We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Black Canyon City, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

everyone was so friendly, from the desk clerk to the nice lady in the gift shop, to the man at the players club sign in. The room was actually two rooms with a large bath and spotlessly clean. The bed was so comfortable. Room service was fast and delicious, no skimping here, much more than we could eat and so reasonable. The only negatives were, we didn't win anything and the cigarette smoke in the casino was unpleasant. Oh well, can't have everything.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cactusart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
25
32
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We were pleasantly...AMAZED! The hotel rates are extremely reasonable, and the accommodations are very elegant. I've stayed at more hotels than the average person for longer periods of time and most of them were certainly 4 and 5 star ( The Swissôtel, The Renaissance,Ritz Carlton, The Hilton...). I'm here to say that what you end up getting at the Mazatzal are the accommodations of The Hyatt Regency at the rates of The Best Western. The restaurant prices were unbelievable; value and quality expectations were completely exceeded and the bar prices were fantastic as well. My friends and I go out all over the valley and I'd say that the drink prices were more in the Tempe price range versus the Scottsdale price range. Cheap drinks!!!
The only suggestions I'd make are regarding the "arcade" and the indoor pool. The arcade could/should be much better than what it is considering that this venue is a casino. At present it has about 10 outdated crap arcade games that hold no real fun for kids. The indoor pool area is extemely bleak and bland. The hotel should really consider getting some foliage in the pool area to give way to the beautiful mountain view from the patio just off of the pool.
Overall, the stay went above and beyond everything we had expected.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DestinationHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

The hotel was very clean. The hallaways and our room's carpet did not have any stains. We booked a room with two queen beds and a sofa sleeper. It had two flat screen tv and the bathroom was large. We loved the the swimming pool. Very large and clean. It was not crowded which was a plus. Loved staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redhead9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We are not gamblers and have not been interested in casinos for years, but there are not many really nice places in Payson on a budget. We paid $89 a night for a huge, awesome suite. There was a living room with a flat screen TV, wetbar, and a mini fridge, a large bathroom with a separate toilet area, and a SEPARATE large bedroom with a door that completely closes it off. The bedroom had two very comfortable queen beds, a desk, dresser, chair and a second flat screen TV. There was no microwave, but the desk will microwave anything for you. There is a big indoor pool and hot tub, and a tiny fitness center (cardio).

My husband was not feeling great so, altough the 3 day trip was mainly for hiking, we spent a lot of time in the room. I was so glad to have the space and a clean, newer, comfortable room. We also enjoyed room service which brings you anything on the menu for only an 18% fee (and NO food or gift shop fees on the reservation). We split one grilled salmon dinner with baked potato, hot bread, salad, soup, and vegetables and still could not eat it all. It was wonderful, and only $14. The next day we got a pizza which was huge and very fresh, but just ok tasting to me. I knew that I should have picked something else and they had a lot to choose from.

The advantages are the location, just as you enter Payson, the HUGE rooms, the pool/hot tub, 24 hour food, and cheap room service.

The rooms are billed as smoke-free, but I was sceptical, being at a casino, but I must admit that even my discerning nose agreed, our room was totally smoke-free.

The down side for us was the fact that you have to actually enter the casino to get to the hotel desk and elevators, and the casino is not smoke-free. I just can't stand being around smoke, so that bothered me, even though it was only for a few minutes.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jkpr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Payson hotels
1.8 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
410 reviews
15.3 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#2 of 12 in Payson
383 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Payson
Motel 6 Payson
#11 of 12 in Payson
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mazatzal Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mazatzal Hotel & Casino

Property: Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Address: Highway 87, Mile Marker 251, Payson, AZ
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mazatzal Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevate your expectations! Located 5000 ft above sea level in the mountain town of Payson, Arizona, Mazatzal is an all-suite Hotel & Casino located just 90 minutes from Phoenix. Overlooking the majestic Mazatzal Mountains Mazatzal Hotel & Casino features the best gaming action around, an indoor swimming pool, spa, fitness center and conference room. All our suites deliver that "at home" feel while keeping you close to all our casino excitement. Mazatzal is close enough to get away from it all, so come in now and experience the Magic in the Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mazatzal Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mazatzal Hotel And Casino
Mazatzal Hotel Payson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing