We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lodge and Jeep Tour Review...long one..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hualapai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hualapai Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Peach Springs
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lodge and Jeep Tour Review...long one..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our family of 4 made reservations at this lodge because of the (jeep tour+room) rate was cheaper than staying on the Rim of Grand Canyon and bussing the Route 66 over to Peach Springs for the Jeep Tour. We were promised a road side room, only to have that taken away from us because others in a larger party showed up first and were given our rooms. We've read the reviews about the train noise. Impressive train traffic- nearly every 15-30 minutes, but with our iPad sleep noisemaker, it wasn't too bad. They shouldn't toot their horn overnight- but they do.

My notes: heater works good and has a fast heat up; great LGTV allowing for input from our iPhone so we could watch our own movies; TV had decent reception and programming; Beds were comfortable, pillows as well; shower was decent but toilet flush was less than enthusiastic- don't fear, a plunger is nearby; Coffee maker was a "one cup" version and only had columbian- no variety; No bathroom vent so no smell relief, and no humidity relief; kleenex and towels felt like sandpaper but the provided Desert Breeze shampoo and conditioner kept my long hair tangle free! The lotion smelled great and felt good on my skin; pool was dirty with a layer of sand on the bottom that hadn't been cleaned in a few days; dry reservation so we had no way to open our wine that we brought (since we forgot the wine opener-oofta!)

We visited the restaurant and our waitress happened to have a wine opener in her truck that she lent us for the evening. We were ecstatic!! The food was average, but we did find some vegan options.

The front desk staff had no clue about the Jeep Tour, even though they advertised it. We got conflicting info on start times, if we had a boxed lunch like the ad said, or if we were supposed to eat in the restaurant before we left. Turns out we got a boxed lunch, yet, we had to return it twice to correct the lunch since we ordered Vegan and got meat and cheese, and then cheese on the second run.

The jeep tour was fun and entertaining as we drove to the bottom of the canyon (18 miles) and waded in the frigid Colorado River. We ate our lunch there, mingled and drove back out. The town itself is horrid with broken down houses, gates and broken windows. They have a high incidence of diabetes and cardiovascular problems. There is one general store and no gas stations. Very small and depressing area, and without the Grand Canyon nearby, I'm not sure if they would still exist.

Overall- if you stay in Peach Springs- this is the hotel to stay at. I do recommend the Jeep Tour as it was fun, but for the 4 of us, it was $700 total. We did get $100 gift certificates to use in the Gift shop toward merchandise, or as admission for the Skywalk (which costs $30 to walk on, plus money for parking and money for getting onto the land- I hear).

Room Tip: If you get "train-side" then be sure to have your iPad or iPhone sleep noisemaker on. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorPonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    166
    89
    43
    27
See reviews for
130
145
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara on the Lake
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night before we headed to the Hulalapai Hilltop to hike down to Supai. It's a very nice hotel/lodge. it is fairly new, very clean & nice rooms. We fouind the staff to be friendly and helpful - usually if you treat people nicely they will respond in kind. The gift shop was great - they have most everything that you might have forgotten to bring as well as reasonably priced souveniers. We had supper in the restaurant - we found the food to be very good and again reasonably priced. The fry bread is yummy!! The continental breakfast that is included in the room rate is very good & certainly way above standard fare (in my experience anyways) There were breakfast sandwiches (egg/bacon/cheese/biscuit), hot oatmeal with raisins & brown sugar close by, yogurts, cereal, fresh fruit, breads, pastries, juices. For $5 more you could upgrade to the hot breakfast buffet. Because of the breakfast sandwiches & hot oatmeal we didn't need to upgrade to the breakfast buffet but it looked very good with a variety of hot breakfast foods.
It seems to me that a lot of the low ratings here are based on the fact that there is nothing to do in the town, the town has no gas station, and the restaurant doesn't serve alcohol. All of these things are out of the control of the hotel. It is a dry town and the hotel certainly can't control whether or not there is a gas station in town. If you look only at the hotel itself it is a good place to stay.

The only negative, which is certainly mentioned by a lot of the reviews, is that it is very close to the train tracks and they do seem to go by very regularly. I heard them about 3 times in the night but I didn't take advantage of the free earplugs that are given out at the desk. Other people in our group (of 12) didn't hear the trains so it probably does depend what side of the hotel you are on. Also, in other reviews people have called this a motel. It is not a motel. I think a motel is when every room has a door to the outside & you park in front of your door. This is a hotel where the rooms all open into a hallway that goes down to the common lobby. All in all I thought it was a good stopover on our way to our hiking trip & I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the street side rather than the train track side - that would be a good ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brockamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel was conveniently located in a place where we could meet up with the jeep tour that we wanted to take. It even had a package deal that included the rooms and breakfast along with the tour for what it would have cost us for the tour alone, resulting in a great value for decent accommodations. Based on other posts, we called ahead of time and made arrangements specifying that we wanted two adjoining rooms on the ROADSIDE of the hotel to distance ourselves from the train tracks and were told that it would not be a problem. When we arrived, they had nothing but TRAIN-side rooms available. When I complained to the clerk that this was not the arrangements that we were promised, she only indicated that nobody could have promised that because they just don't do that. There was nothing she could do because all the roadside rooms were full. Other than that, the rooms are acceptable in terms of cleanliness, furnishings and accommodations. As with most hotels, more electrical outlets would have been nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peach Springs hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed here with my family as part of a trip around Arizona and the SW. We did the rafting trip, which was absolutely great. The lodge, though, was a bit disappointing.
The room was decent, and a good size. But the staff were uninterested, the restaurant uninviting and the food pretty average. Also they don't serve alcohol. If you are doing the rafting trip, the advantages of staying at the Lodge are overwhelming. Otherwise there are probably better places to choose.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kakistoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yellowstone,MT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

January 31 2012 we DROVE to the bottom of the Grand Canyon. This 18 miles of dirt road are worth all...the beauty of the drive and then at the end is that you stand by the Colorado River!! It feels like you are going back in time. WOW

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

There are 2 things to do out there, which the title says it all. Other than that, there are really no other hotels to stay in...that's why this is rated #1. Service was "spotty". They initially messed up my reservations, but the woman checking me in was very nice and took care of it. All other staff members I encountered were not as friendly. Room were nice, but a bit pricey. I would not stay here because of the rafting trip. I've been on a ton of rafting trips which were all excellent, but this one was not and,on top of it, it was the most expensive, overpriced rafting trip I have ever been on. Helicopter ride is NOT guaranteed and they will NOT refund you for it...not even partially. The weather determines if the helicopters will run. If you are there in summer, helicopters will not run because of heat. They tell you this the morning of your trip when you have already paid/reserved and ready to go. And once you reserve, it's too late, there are no refunds. I would never go back here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cytojj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 night on our way to the Grand Canyon. The motel and rooms were well maintained and clean. The food in the restaurant was about average. I had a burger that seemed to be a frozen patty but the toppings were all fresh. The continental breakfast was typical fare.
About half the staff were indifferent to us and the other half were very nice. There are numerous reviews on the staff if you look. After we checked in, mid-afternoon, we began asking about things to do or activities in Peach Springs. We were told that "there's nothing to do here" by 2 employees. One employee even told us that their web site is deceiving and they get "told that a lot". haha
We didn't expect to reach Peach Springs so early and wanted something to do besides sit in a room. There isn't anything here I guess besides the river rafting and that was closed for the season. Beyond that, there is a rough (very rough) canyon road that is a fairly nice drive if you go slow. It's about 18 miles long and in a car will take 1- 1 1/2 hours at a slow speed, one way. A few pickups sped past us but in a front wheel drive car I wouldn't recommend anything over 15 mph or so.
There are a lot of complaints about the train noise but we didn't hear it. We had a room on the highway side of the building and slept with the fan/heater on. The train tracks are literally right behind the building, as one reviewer put it "a stones throw away." If you stay here, get a room on the highway side of the building!!! You get a motel room for sleep and rest, if you can't sleep and rest, what good is it??
We read 2-3 reports of cars being vandalized overnight and that worried us but it was so cold out that I guess the little hoodlums stayed inside after dark.
If you need a place to sleep, this is a clean, basic motel that will suit your needs if you stay on the highway side of the building away from the trains. If you have the time and you're looking for something, anything at all to do, I would recommend driving on down the road a little ways.
I would give Hualapai Lodge (motel) a little better rating if some employees weren't so indifferent toward their clientele, I didn't have to worry about vehicle vandalism and if, according to their own words, the web site wasn't deceiving.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the highway side or endure train noise every 15 minutes all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peach Springs hotels
10.9 mi away
Grand Canyon Caverns Inn
Grand Canyon Caverns Inn
#1 of 1 in Peach Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
37.0 mi away
Hualapai Ranch
Hualapai Ranch
#1 of 3 in Peach Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hualapai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualapai Lodge

Property: Hualapai Lodge
Address: 900 Route 66, Peach Springs, AZ 86434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Hualapai Reservation > Peach Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Peach Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hualapai Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hualapai Lodge is a center of activity for Hualapai Tourism visitors. Hualapai Lodge in Peach Springs is situated on Historic Route 66, the longest stretch of highway left of the “Mother Road” of the 30’s and 40’s, and is the primary road through the Hualapai Nation. The lodge retains the flavor of the period when Route 66 was a main passage from East to West. Hualapai culture envelopes visitors as they pass through the doors of the Hualapai Lodge, featuring native Hualapai artwork on display, the specially crafted river-rock fireplace, and a nest of comfortable seating arrangements. The warm, inviting atmosphere encourages visitors to begin and end their days by sharing their personal adventures. The full service Diamond Creek Restaurant compliments the family friendly atmosphere with breakfast, lunch, and dinner service.Hualapai Lodge is the place where visitors launch many of their Grand Canyon West adventures. Whitewater rafting and boat tours originate daily from the Hualapai Lodge. Visitors can enjoy Native American arts and crafts, hiking, fishing, hunting and more from this location. The Hualapai Lodge is the starting point of a breathtaking drive on the only available road leading to the bottom of the canyon, just 19 miles from the Grand Canyon Hualapai Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hualapai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualapai Hotel Peach Springs
Hualapai Peach Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing