We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indeed Majestic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Certificate of Excellence
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Indeed Majestic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Easy to find, good location, nice room, great breakfast, wonderful staff - what more could anyone want? We were welcomed upon arrival, and the welcoming attitude of the staff continued throughout our stay. They made us feel as if we had come to a family reunion, with none of the family issues! Our room was comfortable and quiet, so we enjoyed laying back and relaxing. Once rested, there were things to do. There are restaurants, a gas station and convenience store, and a grocery store within walking distance of the inn. Also, the town is spread out, so it was interesting to drive around and see the place. Payson is a nice sized town, with antique stores, art galleries and coffee shops. It is surronded by beautiful scenery, including lots and lots and lots of tall trees, many lakes, and hiking trails. Also interesting are the villages of Pine and Strawberry. There's an old schoolhouse in Strawberry - the original one-room school building, now a museum. We had a buffalo burger at a bar and grill in Strawberry - very good. It was a good trip - a good get-away.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so if that's an issue, be sure to request a 1st level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda_from_Gallup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson_majestic, General Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Linda,

We are so happy to see you had a wonderful stay and that everything was at your convenience. Our staff assures on making you feel welcome and we invite you to come back to Majestic Mountain Inn. Thank you for the great review and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Brenda Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    115
    47
    29
    15
See reviews for
89
219
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Escaping the heat of Phoenix in summer is just an hour drive into the beautiful mountains to Payson, AZ. where fresh air, hiking and great antiquie shops await. A perfect stop over is the Majestic Mt. Inn on 206 just off the BeeLine Hwy. Though in town it feels like you have gone deeper into the Mountains because it is set off the road in tall pines with lush grass and patios on the first floor to have coffee in the AM or enjoy the cool summer night. There is a lovely bar b q area both in the grassy area and by the pool. They have everything from the standard room to rooms with full on whirlpool tubs for two and fireplaces and even dog friendly rooms. The pool it set far enough back into the trees that you feel far away from the town. Breakfast is served in the Club House where you can eat on the porch or inside enjoying a great choice of meat, eggs, fresh waffles, bagels and breads, fruit, yogurt, juice, cereal and assortment of beverages. The lobby is a lovely place to chill out with a fireplace, free computer use and lots of reading material to keep you busy while you enjoy a beverage, fruit and cookies!
Prices are reasonable for what they offer and the staff ready and willing to recommend area attractions and restaurants and help with any needs; I heard someone get advice where to get their car fixed.

Room Tip: Couples should go the extra few dollars for the fireplace/whirlpool rooms as they are larger and set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane101065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson_majestic, General Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Diane,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such an outstanding review of Majestic Mountain Inn and letting everyone know about our excellent accommodations. Yes, even though we are conveniently located here in the town of Payson our property seems as if your deep in a paradise forest where our guests find them self's surrounded by tall pine trees, plenty of green grass, flowers and small wildlife. We are looking forward to your next arrival.

Best regards,

Brenda Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We loved it here! The room was clean, inviting, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. Friendly, accommodating staff and helpful service. Spectacular view and surroundings. Conveniently located among stores, restaurants, etc. I don't believe anything was lacking in any aspect. This establishment seems to have plenty to offer which we have yet to take advantage of, so we will definitely be back! Thank you for a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyme614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson_majestic, General Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are truly happy you had a remarkable experience and want to come back. We invite you back so to take full advantage of all the "Majestic Mountain Inn" has to offer. Thank you and hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Brenda Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laconia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here overnight on our way to Sedona. Payson is a nice-sized town; not too big, not too small. High elevation made things much cooler than Phoenix, very comfortable. Some great restaurants and hiking trails, lots of elk to see in the early mornings!
Pool was awesome. Breakfast was very good. Staff polite and helpful. Steak house next door was great, too...and the Inn provided a discount coupon to use there, which was appreciated.
We stayed there about 5-6 years ago, and it has become a little run-down since then...but not real bad. Mainly needs a good cleaning of the stairways and sidewalks in front of the rooms...was covered with gum, spilled sodas, ground out cigarette ash spots everywhere...etc. We saw maintenence sweeping, but really needs a power-washing with high pressure steamer. Sounds nitpicky, but would make a huge difference...my wife didn't even want to walk barefooted to the pool because the walkways look so nasty.
We would stay there again, but an occasional power-washing of the hard-surface walking areas doesn't take that long, and could be done on slow days...it would be worth the effort to improve the overall experience because everything else was good!

Room Tip: rooms towards the rear of the property away from the road were quieter, but were all booked this tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbsbyahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson_majestic, General Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your time in writing this outstanding review. There are two restaurants very close to Majestic Mountain Inn as well as other excellent restaurants here in Payson. We are happy you took advantage of this convenience. The Rim Country has an abundant offering of hiking trails. In our lobby, we always offer free user friendly hiking trail maps as well as other free literature on all the fabulous outdoor activities for our guests enjoyment. I am pleased you found the staff here polite and helpful. We have since obtained special equipment to help remove the gum, soda stains and other issues which unfortunately finds the way to our sidewalks. At all times we only want to represent a clean and well maintained property. Thank you for your suggestion. We are looking forward to your next arrival.

Best regards,

Brenda Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Hubby, doggies and I needed a break from the heat of Phoenix and found a great dog-friendly hotel complete with green belt and large pool! The continental breakfast was a nice touch, the staff was very helpful and friendly, and the room was clean & very quiet. When in your room, walking the dogs or swimming in the pool you would never know that you are surrounded by restaurants, grocery stores, convenient gas stations and the main roads in and out of town. We stayed in the basic double queen but they also have larger rooms with fireplaces. Got a prime rib dinner to take back to our room (much to our two yorkies delight) from the restaurant next door and it was perfect! Very happy with our stay, was just what we needed! Hope to check it out during the winter when we need a snow fix!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MANDM1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson_majestic, General Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your time in writing this review and are happy you had a wonderful experience here at Majestic Mountain Inn. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Brenda Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel was average. Room was clean, had an outside porch that looks across to the other rooms with a green belt in between, and had adequate vending services, even a grill available. The bathroom was also clean and has space for all the toiletries that you take on vacation. Bed was comfortable and lots of pillows. The only problem is that it is right off the main road so there is quite a bit of traffic noise. The trees surrounding the property helps to minimize that. Overall, I like it here and would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room farther from the road although they may be an upgrade charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbyburros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed 3 nights and it was one of the most relaxing places I have stayed in awhile. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and responsive. The breakfast was great, as well.

Nice grassy area and BBQ pit between the buildings and rooms.

I will only stay at the Majestic Inn when staying near Payson. When you find something that works, you got to stick with it.

Room Tip: All rooms seem very nice. Planning on trying a luxury room next stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirtualUncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson_majestic, General Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Majestic Mountain Inn. We do appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Brenda Long & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Payson hotels
13.8 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#3 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#2 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
1.3 mi away
Motel 6 Payson
Motel 6 Payson
#11 of 12 in Payson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Mountain Inn

Property: Majestic Mountain Inn
Address: 602 E State Highway 260, Payson, AZ 85541-4935
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Majestic Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Mountain Inn welcomes vacationing guests and business persons to Payson and offers exceptional hospitality and impeccable service that will assure a relaxing and memorable experience. Here, the spirit of west beckons the adventurer with endless opportunities to explore the picturesque mountains, streams and canyons.For the business traveler our central location will be a convenient departure point for making calls and a perfect place to relax after a productive days work. Our superb location at the base of the Mogollon Rim is surrounded by stunning natural beauty and has been described as the gateway to the White Mountains. Majestic Mountain Inn is truly a one-of-a-kind Inn. Stay with us and experience the relaxing atmosphere nestled in the midst of the largest Ponderosa Pine forest on the planet. Payson was originally a small ranching community, but now counts itself as one of the top destinations in Arizona for vacations due to its picturesque mountain backdrop, 300 days of sunshine and friendly locals. From the edge of the Rim to high desert topography, Payson offers an abundance of natural beauty as well as a variety of attractions, history and activities for guests of all ages. At Payson Roundup's annual awards Majestic Mountain Inn once again earned the distinction of "Best of Rim Country" a prestigious award given for hotel category. "We are so honored once again, to receive this prestigious award and we hope to make this year an even better one for our guests, our community, and our grand state of Arizona"Stay with us and experience a most relaxing atmosphere in the midst of the pine forest and enjoy our exceptional hospitality!"The staff at Majestic Mountain Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majestic Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Mountain Hotel Payson
Majestic Mountain Payson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing