We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boulder Hopping in Canyon”

Tonto Natural Bridge State Park
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Payson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington State
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Boulder Hopping in Canyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Any early start allow us to see the Javelina grazing on the grass before lots of people arrived. For a northwesterner they are interesting to see and cute; not a pest like they are to many southwesterners. We took the trail to the waterfall, but it was closed before you get to the main part. It's more of a drip wall than a waterfall. We "hiked" the canyon trail. There was lots of boulder hopping. Because of the drought there was not much water in the stream. The west trail the Gowan trail gives the best view. It's a bit steep so take you time or heed the warning and don't go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank slsund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    162
    19
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A day trip to Tonto National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

While visiting friends in Phoenix, we decided to run up to Tonto National Park. It was a very nice scenic drive with light traffic. The seguro cactus along the highway was an exceptional treat. The park was a nice treat as well. There was a infomation center and souvineer shop, and the folks inside were helpful. The walk up and down to the Natural Bridge was strenous but short. All in all, it was a very enjoyable day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Sites at Tonto Natural Bridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a great time - the staff were great. The staff is very knowledgeable, friendly, and courteous.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worthy one day trip from Phoenix,AZ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a wonderful place to visit for a day trip. There is natural bridge and the falls flowing through it. A 1 mile round trip hike is required to view the bridge from bottom. There are few view points at the top too. Its an moderate hike with lots of steps. Can actually go under the natural bridge and its wonderful out there . Best time to visit is early summer.

If you are driving through Payson this is a must see attraction

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Unique......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Two young Seniors (62)on a lengthy road trip, we have visited many unique places & hiked many trails in the past 6 weeks. Driving from Phoenix to Holbrook Az this park materialized at lunch time. We did not know what to expect & were delighted with our discovery.

The road leading to the park deserves a mention, 1 mile at a 14% grade . A $5.00 / person entry-fee was a little steep too!

We did not have time to explore the entire park but enjoyed the easily accessible view points & descended to the bottom of the creek under the bridge . ( Gowan Trail ) . The brochure said allow 1 hour, we went down & up in 30 minutes, stopping to take many photos & catch our breath on the ascent. Sturdy shoes recommended, we always hike with poles ( very helpful on the stair climb up) . Well worth the time & effort .

The picnic areas are clean & well maintained. Saw a couple of deer & lizards,fish in the pools at the base of the falls.

Wish we had had more time to walk the other trails!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank windsorwand31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonto Natural Bridge State Park also viewed

 

Been to Tonto Natural Bridge State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing