We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Christopher Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Payson
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Back to basics. It is not fancy by any means. It is not the Super 8, Best Western Nor Motel 6. What it is, is a unique slice of heaven. There is no room service, telephone in room or cell service. You're back to basics! For me the enviorement was very rustic. We stayed in the Trail Bunk. For my family of 3 it was just perfect! It is smaller than I had expected but considering we did not vacation there for the room it made no difference to us. A good rule of thumb is when you arrive and plan on using their appliance, cookware and serving items...clean them. Not saying they're dirty, just saying I'm a bit of a germ freak. The Trail Bunks come with a sliding glass door so you're never cut off from nature. There is no air conditioner nor swamp cooler, however they do provide a box fan and has a ceiling fan to circulate the air. During the day we left the door open and it was pleasent. I did take my own fan cause I sleep with one and weren't sure if they had one. The beds are not very comfortable but considering we could feel the springs we slept fine. Enough of all that.....they have a tiny playground and a tiny two story playhouse, also lent my daughter a bike to ride. :) The creek is close by and fun to hop along on the rocks. The night time was by far the best for me. I grew up in the country ( now live in the city next to a busy BUSY road) and would fall asleep listening to the sound of the frogs and other night time critters. With the creek being right there it was the most beautiful sound and brought back lots of fond memories. We ARE going back and will continue. The office was friendly and helpful. Just good people and a great place.

Room Tip: If you have more than 4 people rent a cabin.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    72
    15
    16
    17
See reviews for
147
138
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I didnt realize how small these units are in the motel. I was out fishing most of the time so the motel didnt bother me too much. To get to the loft bunks you have to walk sideways coming down is even more thrilling, Bathroom was fine but whoever put your tile in should be coming back to fix it. TV is way too high up on the wall for the bottom floor and too far down for the loft. Next morning, I grabbed the coffee pot and almost threw up in my mouth....MOLD!! I understand that maybe this was missed during clean up but missed maybe the last 2 weeks? Parking is crazy and tight. I dont recommend this place unless you plan on spending most of your time out of the unit.

Room Tip: Anything but the Motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLodgeOwner, Owner at Christopher Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hello. First of all, if there was mold in the coffee pot I am embarrassed and very sorry! That should of course never occur. Having said that, try as we might (and we do try very hard) we are not perfect. I can tell you that had this been brought to our attention we would have remedied it immediately accompanied by a large apology. This guest stayed in the Pony Express-Motel unit and they're right the loft stairs are narrow, and the parking is tight. We are very upfront about this and even mention this on the website. For teens, kids, and even many adults the loft is just fine. The parking for most vehicles is also quite suitable (for larger vehicles we have other areas we ask folks to park in). While we wish this would have been another 5-star review, we do appreciate the feedback and will use it to make sure we are continually improving. Thanks for reading our response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here one night, it was enough, there was no one around when we arrived, the shower was nothing more than a drip and we were unable to rinse the lousy liquid soap off. Room was clean but the bed was like sleeping on a board.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naturesbest2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLodgeOwner, Owner at Christopher Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Please read our Management Response: We do not believe this review pertains our lodge and have asked Trip Advisor to remove it. (Thanks again to all of our great guests for their other kind words)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

For many years Christopher Creek Lodge has been a place to visit even though we now live in the pines somewhere else. The new Manager Brandon and his wife Angela were very friendly and helpful in answering any questions we might have. The cabin was clean and well maintained. We are looking forward to visiting again in the future with family members, which includes some of our great-grandchildren.
Art & Lois D.

Room Tip: Cabin 10 is the last cabin on the road so its quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed an overnight with a friend on a fishing/canoeing trip to AZ high country. Warm friendly greeting on arrival, very clean room, tucked in the Ponderosa pines. Check in, check out couldn't have been easier. 20 minutes to Woods Canyon lake. Big fluggy towels.
I would return absolutely, and take my "peeky" wife with me. Nick Head, Scottsdale, Arizona

Room Tip: We were in 5-A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We got married at Christopher Creek and enjoyed our stay at the lodge. We had the Pioneer Cabin #4 and it was perfect! Loved the creek & view at the backdoor and the great photo-op's there for pre-wedding shots. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I can't wait to go up and stay longer next time! What a beautiful place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The cabins and rooms are very well shaded. The location is convenient, yet far enough away from the main road so as not to hear road noise. The cabin was clean and cozy; be sure to remember to bring your own coffee. The place was fairly quiet for how many people were on property, it was certainly quiet in the evenings after 10:00 - 10:30 PM. I'd certainly recommend it, and return myself as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ_beachcomer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Payson hotels
4.6 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#2 of 12 in Payson
382 reviews
18.0 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
410 reviews
18.3 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
246 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
79 reviews
18.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Creek Lodge

Property: Christopher Creek Lodge
Address: 1355 E Christopher Creek Loop, Payson, AZ 85541-2218
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original, largest and only lodge right on the banks of Christopher Creek. We hope you'll be a part of the history! "Had a rough day...or a rough week? Get away from it all.. relax on the creek!" New Ownership April, 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Christopher Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Creek Hotel Payson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing