We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2007

I have stayed at the Inn several times in the past and have been very happy. Recently I had a different experience...I called early in the week to reserve a room for myself and my kids, we were coming up to cut down our Christmas tree in the national forest on Saturday, and made a reservation for Friday night. When I called to verify my room on Friday the clueless reservation girl said she had made it for Thursday and then said "oops" Consequently the trip was ruined...I called to have my money refunded and was told no...I will no longer be recommending this hotel to my friends, business partners, or family.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank sodor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Majestic Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 423 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2007

The Majestic Mountain Inn was a disappointment. Although all rooms are now non-smoking, our room reeked of stale smoke and the front desk declined to move us. The upholstery on the two chairs was horribly stained so we did not want to even touch them. There was a coffee maker in the room but they forgot to leave any cups or utensils. Very disappointed. There were some nice things - the grassy area right out front and the in-room DVD player.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TempeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

On arrival, the blonde lady who checked us in said two statements -- NAME? and "check out is at 11". We had to ask how to get to our room and what number it was. Gosh -- I wish we had not asked. The bed was the worst I have ever slept in and I have stayed at some low price hotels -- it was saggy and had no support whatso ever -- It was a deluxe king room with a fire place -- we spent over $150 a nite to stay awake all nite and leave with a backache. Plus the doors slammed all nite long from the other rooms and the whole building shook. Just as we started to fall asleep -- BAM another door slammed. Do yourself a favor and stay at the days inn down the street -- The price they charged for this horrible room was outrageous.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank red1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We have stayed at this hotel many times but will not be going back. This stay was ok accept for the fact that the carpet in the bathroom area was wet when we arrived. It wasn't until that evening that my husband discovered that the little refrigerator was turned off and dripping all over the carpet. He turned on the refrigerator to stop the dripping. We thought that would be the end of that. (except for the wet carpet) It did have a rather musty smell though, and the carpet never dried completely.
We didn't think to tell the office of this problem umfortunately, because today we got a message from a Tom Mitchell telling us they were going to have to charge us extra because they think we had a cat in the room! We have never had a cat in our married life!!
We called and expained the situation to a young lady and she said Tom would call us back. When he didn't, my husband called him and told him about the problem with the refrigerator. He didn't believe us and said it was cat urine and we would be charged for the clean up.
Needless to say we have informed our credit card company of this problem and may also talk to a lawyer.
Lesson learned---ALWAYS tell the office about any problems you have or you may be charged for something you didn't do!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank azflygirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We spent only one night here, while on our way to New Mexico.
What a beautiful place! The grounds are immaculate as are the rooms. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

Fargo's restaurant is 2 doors down and had great food at
reasonable prices. The staff here is also very friendly.

Can't wait to go back!

Barbels

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

I was traveling from Phoenix to Show Low via Payson. Due to whether, I end up staying in Majestic Mountain Inn. I was amazed to see my room, oversized room, nice ceiling, spa and a fireplace. It was weekday and price was reasonable compare to other hotel with same amenities. It was a wonderful stay and staff was friendly and helpful. I strongly recommend experiencing Luxury room.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank dave4715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2006

We had stayed at the Majestic Mountain Inn before so I was eager for our latest trip. While I don't remember the rooms all being smoking rooms before, apparently that is the case now. Our room smelled as you would expect and it was a tough night's sleep. The vanilla candles and Fabreeze we ran over to Safeway to get didn't help at all. We had reserved a luxury room with Jacuzzi and I was anxiouis to enjoy that, but upon our arrival I was told by the front desk young man (who referred to himself as the general manager on the phone to from what I could make out was another unhappy customer) that the person who took my reservation had made a mistake and we would have to have the deluxe room with no Jucuzzi.

We stopped at the hotel at 2 p.m. to see if we could check in, and without even asking our name and checking our reservation we were told by the teenager working the desk that check in was at 3 and they were still cleaning rooms.

Check in took quite some time as only one person was working at the front desk on a very busy Saturday.

The air conditioner in the room was too loud to get a good night's sleep and the refrigerator didn't work.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank quiettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticGM, Manager at Majestic Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2007

Hello,
I would like to write a response to a review dated 7/23/06. We have undergone a Management change. The Gentleman who referred to himself as General Manager was no longer with the company as of August '06. This beautiful property is now under new management and has done some significant staff changes. Our property has both non smoking\smoking rooms with 95% being non smoking. We apologize if this guest was lead to believe that all rooms were smoking. We always try to give our guests an early check-in however, on some days that just is not possible if the room is not yet clean and there is nor another room to move the guest into to accommodate the early check-in request. We have purchased several brand new air conditioner units and made other significant improvements to the property. We would like to invite all past guests to have had a poor experience with previous staff of management to try us again. To all new guests, we would love to have you and earn your trust so you also can be a repeat Guest. Please ask for the Manager when making reservations. We can guarantee you will love our property and new amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Payson hotels
13.8 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#2 of 12 in Payson
396 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
345 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rim Country Inn
Rim Country Inn
#9 of 12 in Payson
44 reviews
1.3 mi away
Motel 6 Payson
Motel 6 Payson
#12 of 12 in Payson
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Mountain Inn

Address: 602 E State Highway 260, Payson, AZ 85541-4935
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Price Range: $95 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Majestic Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Mountain Inn welcomes vacationing guests and business persons to Payson and offers exceptional hospitality and impeccable service that will assure a relaxing and memorable experience. Here, the spirit of west beckons the adventurer with endless opportunities to explore the picturesque mountains, streams and canyons.For the business traveler our central location will be a convenient departure point for making calls and a perfect place to relax after a productive days work. Our superb location at the base of the Mogollon Rim is surrounded by stunning natural beauty and has been described as the gateway to the White Mountains. Majestic Mountain Inn is truly a one-of-a-kind Inn. Stay with us and experience the relaxing atmosphere nestled in the midst of the largest Ponderosa Pine forest on the planet. Payson was originally a small ranching community, but now counts itself as one of the top destinations in Arizona for vacations due to its picturesque mountain backdrop, 300 days of sunshine and friendly locals. From the edge of the Rim to high desert topography, Payson offers an abundance of natural beauty as well as a variety of attractions, history and activities for guests of all ages. At Payson Roundup's annual awards Majestic Mountain Inn once again earned the distinction of "Best of Rim Country" a prestigious award given for hotel category. "We are so honored once again, to receive this prestigious award and we hope to make this year an even better one for our guests, our community, and our grand state of Arizona"Stay with us and experience a most relaxing atmosphere in the midst of the pine forest and enjoy our exceptional hospitality!"The staff at Majestic Mountain Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Mountain Hotel Payson
Majestic Mountain Payson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing