We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, but not great”
Review of Super 8 Payson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Payson
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Adequate, but not great”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I'm not really sure how this place got such stellar reviews. It's clean and feels safe but I would advise it more for traveling workmen than business or family travel. Lot's of loud raucous activity spilling out of doorways. Bathroom is so small you must fully close the door to use it. Walls are very thin and ordinary conversation travels through them. No elevator. Staff is very nice and helpful, however. All in all, just adequate.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, choose the second floor. No elevator and lots of stairs, but a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prosenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany B, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Payson, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for you feedback! WE are sorry we didn't meet you needs. We do hope to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    95
    44
    27
    19
See reviews for
94
81
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

What a great find! Staff were friendly and accommodating. Not your usual Super 8. Rooms seemed clean with fridge, microwave, and comfy beds...within walking distance of some nice restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany B, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Payson, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are happy you love our place we love having you stay here as a valued guest! Please come back soon. Have a Super day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel was nice for a Super 8. Beautiful pool with a waterfall fountain flowing into it. Large room with flat screen TV, refrigerator, and microwave. Free wifi access was reliable.

The breakfast was an average continental breakfast, consisting of juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, prepackaged pastries, cereal, and toast.

The most memorable part of my stay here, however, was the check in, which was an amazing comedy of errors.

- Front desk clerk was joking about the fact that my room was right above hers, so I shouldn't make too much noise. Then she accidentally gave me a key to her room instead of mine. (I happened to be watching as she entered the room number on the keypad). I went upstairs and confirmed my suspicions, then went back for a second key.

- I noticed on the receipt that I was checked in for only one night when my reservation was for two nights. I went back to the office yet again, but she wasn't there. She was outside having a smoke. Rather than interrupt her cigarette, she told me she could just fix it in the computer and that she would take care of it later. (I later learned she never did).

- During checkin, she swiped my credit card, and assured me that it wouldn't be charged and was just for incidentals. (My room was prepaid through Orbitz, which she did acknowledge). Given the other errors, I checked my bank website, which confirmed that my card had in fact been charged for one night. I went back again to the front desk, and for several minutes there was no one there. Finally another man (I think he was a manager or owner) came out. He was friendly and helpful, and undid all of the errors above, including changing it to two days, undoing the incorrect check in (that charged to my credit card, assuring that it was just an authorization that would not go through as he cancelled it), and issuing me a new receipt.

Despite all of the check in snafus, would I stay here again? Yes. It's actually a nice hotel for the price. But be sure you stay alert at check in.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany B, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Payson, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for chosing Super8 we have new staff and would love to have you bcak in the future and checking in will not be a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The sign on approach advertises in-room fireplaces in select rooms? I have never seen a Super 8 like that before! I got the regular room and it had new tan carpet and remodeled bathroom. I was amazed at the tan carpet because most of the budget hotels have dark blue or dark red carpet so you cant tell how dirty the carpet is. It appeared to be a bold move to have new tan carpet in the room! Spotlessly clean room! Lean and typical breakfast. All of okay on my visit. Payson is a great area to visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amethyst-King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany B, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Payson, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Super8.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

During the 2 night stay the only problem was the noisy AC and a broken coffee maker that has been replaced the second day. Even though I have been in the room for a very limited time during the late night only, I did not feel comfortable. However it was relatively affordable; 52 USD/night...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbalsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany B, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Payson, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Super8!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We've developed a sort of "tradition," my wife and I, of going to Payson every year to spend New Year's Eve. This is the first year we stayed at the Super 8 -- solely as a result of reading the GLOWING reviews here on TripAdvisor. Not disappointed!

I reserved a regular king room, non-smoking, for two nights. When we arrived for our first night, a little after 6:00pm on Saturday, New Year's Eve, having driven up from Chandler, we were VERY pleasantly surprised when the front desk clerk Nancy informed us that the regular king rooms were all taken, that we would "have" to take the only remaining king-anything... a very CAVERNOUS king suite complete with hot tub and fireplace. SCORE! Now, she did tell us that the hot tub and fireplace were both shut off and not operational, but no matter. Just having them in the room was a bonus--added to the "ambience" and air of high-endedness. :) The suite was huge. Probably 600+ s.f., with, I'd say, 12 ft. ceilings. Nothing cramped about this space!

Only two complaints: (1), the breakfast was somewhat limited, and (2), the Wifi was weak to non-existent inside our room. I pointed this out to the daytime manager the next day. He said he would have somebody check into that. Fine by me. As long as we hovered close to the door to our room, we had Wifi!

Bed was extremely comfortable. Convenient little "kitchenette" area. Flatscreen, fridge, micro. Very quiet room location. All in all a very good deal for our New Year's holiday stay. Thanks, Super 8 management. We'll definitely keep you in mind for next year!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulJRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany B, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Payson, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH ADAMS
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I was so impressed with this room that I literally came out approx. 5 minutes after I checked in to let the staff know of my joy with the cleanliness of the room. Will be back when coming up from Phoenix again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRUCE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany B, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Payson, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Super8.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Payson hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
413 reviews
13.6 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#2 of 12 in Payson
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Payson
Motel 6 Payson
#11 of 12 in Payson
60 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Payson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Payson

Property: Super 8 Payson
Address: 809 Highway 260 East, Payson, AZ 85541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Payson 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Payson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Payson
Payson Super Eight
Payson Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing