We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fargo's Steakhouse

Fargo's Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Payson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I were coming home from the Fourth Of July weekend in the AZ mountains, and decided to stop in Payson, AZ for the night - so we could leave very early the next morning to ride our motorcycles down into Phoenix, before it got too hot. We arrived tired, hot and hungry in Payson. After settling into our motel and cleaning up, we decided to get something to eat. The traffic was so bad, due to the Holiday, that we decided to walk across the street rather than fire up the bikes and go into town. Luckily for us, Fargo's was within walking distance. We visited Fargo's at about 2 pm on a Monday afternoon. The restaurant opens at 11 for lunch and stays open through dinner. The restaurant decor is comfortable and the booths are roomy. Tables are also available. We were very hungry, so at 2 pm, we requested the dinner menu, which is available all day. We started with a stuffed mushroom appetizer, which was very good - large mushrooms stuffed with crabmeat and topped with melted provolone cheese. There were six large mushrooms caps, served with lemon and drawn butter. For dinner, we had a large spinach salad, with candied pecans, craisins and a perfectly cooked cajun chicken breast on top. We also had the 12 ounce ribeye steak, served with delicious garlic mashed potatoes and a garlic spinach-onion-carrot vegetable side dish. Warm dinner rolls with whipped butter was also available. Needless to say, we were very satisfied by the time we left, and had no room for dessert - but they did look good. Due to the early hour, baked potatoes were not available (they are available after 4pm) but the garlic mashed was a wonderful alternative. The restaurant is not cheap, and our dinner cost about $43, without tip or drinks - but the food was well worth the price. Our waitress was courteous, attentive and available when we needed her. We will certainly return to try some other menu items on our next trip to Payson, AZ.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoenix_AZShredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    100
    20
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We'll be stopping here again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I had lunch here and were pleasantly surprised! We travel a lot and from our experience we rarely encounter such a nice restaurant in a small town. The décor is updated, casual, with a touch of class and spotlessly clean. We were greeted warmly by the staff when we arrived...certainly off to a good start.

I ordered the Coconut Crusted Salmon bun which was very tasty...the sauce added just enough spice and the salmon was grilled perfectly! My husband had the Cheeseburger and said that it was one of the best burgers he had ever had. Lunch entrees were reasonably priced.. ours were $8-10. We decided to splurge and have dessert so we ordered a Mini Skillet Cookie to share. They offer 3 different cookie flavors to choose from, baked to order in a mini skillet and topped with one very generous scoop of ice cream. Delicious! and only $2.50!

Seating is available in the bar, dining room or outside patio. We sat in the dining room but would have picked the patio if it had been cooler outside. Our server was friendly and efficient. Overall a great dining experience. We will definitely be back on our next trip through Payson.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank az_travellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stopped in on our way through town for lunch. The food was good, large portions, salad was fresh, service was a little slow from the kitchen. The servers were attentive. A nice place to and very clean.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbtw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caeur D Alene
Level Contributor
516 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Great service. Really courteous waitress. Great environment. He food was wonderful. Everyone ordered something different and all were really happy.
The coconut crusted salmon was fantastic. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, Pleasant Atmosphere, Nice Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We ate at Fargo's the first night of our AZ trip this past April. It is a one minute walk from the hotel we stayed at (Majestic Mt Inn), which was a plus, as we were feeling rather jet lagged by that time. We walked into an attractive foyer, then into the restaurant, and were quickly seated. Our very pleasant waitress greeted us right away, the beers we ordered were brought quickly, and were ice cold. The stuffed mushroom appetizers were very good, as was my Black and Blue Salad, and hubby's steak. All items were cooked properly to order. The waitress was really nice, and the restaurant is very clean and tastefully decorated-but be sure to check out the "statues" above the bar, some of those are amusing, especially when seen from the dining room! If we travel to that part of AZ on another trip, we will be sure to visit Fargo's again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spurgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fargo's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing