We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited menu - Mediocre Food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zane Grey Country Barbecue at Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Zane Grey Country Barbecue at Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Ranked #16 of 71 Restaurants in Payson
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Zane Grey Country BBQ is located inside Kohl's Ranch Lodge, near Tonto Creek in the largest Ponderosa Pine Forest in the world. Our menu is simple, authentic smoked "Barbecue & Great House Made Pizza."
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Limited menu - Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at the Lodge for two nights, and tried this place for both a lunch and dinner. If you're a lodge guest, be forewarned they only serve breakfast on weekends. The lunch was OK, and we were both able to find something that appealed to us from the small selection. We each enjoyed what we ordered. When we returned for dinner, we were discouraged to discover that dinner offered only the same very limited selection as lunch. (Before our trip, I had found a copy of Zane Grey's menu at some unrelated website, but apparently it was from another era when more was offered.) Dinner was disappointing. I got tired of eating it about half way done, and stopped. Since the Lodge is over 15 miles outside of Payson, I think it should do a better job of offering a varied menu for its guests. The cabins have kitchens in them, so another time we'd definitely bring groceries and do our own cooking instead.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    15
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Pancakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I ate here three times. Twice at dinner and once for breakfast. There menu is a little small. especially if you do not eat steak. But, there pancakes are excellent. Maybe the best I have had in years. The wait staff was wonderful! I was there with a 4 months old and 4 year old and they were very great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Dinner in the saloon was super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Staying at Kohl's Ranch prior to Memorial Day means it's not yet "the season" and the restaurant is only open weekends. (An unpleasant surprise to us!) But the Saloon was open one night of our stay so we ventured over for an early dinner (the regular restaurant menu, apparently) and were very glad we did. We wanted a slow-paced dinner and our waiter Josh was very personable and helpful. We had the spinach appetizer. Then my significant other had the special -- prime rib sandwich, with what he said was the best baked potato EVER (and he's not really into potatoes). The potato itself was almost creamy and the sides of butter, sour cream, chopped green onion, and bacon were ample. I had the elk burger, which was excellent (medium rare). We eventually shared dessert -- the skillet cookie with ice cream and hot fudge. Terrific -- just the right size for two. All this, plus one mixed drink, one beer, and one glass of wine, was just $52, which we thought was a great bargain. We'll eat there again when we're in the area, no matter where we're staying!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing, but nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Haven't been here in 20 years and looked forward to this meal. Since the main highway has been re-routed Kohl's Ranch Lodge is now on a backroad about a half mile from the highway -- not the easiest to find.

Meal was somewhat disappointing. this was a late lunch (about 2:00) and the restaurant was almost empty. Food was ok, but overpriced. Service was good. This is a beautiful restaurant in the Old West tradition (see picture). That painting high on the wall to the right is stunning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david-oberpriller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Nice burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed at Kohl's in October and after reading reviews we were quite tentative about eating at Zane's.

We ordered a bison burger & fries and a pizza, which is not gourmet by any stretch of imagination, however, it was tasty and we had no issues.

Service was a little slow, but that is all we could fault - but then there was just one lady servicing and 4 or 5 tables to cope with. I think she did fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zane Grey Country Barbecue at Kohl's Ranch Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Zane Grey Country Barbecue at Kohl's Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing