We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"What a difference a year makes"...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Majestic Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"What a difference a year makes"...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I are frequent visitors to Payson and usually stay at a well known chain motel. A couple of years ago we decided to try Majestic. We were very disappointed, front desk was rude, the room was dirty and no one seemed too interested in making it any better. A close friend from Payson made mention that the new GM, Brenda, at Majestic, had really made a huge turn around with the property, so we took a chance and booked our stay...From check-in to check-out our stay was perfect. Ultra clean room, comfy bed and a yummy breakfast to boot !! Going to Payson? Think Majestic Mountain, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson_majestic, General Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Jo W. Thank you taking the time to write such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us. I do appreciate you and your husband trying our services again. We are looking forward to your next visit here at Majestic Mountain Inn.

With Best Regards,

Brenda Long-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    113
    46
    28
    15
See reviews for
89
214
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

From the time I checked in the staff bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable. My 2 boys, daughter, Cecil ( the dog), Woman and myself, will be back. Thank you Miss Alana for the above and beyond kind service. Thank you Majestic Mountan. The Crowleys.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cctexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson_majestic, General Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Crowleys,

Thank you for taking time to write this review expressing the pleasant experience you had while staying here at Majestic Mountain Inn. We do invite you back and are looking forward to seeing you and your family again in the near future.

Best regards,

The staff at MMI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent two nights here in early November and we were very happy with the accommodation. We had just an ordinary room (no fireplace or hot tub), but it was still clean and quiet. We did not spend a lot of time in the room since we went hiking each day, but when we were there it was nice.

It was pretty basic, but for the price we could not complain. The breakfast was your standard continental breakfast, but again for the price it was not bad. We walked into town each night and ended up walking about a mile to find a good place to eat. There is a shopping center within a quarter to half mile that has a grocery store, a pizza place and a couple other fast-food type joints.

My only real complaint was that they had just gotten a new TV service that seemed OK, but they did not get ESPN2, so I had to walk somewhere to watch a game that was on that channel that night. I normally don't care about TV service in room since I'm rarely there, but this time was an exception and a miss.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZTrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson_majestic, General Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy you found your room to be exceptionable, clean and quiet. Yes, the Payson area has much to offer, not only in town, as well as hiking on the Rim. I regret you were not able to receive ESPN2 and are looking into getting it. We do though have many sports channels on our cable for all the welcomed sports fans. We appreciate you staying here at Majestic Mountain Inn, looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here for an event. The room was cute and had a nice fire place. It was easy to get to everything we needed for our event and the staff was very helpful. There is a separate buling with washer, dryer and ice machine which was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson_majestic, General Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Doug,

Thank you for taking the time to write your outstanding review. I am happy to read you found your room outstanding, enjoyed your fireplace and found the staff here at Majestic Mountain Inn to be very helpful. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,

The staff at MMI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just got home from staying at the Majestic for two nights. This was our third time there. We love it. In fact, we traveled 400 miles just to spend my birthday there. We always get the luxury room, with the jacuzzi and the fireplace in the room. It is so great. There is a back door where you can go out and sit on your own patio amongst the pine trees. It is truly beautiful. We had requested the room close to the pool.. The pool area is amazing. You can lay back in the heated water and look up at all the pine trees surrrounding the pool. We specifically asked Brenda, the manager, if the pool would still be open and heated for our stay. She assured us that it would be until the end of October. Imagine our shock, when we got there and the pool gate was padlocked and the pool was covered up!! We were so disappointed. When we asked about it, they said oh sorry, the owners closed it early for the season. A phone call would have been nice before we traveled 400 miles to lay by the pool. However they did unlock the gate so we could sunbathe. But not the same without the pool. We won't be returning in any season but the summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson_majestic, General Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Jammy,

We want to thank you for the wonderful review and being a frequent guest. We want to apologize for the misunderstanding on the pool being locked upon your arrival. We are keeping the pool area open for any of our guests, who would enjoy sitting or to sunbathe around the pool area. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best regards,

The staff at MMI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have stayed here several times over the past 10 years, the last time being over the 4th of July this past year and it is still the cutest place. We have stayed in the deluxe queen, deluxe king, and the luxury room and all have been fantastic. The staff is super friendly and the rooms are quiet (no rooms above you makes a big difference). The continental breakfast is a little lacking in that it is in the lobby which is small and we have yet to find a great breakfast place in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYGiantsGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson_majestic, General Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your warm review on your most recent stay here at Majestic Mountain Inn. We are joyous you and your family find our rooms to be fantastic, cute and quite. Its a true pleasure to have repeat guests like you. We are very much looking forward to your next stay!

Best regards,

The staff at MMI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place has personality, trees, places to picnic - a sweet surprise at the end of the day. The rooms are not elaborate but clean and pleasant and we will certainly book there again. Their room rate was the best, a real value - did not expect it to be this nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 912mytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Payson hotels
13.9 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#3 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#2 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
1.3 mi away
Motel 6 Payson
Motel 6 Payson
#11 of 12 in Payson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Payson
Comfort Inn Payson
#4 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Mountain Inn

Property: Majestic Mountain Inn
Address: 602 E State Highway 260, Payson, AZ 85541-4935
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Majestic Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Mountain Inn welcomes vacationing guests and business persons to Payson and offers exceptional hospitality and impeccable service that will assure a relaxing and memorable experience. Here, the spirit of west beckons the adventurer with endless opportunities to explore the picturesque mountains, streams and canyons.For the business traveler our central location will be a convenient departure point for making calls and a perfect place to relax after a productive days work. Our superb location at the base of the Mogollon Rim is surrounded by stunning natural beauty and has been described as the gateway to the White Mountains. Majestic Mountain Inn is truly a one-of-a-kind Inn. Stay with us and experience the relaxing atmosphere nestled in the midst of the largest Ponderosa Pine forest on the planet. Payson was originally a small ranching community, but now counts itself as one of the top destinations in Arizona for vacations due to its picturesque mountain backdrop, 300 days of sunshine and friendly locals. From the edge of the Rim to high desert topography, Payson offers an abundance of natural beauty as well as a variety of attractions, history and activities for guests of all ages. At Payson Roundup's annual awards Majestic Mountain Inn once again earned the distinction of "Best of Rim Country" a prestigious award given for hotel category. "We are so honored once again, to receive this prestigious award and we hope to make this year an even better one for our guests, our community, and our grand state of Arizona"Stay with us and experience a most relaxing atmosphere in the midst of the pine forest and enjoy our exceptional hospitality!"The staff at Majestic Mountain Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Majestic Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Mountain Hotel Payson
Majestic Mountain Payson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing