We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What this must have been”

Grand Canyon Caverns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These caverns began forming 300 million years ago and contain mummified remains of animals that died in them.
Clifton Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“What this must have been”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is off the beaten path, but used to be on the original Route 66. As with so many attractions that got passed by - this has really suffered. The actual cavern is the largest "dry cave" in the U.S. It has a very interesting history, both in the history of the cave and the history of the attraction. Our guide, Paul, did a great job of telling us about the discovery, development, and promotion of this place. It was at one time the 2nd largest attraction in the state of Arizona. Now it is largely passed by because there is no car traffic. Hence, the road in (1 mile) is in large disrepair, there in nothing else to do, and nothing new has been done to the physical place. It is run down. However, if you can overlook the trappings, the tour is unique and informative. But, if you are doing the original Route 66 - this is why you are doing it...... 1960's America...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    116
    44
    14
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“cool place to stop on way to GC”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

cool place to stop while travelling....beyond the caverns there is really nothing here but roads, dirt, heat (or cold), beautiful vistas!! The tours are $$ for what you get...however, if you visit during the summer like we did and want to escape 113 degrees, the caverns at a consistent 60 degrees are a welcome diversion.

We camped here in a trailer and were comfortable for the most part. This place served very well as a watering hole on our way to the GC.

Oh, they do offer a ghost walk at night....just for its goofyness the tour is worth it. Apparently there is a company that sells ghost sensing spectrometers and GC Caverns has a bunch of them. Fun for the kids for sure!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 69FairlaneRagtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Quick cave view and history lesson”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A nice distraction while driving to/from The Grand Canyon on Historic Rt. 66. There's not much else to do on this section of the road, and they had a nice sign on the road to get us to pull over.

The actual cave tour was alittle over priced for what you see (which is not much), but it could be interesting for young children.

The restaurant was better than average food for the side of the road, and the price was good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lord-xeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a city by a lake, WA
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Don't be a "Dope on a Rope". Just take the elevator and enjoy the tour!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I discovered the Grand Canyon Caverns when planning our SW road trip on tripomatic.com. It sounded quirky and fun. When a friend found out our vacation plans, she suggested it to us not knowing we had heard about it. She said it might seem cheesy but it's really cool and interesting and on Route 66. Who wouldn't want to check it out?

We thought we would visit on our way from the Grand Canyon South Rim to Las Vegas. It was on our way and would break up our 5-hour drive. It was a race against the clock for us because we left the south rim later than planned and were scheduled to arrive at GCC right before it closed at 5pm. I called to see if 5pm was when the last tour started or when it ended. The gal who answered said that when the 5pm tour goes down, she closes shop.

We were about 20 miles out and our GPS went wonky. I called explaining where we were and that we were lost and we were hoping to make the tour. A different gal who answered gave us directions and told us that she'd wait for us.

We got there and stopped at the wrong counter. We needed to drive up the property more. It was a race, and just a comedy of errors. We made it and Stephani waited for us.

Stephani was a great guide. We were the only ones on the 5pm tour so it was like we had a private tour. She made it fun and entertaining for our two boys (9 & 11), it was very educational and interesting. I won't say much about what you'll learn on the tour because then it won't be new to you when you're there and taking the tour.

We took the longer tour (but not the super long one that takes you to even more "rooms"), and paid just over $60 for two adults/two children with a AAA discount. We thought this was pretty reasonable considering it's a tourist attraction. It's about the same cost as a 3D movie.

It was a fun thing to experience. How often will you travel on ol' Route 66 near Peach Springs, AZ? Why not go on down? Literally.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabefolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
2 reviews
“Fun the first 10 times, although restaurant service is slow”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our family has been coming here every year on our way through the area. I even used to come as a child. The past 8 years we have come with European guests and/or a group of friends with children. Now that the kids are getting to their teens, some of them have stopped doing the tour of the caverns, although most still want to go (even after seeing it several times!) Everyone's favorite part is the dried-out bobcat. I stopped going on the tour of the caverns a few years ago, preferring to order the lunch so that it would be ready when the tour participants came back up. The food is simple but fine, the people are nice (but can get grumpy when very busy), but it is definitely slow. Having said that, we still come back every year as there are several things for kids to do, it's a relaxing stop for the parents, and there is a certain charm and familiarity which keeps us coming back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon Caverns also viewed

Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
 
Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
 

Been to Grand Canyon Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing