We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable Beds”
Reviewed August 1, 2008

The room was very average but adequate. However, the beds were terrible. When we were leaving, we noticed that the sides of the box springs were filthy. We couldn't bring outselves to remove the sheets to look at the mattresses. However, there was a sign in the room that stated if our stay wasn't completely satisfactory to notify the front desk, and they would make it right. Upon checking out, we reported the situation, and the desk clerk acted like she couldn't be bothered, and her only response was that she would report it to the manager, Of course, that was the end of the subject.

  • Liked — We could take our pet
  • Disliked — The uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank World_Traveler064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    117
    48
    29
    15
See reviews for
90
222
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed here on our anniversary and I was rather disappointed. The rooms were not nearly as nice as the pictures on the website. They were painted a horrible color and it looked like one of my kids did the painting.
There was a party outside in the courtyard that carried on past midnight, then when they went inside, they must have had the room next to ours because there was a lot of loud talking and music. NOT fun on our end.

That being said, the room was pretty clean. 7 1/2 out of 10, I would say.

I guess I just expected more for what we paid.

  • Liked — easy to get to
  • Disliked — NOISE and the TV did not work right
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skylinewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2008

I travel through Payson, very often. Love the Majestic. Rooms are excellent and rates are good. I have not had a single complaint in any of my visits to Majestic Inn. Staff is very freindly and accommodating. If you planning on staying in Payson for more than a week, try the owners flat, above the conference center.

I felt compelled to write another review as I saw couple of not so good, totally exaggerated comments posted by some members.

Property, staff and the rates are excellent.

Sergio

  • Liked — Location and setting
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sergio_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mailbox71
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

i only give it one star cause thats as low as i can go.i specifically told them i wanted the jacuzzi room with the vaulted ceilings w/ the wood finish on them. you see,thats the ones you see on their website. but when we got there they put us in a regular painted room that didnt even have the quality of a run down super 8.i told the lady over and over again that we came here many times before and we want a room w/ vaulted ceilings. she tried telling us that they were a step up from the $230 we spent for one night. i dont think so.it was the first time in a hile i was going to get away with the wife for one night and i wanted it to be nice.the jacuzzi in the room was loud, there wasnt stone around the fireplace, the sinks didnt drain properly, the bed was comfy but that was it. i will never ever stay there again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — just a shabby run down overpriced hotel
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jimmshoe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

I booked a room at this hotel on their website and after not receiving a confirmation decided to call to make sure the reservation had gone through. The receptionist told me they were having problems with their website and that there was no reservation in my name. I asked if I could go ahead and reserve online and was told that there were no vacancies for the suite I wanted. All ok as I booked at Kohls Lodge instead. So I thought anyway, 2 days later I found that the Majestic Mountain had charged $156 to my credit card. I called to explain what had happened and asked for my card to be refunded only to be told that as far as they were concerned I was a NO SHOW.. how can you be a no show for a room that you were told was never reserved!!!!! I spoke to the Manager who was the rudest person I have ever come into contact with she more or less called me a liar and said my charges would not be reversed. Overall a very distressing experience. I would not recomment this hotel to anyone and I have filed a complaint with BBB.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jovauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We booked this Hotel for our anniversary and made it very clear at the time of our reservation that we would be arriving between 11:00pm-Midnight and the clerk said "No problem just use the phone to call the Manager to get your keys." Upon arriving at the Hotel we saw a family and 3 Payson Police Department vehicles parked at the entry. I asked the guy what was going on and he said that he had been calling for the Manager for over 1 hour and there was no answer so he called the Police to make sure everything was ok. On the sign be the door there was a piece of paper that had hand written instructions to call extension 134 for after hours. Apperently, the guy and the Police had been calling the extension and still got no answer, so the Police officers went looking for the Manager with no luck. So we waited 1 more hour and continued to call with no answer. Finally, we went to the Super 8 down the street and checked in to the same type of room that we booked at the Majestic for $30 less and it was great! Unfortunately, the next morning I called the hotel and spoke with Sheri and she was rude and made it seem like it was my fault that I did not get checked in and she refused to refund my card without talking to the Manager. Simple enough huh? I then asked to talk to the Manager and of course she was not there. Finally, I received a call back from the Manager and she was very rambunxious and did not want to refund my card at first. I finally cinvinced her to refund my card after arguing with her for 20 Minutes. She is VERY unprofessional and definately should not be dealing with the public in any way. This is horrible and I hope everyone reads this and considers this before staying at this hotel!

  • Liked — What accomodation?
  • Disliked — See above
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank junkinthetrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2007

I have stayed at the Inn several times in the past and have been very happy. Recently I had a different experience...I called early in the week to reserve a room for myself and my kids, we were coming up to cut down our Christmas tree in the national forest on Saturday, and made a reservation for Friday night. When I called to verify my room on Friday the clueless reservation girl said she had made it for Thursday and then said "oops" Consequently the trip was ruined...I called to have my money refunded and was told no...I will no longer be recommending this hotel to my friends, business partners, or family.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank sodor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Payson hotels
13.8 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#2 of 12 in Payson
382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
339 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
1.3 mi away
Motel 6 Payson
Motel 6 Payson
#11 of 12 in Payson
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Mountain Inn

Property: Majestic Mountain Inn
Address: 602 E State Highway 260, Payson, AZ 85541-4935
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Majestic Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Mountain Inn welcomes vacationing guests and business persons to Payson and offers exceptional hospitality and impeccable service that will assure a relaxing and memorable experience. Here, the spirit of west beckons the adventurer with endless opportunities to explore the picturesque mountains, streams and canyons.For the business traveler our central location will be a convenient departure point for making calls and a perfect place to relax after a productive days work. Our superb location at the base of the Mogollon Rim is surrounded by stunning natural beauty and has been described as the gateway to the White Mountains. Majestic Mountain Inn is truly a one-of-a-kind Inn. Stay with us and experience the relaxing atmosphere nestled in the midst of the largest Ponderosa Pine forest on the planet. Payson was originally a small ranching community, but now counts itself as one of the top destinations in Arizona for vacations due to its picturesque mountain backdrop, 300 days of sunshine and friendly locals. From the edge of the Rim to high desert topography, Payson offers an abundance of natural beauty as well as a variety of attractions, history and activities for guests of all ages. At Payson Roundup's annual awards Majestic Mountain Inn once again earned the distinction of "Best of Rim Country" a prestigious award given for hotel category. "We are so honored once again, to receive this prestigious award and we hope to make this year an even better one for our guests, our community, and our grand state of Arizona"Stay with us and experience a most relaxing atmosphere in the midst of the pine forest and enjoy our exceptional hospitality!"The staff at Majestic Mountain Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Mountain Hotel Payson
Majestic Mountain Payson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing