complete with sitting room equipped with refrigerator and sampling of nuts, raisins and beverages.

A few crisp robes were hanging in the closet which came in handy for the departing the pool as the day was a good 20+ degees less than when we departed the Phoenix area - a delightful and unexpected respite from the heat. And the air was so fresh and clear - I kept taking nice deep breaths to get it all in! It was so refreshing to spend a night with windows open to the night air - great sleeping weather, a pleasure after the 5 course wine-paired dinner which was hosted by neighboring vineyard owners who manufacture the Lawrence Dunham line of whites and reds and showed us around for a tour of their property, three miles down the road the following day after an equally extensive breakfast (sans the wine pairing, but the juice selection was a fine substitute!). Returning to the ranch, we were happy to meet Andrea's charming husband Bucky who led us on an hours path through the plush greenery surrounding the acres of the ranch, telling us tales of the history of the land and his transplanted cowboy history. Freshly baked cookies and assorted hot and cold beverages awaited us upon our return where we wish we could have remained longer ensconsed in a secluded area away from modern trappings, surrounded by the beauty of Cochise county and friendliness of the Sunglow Ranch staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunglowManagement, General Manager at Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear SueRN,
We will always endeavor to live up to your wonderful accolades! I know Andrea was so touched by your kind recounting of her service and efforts during your stay. I agree that she is very talented and capable. Thank you for recognizing Andrea. (Her husband Bucky, our one-of-a-kind wrangler has been riding a little taller in the saddle now that he has been described as "charming"!)

Warm regards and grateful thanks from all of us at Sunglow Ranch,

Brooks

Brooks Bradbury
General Manager
Direct Office: 520.824.3334
brooks@sunglowranch.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 208 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you like to wake up to hummingbirds feeding outside your window and have a cup of coffee on the veranda while listening to birdsong and watching mule deer, this is your place. Excellent food, and a carafe of lemonade await you when you get back from a trip to the Chiricahua Monument. I met a nice couple staying there and we struck up a nice friendship. Brooks was a great and knowledgeable host and the staff are the best. At night you can star gaze and relax in the spa. For Old West Historians Tombstone is an hour away and Johnny Ringo's gravesite is just down the road.
I plan to go back for either Thanksgiving or Christmas. Arizona at its best!

Room Tip: All rooms are soundproof and all are quiet. I had the "hummingbird room" which was lovely...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skyros7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunglowManagement, General Manager at Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Skyros7,
You're very kind to write on our behalf, thank you! I agree there is real magic in this beautiful setting--and I'm certain ancient Mogollon and later Chiricahua Apache tribes imbued these Chiricahua Mountains with their spirits. Each time I come across hand painted pottery fragments, I am reminded this was their home and I know it was their blood, sweat and tears have all been shed here... That is, before the likes of Johnny Ringo passed by!

If the opportunity arises that you're headed back this way, please give us a call! We would be delighted to have you with us again. May a little of this Sunglow spirit stay with you always.

Warm regards and grateful thanks,

Brooks

Brooks Bradbury
General Manager
Direct Office: 520.824.3334
brooks@sunglowranch.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This ranch resort is as good as it gets. Everything was perfect and we could not have picked a better place to visit. This ranch and the staff are 5 star in our book. We will return often. We have lived in Arizona for over 30 years and have explored every county and city and I can tell you this ranch and it's location is a special place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunglowManagement, General Manager at Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guy and Pat,
We loved having you with us! Bringing pleasure to our guests is truly one of life's great joys, and we loved seeing you enjoy yourselves during your stay. Let us know when your travel plans include a return to this neck of the woods. We can't wait to see you again!

Warm regards and grateful thanks from all of us at Sunglow Ranch,

Yours sincerely,

Brooks

Brooks Bradbury
General Manager
Sunglow Ranch
Direct Office: 520.824.3334
brooks@sunglowranch.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Sunglow Ranch last year. We found it through a deal on Living Social and had a great time. We had a night, dinner and breakfast, swimming pool and bike rides. We combined it with a visit to the Keeling/Schaefer Winery which is right down the road and bought a case of Wine from Rod and Jan and visited there before checking in. What a relaxing spot. We have been looking for another deal at Sunglow for this summer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nordie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunglowManagement, General Manager at Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Nordie23,
Thank you! We are grateful for your honest feedback and look forward to your return to this uniquely beautiful corner of Arizona.

The Southwest's weather is getting hotter and our elevation at 5,340 feet generally puts our temperatures 15 degrees cooler than Phoenix and 10 degrees cooler than Tucson. We are all looking forward to the return of the gentle rains in July and August known here as the "monsoons" when all of southern Arizona turns green.

The swimming pool is at an ideal temperature now for a mid-day cooling off, perhaps following an early morning trail ride. Later on, the hot tub is always perfect for night-time star gazing!

Our neighbors, Curt Dunham and Peggy Fiandaca owners of the Lawrence Dunham Vineyards (just a few miles from the ranch) often welcome Sunglow guests for a tour and tasting as they offer plenty of their own gracious hospitality. Let us know if we can make the arrangements for you to visit any of the local vineyards and tasting rooms.

Our midweek rates are at their lowest of the year now, and will increase in September. Come back and visit now! There is something very special to being in the Chiricahuas, and we look forward to ensuring your every comfort.

Best regards,

Brooks

Brooks Bradbury
General Manager
Sunglow Ranch
Pearce, Arizona
Direct Office: 520.824.3334
brooks@sunglowranch.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Where the hospitality begins well before arrival!

Our first introduction to this idyllic retreat was a conversation with Brooks Bradbury, Sunglow's General Manager and the epitome of graciousness and professionalism. His authentic voice of welcome presaged a culture of customer service that was embodied in each and every member of the staff.

Sunglow is simply beautiful.

Magnificent grounds, spectacular vistas, happy geese, great food and amenities, birds galore, 3 mile hiking trail, etc., etc.

You can do as much or as little as you want, knowing full well that whatever you want to do will be the focus of Brooks, his charming wife Susan, and their impeccable staff.

As part of Sky Island, the variety of birds to be seen is in itself captivating.

The only problem, once you've been there, is that you just don't want to leave ~ and you know you'll need to return!

Room Tip: Rely on Brooks.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HerbPaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunglowManagement, General Manager at Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear HerbPaine,
We are so humbled and I am personally deeply touched by your kind review. We always love making new friends like you, and we are grateful for your support.

Until next time,

Warm regards from Sunglow Ranch,

Brooks

Brooks Bradbury
General Manager
Direct Office Telephone: 520.824.3334
brooks@sunglowranch.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

From the time we arrived, we were spoiled! Brooks and the entire staff were friendly and efficient. The food is excellent. We ordered a packed lunch for a day trip to the Chiricahua National Park and it was delicious too. On another day, we ventured into Pearce-Sunsites and did some shopping. They fit you with mountain bikes, offer horseback riding and of course, there are local trails. We found just sitting on the patio and sipping wine while watching the birds to be Divine. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We rented Casa Grande with all the adjoining rooms so we had the entire building to ourselves. This...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriNewlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunglowManagement, General Manager at Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear TerriNewlon,
You're so kind! We enjoyed every minute of making you feel pampered and comfortable. We realize how important those precious days off are! People certainly need places like this to disconnect from complicated lives, allowing them a time to reconnect with nature's gentler pace.

Thank you for recognizing the efforts of the entire Sunglow Ranch team! We remain dedicated to serving our guests well, and to helping each person find a perfect balance between relaxation, and pleasant diversions.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back one day!

Yours sincerely,

Brooks

Brooks Bradbury
General Manager
Sunglow Ranch
Direct Office: 520.84.3334
brooks@sunglowranch.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Sunglow is surely hospitality at its very very best. From the afternoon refreshments, staff's friendly smiles, excellent food and comfortable, clean accommodations, Sunglow lives up to (and exceeds!) its name "Jewel of the Chiricahua's". The second we stepped foot on the grounds we knew it was a special place and chose it as the spot for our small intimate wedding. I can not thank the Sunglow staff enough for making the wedding we envisioned come to life - the weekend was perfection. The guests of our wedding truly enjoyed the unique setting as well and had a blast hiking, relaxing, the bonfire, stargazing, horseshoes, bocce ball, visiting the close by Lawrence Dunham Winery and just being together.

Room Tip: Every room is special and unique - we loved the Chiricahua room for privacy and the ability to conne...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunglowManagement, General Manager at Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Sara,
We are humbled by your review, and will always strive to live up to our guests' expectations of us. Until we see you and B again, we send our warm wishes. We hope that a little Sunglow Ranch magic stays with you always. Thank YOU!

Warmly,

Brooks

Brooks Bradbury
General Manager
Direct Office Telephone: 520.824.3334
brooks@sunglowranch.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort

Address: 14066 S Sunglow Rd, In the Chiricahua Mountains, Pearce, AZ 85625-6169
Location: United States > Arizona > Pearce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearce
Price Range: $309 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 475 acres in the Chiricahua Mountains,a short drive south of the Chiricahua National Monument. This award-winning, hideaway guest ranch resort is surrounded by the 100,000 acre Coronado National Forest. Comfortable lodging and inspired dining. Dinner and breakfast from our menus are included in room rate. Dining guests welcome by reservation. Guest amenities include swimming pool and hot-tub, bocce and horseshoe courts, mountain bikes, private horseback trail rides and uniquely-decorated casitas with private patios and amazing mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch Hotel Pearce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing