We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hualapai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hualapai Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Peach Springs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

No problem with trains if you get a room away from the tracks. Good price with pet rooms. Nice breakfast. Close location to scenic AZ attractions like Grand Canyon Caverns, Colorado River, Keepers of the Wild, Seligman.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pamht1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy E, General Manager at Hualapai Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks so much for the review! We appreciate the feedback.

Best Regards,
Nancy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    168
    90
    45
    27
See reviews for
137
147
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Recently stayed here for a meeting and found it to be clean but marginal. The staff seemed to care less except for the tour guides who were bringing in large groups from the Grand Canyon tours. The restaurant had a limited burgers and fries menu except for two things, Indian Fry Bread which was great and their green pork chili. And the beef stew was ok, could have used some spice and flavor. There is no alcohol on site and the internet is censored which surprised me - couldn't connect with my craps blog site.I left is a hurray to avoid an incoming storm and left two pairs or pants in the closet - which I typically don't use and they charged me the cost of shipping - which I intended to pay but then they also charged a twenty dollar service charge which I didn't expect. Nice clean pool area but I didn't get a chance to use. Also had an Indian couple that entertained in the lodge lobby who were amazing. Shelley and Fabian Morningsong. Her voice and flute playing were fantastic. Overall not a bad experience but not a necessary stop unless you are hiking in the area or need a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Definitely! Definitely! - get a room that does not face the railroad tracks as train have to honk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy E, General Manager at Hualapai Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your concerns during your stay. I am sorry that our staff did not show concern for you. We strive to make everyone feel welcome and am sorry that was not the case during your stay. I would like to offer you a refund on the service charge for the shipping of your forgotten items as my staff did not explain this charge. Please contact me at 928 769 2230 ext. 308 and I will be happy to assist you with the refund.

Best Regards,
Nancy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to go white water rafting and were pleasantly surprised with the clean rooms, nice pool, wifi and great restaurant. However, offering ear plugs to combat the noise from the huge train that toots it's horn every 15 minutes throughout the night just isn't enough. We literally did not sleep the entire first night. Get triple glazing!!! We saw one woman the next morning who was nearly crying about 'the damn train'!! They were really accommodating and moved us to the roadside the next night thank goodness (trust me, request the road side!!) but really it's a bit off putting anyone in those rooms to 'sleep' in the first place. Restaurant food amazing, leave room for the foster banana bread believe me!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy E, General Manager at Hualapai Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for your honest review, we are glad that we were able to move you to a roadside room and you had a better experience on the 2nd night. We do recommend roadside rooms if you are sensitive to train noise. Thanks again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had. The rooms were filthy-- I found several large bugs in the bathroom.

The beds had stains all over them. And the rooms smelled horrible.

The staff was not accommodating at all. I will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaForever24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy E, General Manager at Hualapai Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello,

I am very sorry about your experience! We pride ourselves on cleanliness of our rooms and am so sorry that you had issues with your room. In following up with my staff today we had no report of this sort and please know that we take these reports very seriously. I hope that you will give me a call at your earliest convenience to discuss this incident.

Best Regards,
Nancy E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peach Springs hotels

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were keen to go rafting in the Grand Canyon but only wanted a day trip. The trip from the Hualapai Lodge at Peach Springs was the perfect thing! We stayed two nights at the Lodge which was clean, modern and had good facilities. All the staff were great and the guides/drivers who organised the day excursion were excellent - we had a fabulous day and it was a brilliant experience. If you don't want to spend a week camping and rafting down the river this is the day trip for you! Thank you Hualapai!

Room Tip: There is a railway line that runs behind the Lodge but as we always ear plugs when we are away it di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgranny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy E, General Manager at Hualapai Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
So glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience! The white water rafting is an awesome experience and we are glad that you enjoyed our products!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked a room at the lodge with the purpose of having a quiet night in the midst of a busy vacation trip. We knew that there was nothing to do at night in this area. The nearest town is 30 miles away. It was quiet and peaceful and relaxing. They have Grand Canyon trips during the day but at night there is nothing to do. They don't even serve alcohol. We probably won't go back but it wasn't unpleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy E, General Manager at Hualapai Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the stay. I am sorry that we did not have entertainment in our lobby the night of your stay. We have performers on most evenings in our main lobby to share Native American culture. We are a dry reservation so alcohol is not permitted in our restaurant or public areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, clean, and where the only 1-day white water rafting trip leaves from which makes it ideal.

There is an internet-famous, grouchy old native woman on the front desk who's job seems to be to discourage visitors from enjoying themselves or ever coming back. BUT, all the other employees are very pleasant and some are even extraordinarily helpful. Like a non-native woman at the front desk who got the maintenance people to help unlock my keys from inside my car! PRICELESS!

Tip - don't purchase water for the rafting trip. They bring plenty, but the grouch at the front desk is happy to sell it to you pretending she doesn't know that it's not necessary.

And, the white water rafting trip was beyond my extremely high expectations! My only advice is DO IT!

Room Tip: There's a train that runs behind the hotel, although we were so tired I didn't hear it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaTravels727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peach Springs
40.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingman
10.9 mi away
Grand Canyon Caverns Inn
Grand Canyon Caverns Inn
#1 of 1 in Peach Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
37.0 mi away
Hualapai Ranch
Hualapai Ranch
#1 of 3 in Peach Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hualapai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualapai Lodge

Property: Hualapai Lodge
Address: 900 Route 66, Peach Springs, AZ 86434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Hualapai Reservation > Peach Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Peach Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hualapai Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hualapai Lodge is a center of activity for Hualapai Tourism visitors. Hualapai Lodge in Peach Springs is situated on Historic Route 66, the longest stretch of highway left of the “Mother Road” of the 30’s and 40’s, and is the primary road through the Hualapai Nation. The lodge retains the flavor of the period when Route 66 was a main passage from East to West. Hualapai culture envelopes visitors as they pass through the doors of the Hualapai Lodge, featuring native Hualapai artwork on display, the specially crafted river-rock fireplace, and a nest of comfortable seating arrangements. The warm, inviting atmosphere encourages visitors to begin and end their days by sharing their personal adventures. The full service Diamond Creek Restaurant compliments the family friendly atmosphere with breakfast, lunch, and dinner service.Hualapai Lodge is the place where visitors launch many of their Grand Canyon West adventures. Whitewater rafting and boat tours originate daily from the Hualapai Lodge. Visitors can enjoy Native American arts and crafts, hiking, fishing, hunting and more from this location. The Hualapai Lodge is the starting point of a breathtaking drive on the only available road leading to the bottom of the canyon, just 19 miles from the Grand Canyon Hualapai Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hualapai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualapai Hotel Peach Springs
Hualapai Peach Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing