We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay in Payson”
other travelers have booked this property
Affordable Luxury In The Heart of Seclusion!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Affordable Luxury In The Heart of Seclusion!
The Elevated Deck Optimizes The Views Yet Still Grants Privacy In The Trees
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Affordable Luxury In The Heart of Seclusion!
The Elevated Deck Optimizes The Views Yet Still Grants Privacy In The Trees
You And Your Significant Other Can Relax On The Porch Swing While Watching For Wildlife
Comfortable Leather Furniture And A Full Size Fold Out Couch Makes For A Great Family Gathering Area
Open Kitchen And Living Room Have Magnificent Views From Every Window
Everything You Need Is Provided In The Custom Kitchen Feat. Granite Counter Tops, Cherry Cabinets
A Plush Queen Size Sealy Posturepedic Bed Makes For A Beautiful Nights Sleep w/ Dual Sitting Areas.
Relax And Drift Away In The Large Jacuzzi Bathtub That Will Be Waiting After A Day Of Mountain Fun.
Dual Sinks And Separate Water Closet Enhance The Privacy.
Very Comfortable Twin Over Full Bunkbeds That The Kids Will Love With Plenty Of Floor Space To Play.
The Front Of The Eagles Nest Hillside Retreat.
Beautiful Views And Surrounding Areas Abound.
Enjoy The Elevated Deck While Watching For Wildlife.
The Elevated Deck Provides 360 Views
The Deck Provides Spectacular Viewing In All Directions.
One Of Many Incredible Hiking, Walking And Running Trails To Explore.
The Cabin Is Situated At The Base Of The Mogollon Rim.
Drive Or Hike Up To The 7500' Elevation From The Eagles Nest Hillside Retreat.
Well Maintained Roads Along This Beautiful Drive Get You There Year Around.
Come Enjoy A Winter Wonderland Situated High Above The Desert At The Eagles Nest Hillside Retreat.
Experience Towering 150' Tall Ponderosa Pines As You Make Your Way To This Very Secluded Cabin.
Tonto Natural Bride Is Just A 15 Minute Drive Away.
There Are Many Interesting Places To Explore, What Will You Find?
Amazing Swimming, Fishing, Rafting and Boating Is Nearby
Spectacular Views from The Deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Payson, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maresa G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay in Payson”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful place to stay!!!!!! Breath taking views!!!! The perfect place to relax & enjoy the outdoors. The name says it all, a perfect retreat....Hugh deck to take in all the scenery, cozy living room, super comfortable master bed, spa like bathroom! Can't wait to come back!!! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2015
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Eagle Nest Hillside Retreat. We too, love relaxing on that amazing deck in the hammock chairs. Thank you so much for the nice review, we really enjoyed hosting you and we look forward to another visit from you guys soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alissa H
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I was nervous at first to book this cabin, as we usually stay in hotels. I am so glad we found the Eagles Nest. The cabin is super clean and well kept, sheets and towels smelled wonderful-I even peaked in the cabinets to see what they use to wash them so that I could buy some for my own laundry! Location is definitely remote, but that was what we wanted. Super peaceful and relaxing. Great fire pit, grill, porch swing, and hammock chairs out on the deck to hang out in all day, as well as plenty of hiking and things to do and see nearby. Cabin owner even has a nice guide with great directions to local things to see. Definitely will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you very much!!! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and of coarse your always welcome back anytime. We appreciate the wonderful comments and hope to see you again next time your searching for that perfectly secluded getaway spot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy C
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for our Family Reunion”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Jane was a perfect host; communications were prompt, contract and payment arrangements reliable, and her personal greeting upon check-in welcome. This spacious, quiet place had lovely hiking outside the door for morning walks, a kitchen nook with a lovely view of the wildlife, and more room than our party of 15 knew what to do with! We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaCilli...
Williams, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do not book anywhere else in the Payson area, this is a MUST BOOK cabin”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is an absolute must book, with an amazing owner who goes the extra mile for his guests. The cabin is beautiful and pictures do not do it justice. Very clean, beautifully decorated and has everything you can possibly need available. An awesome getaway for a romantic or family holiday. We did not want to leave. The cabin is very private and feels very secluded and has amazing views. We especially enjoyed sitting in the Eagles Nest at the fire pit. The surrounding area is beautiful and the cabin is close to many great hikes and activities. Better than any other cabin in the area and highly recommended, you can't go wrong.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2015
Thank you Nina for the wonderful review. I'm glad you had a nice time and enjoyed your stay at The Eagles Nest Hillside Retreat. We look forward to your next visit with us soon, and thank you so much for the wonderful photos you took. Your quite an amazing photographer! I look forward to seeing more of your work in the future and you know your always welcome anytime your in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Complete Scenic Solitude”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I agree that this is the most quiet place we have ever stayed in with an occasional rustling of the trees from the wind, a sometimes heard rooster crowing in the morning and a distant lone woodpecker enjoying the abundant surrounding trees - we were definitely away from it all. Lovely cabin with great amenities. My favorite was sitting in the hammock chairs on the porch with my morning coffee looking at the mountain rims around us or sitting there in the evening watching the gorgeous bright full moon rise above them.

The directions provided to the cabin were very clear; however, we recommend that at least for the first night stay, if you are not use to driving in secluded mountains on dirt, winding roads plan to arrive at the cabin before dusk - we had planned to do that, but our timing from Phoenix was slightly off. We also recommend a four wheel drive vehicle - not for just driving to the cabin, but it will ease access to many of the beautiful surrounding areas in this region which we thoroughly enjoyed. Only other recommendation - from my husband who has allergies - if visiting this time of year, be sure to have your allergy meds.

It was so peaceful staying here and exactly what I needed. We had a wonderful time and we highly recommend it. Thank you Rance.

J Reardon
Libertyville, IL

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful with scenic surroundings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2015
Thank you very much for the kind review Janet. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Eagles Nest Hillside Retreat and enjoyed the beauty and seclusion that it offers. We're also glad you were able to relax, unwind and explore the beautiful areas nearby. There are definitely some spectacular views and enjoyable places to visit. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and we'd like to invite you back again anytime. Your always welcome at any of our properties!
Thanks again,
Rance Fladeland
Hidden Hideaways, LLC
The Eagles Nest Hillside Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SegwayofS...
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had an amazing weekend at the Eagles Nest Hillside Retreat. My boyfriend and I took my parents for the weekend for a much needed getaway together. We were impressed with not only the beautiful surroundings but also the willingness of the owner, Rance to meet all needs and respond to questions quickly. This cabin home is very comfortable and plenty of space especially on the front porch where you feel as if you are floating on the treetops. We brought binoculars with us and were able to spot birds together! My boyfriend and I went on hikes during the day exploring the area, the air is very clean making you feel refreshed. We played GinRummy together for hours while listening to Bod Dylan (for real) hahaha! Then, the guitar was busted out and we had ourselves a recording session! We wrote and recorded a song titled " Mogollon Rim" it's a good one. And who knew my Father was such a good lyricist??

This place is perfect to reconnect and enjoy family. I am already planning on my next trip back. "A" plus plus plus!!

Thanks for reading.

Darcie Williams
Paradise Valley, AZ.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2015
First of all, thank you very much Darcie for the nice review, we're glad you all had a good time and were able to enjoy so much of what the cabin has to offer. You are always welcome back and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Second of all, I am REALLY looking forward to hearing that song on the radio someday! ;-) Thanks again Darcie. Have a great day and God Bless!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing getaway!”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a wonderful weekend in the cool mountains surrounded by beauty! The cabin is luxurious and spacious, plenty of room for everyone. Host did a great job of providing directions to get there, as well as provide local activites. Will definately visit again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2014
Thank you very much for the nice review! We're glad you had a nice time and enjoyed the weekend at The Eagles Nest Hillside Retreat. You were a pleasure to host and we'd be happy to have you visit again anytime. Please keep in touch and check in with us from time to time, we love to see our return guests!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;