We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cavern Tour”

Grand Canyon Caverns Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Cavern Tour”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

On our way from Las Vegas to the Grand Canyon we decided to take the Route 66 historic loop and it was great. It was nice to get off the interstate and enjoy some wonderful desert views. We stopped at the Caverns on a whim and it was worth it. The tour lasts an hour and you see many interesting sites from a giant Ground Sloth to a mummified bobcat to old civil defense gear. The tour guide was funny and knew a lot. We had our 3 children with us and they liked the tour too. Nice break on the way to the Grand Canyon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris101264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    36
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great underground attraction (bring a sweater!)”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Like another reviewer, we visited the caverns after seeing them on Billy Connelly's Route 66 show. The caverns have a lot of history and interesting stories attached to them. The tours happened every half an hour so factor that in when you are planning your day. Our tour guide was a young guy and his jokes weren't very funny but he tried hard to engage everyone, especially as a number of people didn't seem to speak English. The idea of staying overnight in the cavern didn't appeal to me but there is apparently a long wait to even get a reservation so keep that in mind if you want to stay there. This is not an attraction if you can't walk far or have trouble with steps. Also - bring a sweater as it's very cool down there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Interesting place to stop off for an hour or so on Route 66”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had heard about this attraction from the Billy Connelly Route 66 programme. Less than $20 to get in and we got a discount for being AA members. The tour lasts about 50-60 minutes and consists of a descent in a lift then a 3/4 mile guided walk through the caverns. There is actually overnight accommodation set up in the largest cave and you can stay overnight there (for a price and if you're brave enough!). Our guide, Kyle, was informative and witty. The history of the cavern is fascinating. On site there is a gift shop and a cafe where we had a really tasty chocolate brownie. Worth a look.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jod65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon Caverns”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Grand Canyon Caverns are well worth a visit if you are in the area. Even my teenage boys were impressed. Our tour guide Paul was very good. We were disappointed that we didn't have time to stay for the Ghost tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun family tour of Caverns”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went as a family to tour the Grand Canyon Caverns. The caverns were very impressive including the room that was available to stay in that was located in the middle of the cave. Our tour guide was a teenage boy and it was difficult to understand what he was saying but it was still enjoyable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngelinaL992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon Caverns Tours also viewed

Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
 
Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
 

Been to Grand Canyon Caverns Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing