We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearce
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The experience was absolutely fantastic. Rustic setting with modern amenities and good food you would fine in fine 5 star restaurants.

Staff were extremely friendly and I was totally spoilt and pampered. A most amazing location for a getaway.

Recommendation for those who want to disappear for a while and retreat!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lino V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 208 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in May and enjoyed our visit thoroughly. Managers Brooks and his spouse Susan obviously pay careful attention to every detail of Sunglow - the property seems beautifully cared for and very well managed. We received a warm welcome and tour when we arrived. Our room was immaculate and comfortable; it overlooked the mountains and we could sometimes see horses and deer grazing outside. All of our meals were excellent and the chef was kind enough to make a vegetarian special for me in the evenings, which was a genuine treat. The staff at breakfast and dinner were lovely, always attentive and helpful. Mornings we spent riding out. The horses were a pleasure, forward thinking, surefooted and gentle. Other than enjoying the gorgeous property - especially birdwatching! - we explored the absolutely beautiful Chiricahua National monument and the Coronado National Memorial. We loved our visit and look forward to returning soon. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We visited Sunglow for three nights at the end of May. It was our first experience at a true desert resort, so we had nothing to compare it with. Having said that, Brooks, his wife Susan and the entire staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Our casita was comfortable with expansive views of the mountains. The breakfasts were great and the dinners as well. The kitchen staff could not have been nicer. We went birding very early one morning, and the kitchen prepared everything we needed the night before for our breakfast.

Everytime we saw Brooks or Susan, they asked if there was anything they could do for us. This is the kind of attention one gets at a Five Star hotel.

I have to mention one person in particular; that is Mike who it appears does just about anything and everything. We were about to go off the property for the day of exploring, only to find we had a flat tire. Mike suddenly appeared, changed the tire, tried to repair it, made sure the other tires were properly inflated, and sent us on our way in no time at all.

We would definately return to Sunglow.

Peter and Debbie G.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains get a spectacular sunrise over the Chirachua Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I spent Memorial Day weekend with our dogs at the ranch at the recommendation of friends, who enthusiastically recommended it. We couldn't agree more.

We had ample opportunity to indulge our love for hiking - there was a well-marked 3 1/2 mile trail on the property, and we were a 30 minute drive from Chiricahua National Monument, which offered spectacular views and great, longer hikes.

There were also plenty of thoughtful, well-designed spaces on the property to relax, have a picnic, read a book, etc. The rooms themselves were well thought out and designed, especially given the two small dogs we had with us, who happily made themselves at home. Our only quibble might be cottages more spread out with more privacy, but getting to know our fellow guests was a pleasure.

The food, considering the remote location (the ranch is situated well SE of I-10, and down a 4 1/2 mile unpaved road), was notable. The portions were generous, and the variety was plenty for us for a 4 day weekend.

When we expressed an interest in wine, the general manager, Brooks, set up a wine tasting and tour at a good winery nearby (Lawrence Dunham), and we were able to meet the winemakers, which is always a treat.

Which brings me to the service in general. From the moment we arrived, Brooks and each and every member of his staff were gracious, friendly, and helpful. We've stayed in much fancier locations with that fell short due to the quality of the service, but in the case of Sunglow Ranch, the staff only heightened the experience - simpler can be better!

We would happily recommend Sunglow Ranch to anyone looking to spend time in the Tombstone / Bisbee / Chiricahua area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boskk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We were able to celebrate our parents 60th wedding anniversary with family at the Sunglow Ranch. What an amazing time we had and enjoyed each and every day. Great setting for a lovely resort that provides exceptional service and amenities. Everyone in our party had a wonderful experience at Sunglow. Sunglow staff equally amazing in service to their guests - they go over and beyond to make sure you are taken care of! I am looking forward to celebrating my parents 61st wedding anniversary at Sunglow Ranch!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmaccollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunglowManagement, General Manager at Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Dear MacCollum family,
Thank you for celebrating with us! It was a joy to welcome you all to Sunglow Ranch and for all of us to have the pleasure of your company. You are an inspiration, reminding us all to celebrate together as a family. We look forward to having you with us again one day soon!

Warm regards,

Brooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Sunglow and celebrated its remoteness, beauty and friendliness. Our hosts Susan and Brooks were absolutely the best, and the setting -- standing three feet from a half-dozen feeding hummingbirds in the morning and then being served a terrific breakfast on the porch, hiking in the Chiricahuas all day, basking in the hot dry breezes by the pool and looking up at the mountains at sunset -- well, you can't duplicate this anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were planning a trip to the Chiricahua Mountains with friends when we saw an article in Sunset Magazine about Sunglow Ranch. At first we were a little concerned about the price, but after staying at the ranch decided it was worth every penny. The price includes breakfast, dinner and many other amenities at no extra charge. Wanting a massage or horseback riding there is an additional cost.
Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by Brooks, the General Manager. Brooks, his wife Susan and the staff couldn’t have been more accommodating. We felt instantly at home and not wanting for anything.
We stayed in the Acorn Casita which looked across a field rising into the mountains. Our view was slightly blocked by an old oak tree, only adding to the privacy and charm of our casita. We could sit and watch horses in the pasture, deer, geese and a heron, adding to the ambience we sought.
Our bathroom was clean, and included L'Occitane toiletries and soft towels. There was a microwave, mini-fridge, plenty of water and other treats. We were lucky to have adjoining rooms with our friends, adding to our convenience for getting together on our respective patios.

This is a very luxurious ranch and if you stay you won’t want to leave! We are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side face the pasture and mountains and are cooler in the late afternoon for enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort

Address: 14066 S Sunglow Rd, In the Chiricahua Mountains, Pearce, AZ 85625-6169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Pearce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearce
Price Range: $309 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 475 acres in the Chiricahua Mountains,a short drive south of the Chiricahua National Monument. This award-winning, hideaway guest ranch resort is surrounded by the 100,000 acre Coronado National Forest. Comfortable lodging and inspired dining. Dinner and breakfast from our menus are included in room rate. Dining guests welcome by reservation. Guest amenities include swimming pool and hot-tub, bocce and horseshoe courts, mountain bikes, private horseback trail rides and uniquely-decorated casitas with private patios and amazing mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch Hotel Pearce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing