We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Stayed at Kohl's twice in the past year, both in late October. They have a beautiful stone fireplace in the small lobby. I was told both times by the front desk staff they would not start a fire because it was not cold enough. I thought that was crazy since October night's in Payson can get down to the low 30's. Not to mention the fireplace at ANY lodge you visit is the main focus point, and they really should have a fire going the vast majority of time just to set the tone when guests walk through the door.

The basic rooms in the main buidling are large but need major updating. The twin beds are old, lumpy, and extremely uncomfortable. Bathrooms are small and so small its hard to close the door when sitting on the toliet. The heater was blowing cold air during the night preventing me from sleeping, and as a result I woke up early in the morning and went to the lobby to work on my computer. At one point, the front desk agent went out the back door near where I was sitting and propped the door and went outside. The cold draft came through and I waved over to them through the window and asked the staff member if they could close the door. Apparently, this person went outside to have a cigarette, and they replied they had to have the door open so they can hear the phone. NOT WHAT I CALL THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE; so that didn't go over to well with me and the staff member and I had an exchange of words.

I brought all of these issues to the front desk agent when I checked out, and although nice,
she wasn't willing to try to resolve any issues. She did mention that Diamond Resorts was taking over the management and had plans to redo the beds and that if I had asked the front desk agents will usually turn on the fireplace: which was not true in both my cases, because I did ask. I was gaven the general managers card, Vivan, who I called.

From speaking to Vivan, I can see how the lack of customer service skills had filtered down to her front office staff. She was not rude but did not show any concern or interest with wat I had to say, and just seemed like she just did not have the skills to properly handle these situation. She replied that, we try to accommodate our guests when they bring issues to us during their stay and not after. Gee, I thought that's what I was doing when I asked if they could start a fire or close the back door. Am I suppose to get up and at 3am in the morning and ask to be changed over to another room due to a cheap old bed and a broken heater!
Vivan, informed me the new management company. Diamond Resorts has no current plans to update the beds, and from what I have read on the net has many complaints with the timeshare programs as well as with the previous management company iLX Resorts: who apparently went bankrupt.

The point is for the money, (Around $140) its just not worth it.
The sad thing is, there just aren't many choices in the Payson area with a resort like, country setting.

Good note: the waitress in the restrauant was friendly and the food good, and the horse trail ride staff and expericnce was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arizonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for Kohl's Ranch Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 396 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2010

We spent Thanksgiving week ay Kohl's in a two-bedroom pet "cabin.: Service has been excellent. We had the Thanksgiving buffet today and everything tasted wonderul. The wait staff was efficient and fun too.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuntreeTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Didn't do my homework. If I had read the previous reviews I wouild have never booked this lodge. First of all, I drove in from New Mexico and the directions from II are from Payson -- 20 miles PAST the resort; AND the road they are on is not recognized by the GPS. AND the lodge knows it!! So, 40 miles out of my way later, after driving 8 hours, I'm tired and want a nice shower and to relax. Get to my room, very small with a closet bathroom -- and no hot water. OK, get over it, this is in the woods and is pretty and will be relaxing. No, to that as well. They are having a private party for 40+ young adults with the music blaring well into the night in an open area 100 yards from my room.
Next day -- let's go fishing -- go to the "Actvities Desk", no one there, ask the front desk clerk when they will return and she informs me they don't have anyone at that desk -- call the number on the sign if I want to go fishing. I do, no call back for 10 hours-- too late today AND there is a bass tournement tomorrow and he is too busy getting ready for that. No other suggestions as what to do, no list of activities on check-in.
Well, after four days, no one has emptied my trash (and no logical place to dump it); long drives into Payson (a nothing town) are the only recreation found other than hiking -- and it is 95+ and too hot.
Sorry I ever came here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shetorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

If you want to get away from it all in the middle of the forest, this is for you! Nice property. Walk to the creek & fish or go to the pool, play tennis, basketball, putt, etc., etc. We came for 1 night & stayed 3 nites! It was relaxing for me, fun for my kid. No cell service tho, so I used my Skype on the computer. Closest town is Payson for phone. Rooms could stand an upgrade however. Bathroom was TINY & lighting throughout was WAY TOO LOW! ILX property has been bought out recently, so who knows what will happen. LOVED the back porch w/rocking chairs. Small kitchenette & small table w/chairs for eating if you choose. I used it for my laptop! Bar opens @ 5 pm & bartender Paul is really nice. He also waits tables, etc. Restaurant food is very good. We will probably make a trip out there again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinojeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights, and we felt we were whisked away from the pace of the 21st century. No cellphone - true. Minimal TV channels - true. Old-fashioned no-frills bathroom - true. Felt kind of nice for a few days. Free Wi-Fi in the room (Zane Grey room in the lodge), which was simple but comfortable - perhaps like an old bunk-room. We got "good food" in the restaurant and bar, both of which are very interesting. We fished the stream that meanders through, and marveled at all the old saddles and memorabilia everywhere. It is the perfect setting to imagine what it was like to settle in the west long ago and try to eke out an existence. Beautiful lakes and stunning mountains are nearby, and it's only 20 minutes to town.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1surprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Booked two rooms from the pictures I saw which were very nice - HOWEVER, when I got there the first room was exactly as shown; BUT the second one looked like Motel 6 only worse; tiny room; little bity patio facing the parking lot with N-O-I-S-E and ONE bed. I told the front desk I booked over a month ago & asked for 2 beds as I was traveling with my adult son and they said basically too bad;we are full; ridiculous. AFter seeing 2nd room I was really upset & asked why the difference for the same price - said some rooms are different - different!!!!!! Night and day different and for the same money - no way. Should have listened toprevious reviews of restaurant but was told no bar-b-q's so didn't
bring food &they were all over the place. Went to dinner - 7 tables only with people and it took 43 min. wait time; no mushrooms on mushroom burger, one person's was stone cold; only one had a good sirloin dinner. The grounds are nice; the bar was fun; good music; had a great time horseback ridingl; terrific guide; but never again at this hotel. And if you stay one hour over from 11 am till noon it is $25; never heard of such a thing. my comments on grounds, room was for room #1 not mine.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MauijonYoungtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

The review just below mine, written by an ILX owner, is a very accurate review. The property is aging, but well maintained. The rooms are clean and the scenery is beautiful. The property is right adjacent to the creek, so bring fishing equipment for the kids.

The restaurant is incredibly slow. I think the backup is primarily with the kitchen, but you simply can't get out in under 90 minutes, no matter the time of day. We finally started calling in our orders and they would call us when the food was on the table -- usually 30-40 minutes later. We would also take the food to go and eat at one of the many picnic tables on the grounds. Speaking of the grounds, the landscaping beautiful and the soft plush grass is great to walk on in bare feet.

Since there is not much to do on the grounds themselves, take a look at some of the lakes in the National Forests. We visited Woods Canyon Lake and Black Canyon Lake. Both were beautiful and less than an hour away.

I did appreciate the WiFi that allowed me to get some critical work done.

The review talking about the altercation at the Circle K I believe was written about the wrong establishment. There is no Circle K within 10 miles of here.

My one negative point is due to the "No Firearms" sign on the front door. The only kind of people who obey No Firearms signs are not the kind of people that Kohl's Ranch needs to worry about. That sign creates a "Criminals Encouraged" zone in this establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThisIsBlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Payson hotels
13.8 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
423 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
345 reviews
15.3 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
259 reviews
14.8 mi away
Rim Country Inn
Rim Country Inn
#9 of 12 in Payson
44 reviews
15.0 mi away
Motel 6 Payson
Motel 6 Payson
#12 of 12 in Payson
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohl's Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Address: 202 South Kohl's Ranch Lodge Road, HC-2, Box 96K (mail), Payson, AZ 85541-2272
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Price Range: $71 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kohl's Ranch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you first arrive at Kohl's Ranch Lodge in Payson, Arizona you will be sure you have truly cornered a little piece of paradise. The location is what creates this setting, which borders on perfection. Kohl's Ranch Lodge is at the base of the Mogollon Rim and on the banks of Tonto Creek. All of this comes together in the largest Ponderosa Pine Forest in the world. This stunning, off the beaten path section of Arizona's back country was made most famous by author Zane Grey, who stirred up vivid imagery of a striking land throughout his tales of the Old West. Not to mention, the people here are known for their historically famous, western hospitality. You will revel in the casual and friendly atmosphere that makes each stay here an inviting experience that leaves visitors wanting to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kohl's Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohl`s Ranch Hotel Payson
Kohls Hotel Payson
Kohls Ranch Lodge
Kohls Ranch Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing