We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but a bit pricy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice, but a bit pricy.”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I hesitate to say anything bad about our stay, because to be honest, we had a very nice time. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which meant we had a fireplace and a full sized hot tub. The room was very well laid out, very clean and modern. The shower/toilet area of the bathroom was a bit lack-luster, it was clean and the shower was HUGE, but it just seemed a bit dated and commercial. The property is a cluster of buildings, some are single story buildings consisting of several rooms (consider cabins around a lake) others were more traditional two-story structures with rooms above and below. They all backed up to a common wooded area. It was nice, but you felt a little crowded and sitting on the back porch meant sitting with your neighbor if he happened to be out there at the same time. Still, nice place for your morning coffee. Ok, so why my hesitation. We paid $130 for the night and that was supposed to include breakfast. I guess for that kind of money in Payson, I just expected something...better. Hard to put my finger on it. During the week, they cater to construction workers (painters, etc) and depend on them to pay the rent. No problem, expect that when we got up on Sunday to go to breakfast, there they were in their construction clothes, snarfing down their meal. Again, I understand, it's just not the feel I would expect for the money. As for breakfast, we'll let me just say that we went to Miss Fits. It was a buffet lay out, the "eggs"I looked like pancakes and there was little else but granola. Not what we were looking for In summary, it was a nice lodge, I just think it's a bit over priced, but let me end on a high note (insert Mel Brooks reference), it was clean, the staff very kind, reservations easy and the location was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Luv2Trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    118
    50
    30
    15
See reviews for
92
225
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Majestic Mountain Inn is honestly nothing special, but to paraphrase my client here in town, the Marriot and Hilton chains have not yet discovered Payson, AZ. It's the best business lodging I've found in Payson. The room is pleasant and clean with a tiny outdoor patio. The windows open, so you can enjoy the lovely, clean air and the staff is pleasant. Breakfast is a silly little counter off the business office, but it's wrapped bagels so fresh and edible. It's also very close to some decent restaurants, so dinner at the end of the day is just a short walk. All in all, a decent value for the money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Prosenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful in suggesting restaurants and locations of places needed for business and pleasure. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. It was nice having a place to sit outside and see the green and it was nice and cool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed in the basic king bed room. Very nice bath area and comfy bed. The front door faced the parking lot but the window on the opposite side faced the trees and grassy area. Not many chain hotels would be as nice. The only wierd thing is that they called us to say it was now check in time. Never had that happen before!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I am here for business (depositions) and I really love my room. The price is unbeatable, the ladies at the front desk are super sweet and helpful. Breakfast is provided, and when I came in this morning, one of the girls offered to cook me a waffle. How nice is that?? A bottle of beer is $2, and a bottle of wine is $8 (seriously?? Do they even make any money off this? And frankly, the Chardonnay is pretty dang good). I have a huge room with a giant Jacuzzi (a little ziplock of bath salts - not the zombie-making kind! LOL - is delivered every day) and a wrap-around fireplace. The drive up here was breathtaking (I would LOVE to come up to this area of the country with my boyfriend and his Harley). More than happy. If you're looking for something that's not your typical chain-variety lodging, this is where you should be. Very relaxing and peaceful. Totally recommend!!

Room Tip: Spend the (TINY) bit extra for the Jacuzzi/fireplace rooms....especially if you're a couple...in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerriedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in a king deluxe room with a fireplace. The room was very nice and clean with plenty of room to spread out. The back patio to sit out on was nice even though we were near the road it still seemed like we were out further due to the back courtyard. with several pine trees. It was a nice place to sit and relax while eating our breakfast that came with the stay. There was a good choice of hot and cold food to choose from. I can't really complain about anything about our stay really except it would have been nice if it was further out of town. Since we were there to get away from life and relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess1Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We loved our stay - it was perfect!
I reserved the largest room with 3 way view fireplace and jacuzzi tub. They had a bottle of wine chilling in our room when we arrived --Hotel is small and obviously well run. Staff was amazing - I recommend the Inn to anyone visiting Payson.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Payson hotels
13.8 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#2 of 12 in Payson
390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
341 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rim Country Inn
Rim Country Inn
#9 of 12 in Payson
44 reviews
1.3 mi away
Motel 6 Payson
Motel 6 Payson
#11 of 12 in Payson
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Mountain Inn

Property: Majestic Mountain Inn
Address: 602 E State Highway 260, Payson, AZ 85541-4935
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Majestic Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Mountain Inn welcomes vacationing guests and business persons to Payson and offers exceptional hospitality and impeccable service that will assure a relaxing and memorable experience. Here, the spirit of west beckons the adventurer with endless opportunities to explore the picturesque mountains, streams and canyons.For the business traveler our central location will be a convenient departure point for making calls and a perfect place to relax after a productive days work. Our superb location at the base of the Mogollon Rim is surrounded by stunning natural beauty and has been described as the gateway to the White Mountains. Majestic Mountain Inn is truly a one-of-a-kind Inn. Stay with us and experience the relaxing atmosphere nestled in the midst of the largest Ponderosa Pine forest on the planet. Payson was originally a small ranching community, but now counts itself as one of the top destinations in Arizona for vacations due to its picturesque mountain backdrop, 300 days of sunshine and friendly locals. From the edge of the Rim to high desert topography, Payson offers an abundance of natural beauty as well as a variety of attractions, history and activities for guests of all ages. At Payson Roundup's annual awards Majestic Mountain Inn once again earned the distinction of "Best of Rim Country" a prestigious award given for hotel category. "We are so honored once again, to receive this prestigious award and we hope to make this year an even better one for our guests, our community, and our grand state of Arizona"Stay with us and experience a most relaxing atmosphere in the midst of the pine forest and enjoy our exceptional hospitality!"The staff at Majestic Mountain Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Mountain Hotel Payson
Majestic Mountain Payson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing