We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - wonderful surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Last night we did a last minute trip from Phoenix to Payson to celebrate a friend's birthday. The room was absolutely wonderful! The room looked brand new and huge. I have trouble sleeping and the bed was great. Food was also a wonderful surprise. We had dinner in the bar area and had the best BLT ever. Great service too. Check in was quick and woman was very friendly. Would highly recommend and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 87 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

It was a very nice stay. The rooms were great and very clean. The people were friendly. I unlike all of the other reviews wasn't offered any discounts or vouchers for free stay. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for specials they don't volunteer them...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Husband and I spent 3 nights in Payson took 200.00 to casino ended up spent 2 hrs went back 2 more times for 2 hrs and still went back to Phoenix with 100.00 and a voucher for a free nights stay at casino no expiration date I think we did good on the slots looking forward to my free nights stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We landed in Payson after a great scenic (but long) day on the Apache Trail. We decided to stay here because it had food, lodging, entertainment & beer all in one location. Got the stay & play package for $99 which was well worth it: after freeplay, discounts & vouchers we got almost $50 back. The rooms are huge, modern & very clean. Beds are very comfortable & they had extra pillows.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacqjanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The rooms are very clean and large with a separate living area with TV, mini-fridge and sleeper sofa. The beds are very comfortable with nice pillows. Join the players club at the casino and you get a special (Stay and Play) package that will discount the room rate along with receiving a coupon book that gives you food discounts, $15 breakfast voucher and $20 free casino play! The price of the room is comparable to other motels in the area once the freebies are discounted from the room price and the rooms are much larger and nicer than any other similar accommodations in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same with elevator access
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

To escape the hundred-plus heat in most of AZ, try the Mazatzal Hotel & Casino in Payson. It's located in the pine country along the base of the Mogollon Rim at an altitude where it still gets warm, but not hot, and is low enough that you don't require supplementary oxygen.

Mazatzal (easily remembered as "mad-as-hell" spoken rapidly) serves up the usual Indian casino gambling devices, with the usual Indian casino odds. Chances of winning are much better than the lottery, but the machines can gobble up the bucks at a rate you have to be careful with. Blackjack and poker are offered, but during the week when we visited, were not very popular. I played in one of each kind of tournament and although I didn't win, the company was probably the friendliest bunch I've ever played with anywhere.

In fact, all of the casino's employees were especially friendly and helpful

We took the play-and-stay package at $99 a night for three weekday nights, that included $20 in free play, breakfast, and a "fun" book each day, . The "fun book offered 20% discounts at the restaurant and gift shop, $5 blackjack match play, and some of the other usual "fun" book stuff. The gift shop offers some excellent prices on Apache & Navajo jewelry, including peridot from the San Carlos Apache Reservation.

The room couldn't have been much better for the price: a living room separated by a door from the bedroom, each room with its own flat screen TV & complete viewing offerings.

The only complaint is a relatively minor one. The parking is inconvenient and we had to circle the wagons a couple of times to determine where, exactly, registration and check-in was located. There were no signs and appearances suggest that the main desk should be located at the opposite end of the building. Some sort of marking such as "Park here to register" is certainly needed.

.

We

Room Tip: We saw only one room plan, indicating the rooms must all be the same.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jetageman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very clean and a nice room, kind of pricy for Payson, but very nice room, separate room with bed, furniture is the norm, but has a nice counter for storage of items, nice and clean bathroom. coffee maker and tea included. and fridge also.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varoom39m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Payson hotels
1.8 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
423 reviews
15.3 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#2 of 12 in Payson
396 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rim Country Inn
Rim Country Inn
#9 of 12 in Payson
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Payson
Motel 6 Payson
#12 of 12 in Payson
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mazatzal Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mazatzal Hotel & Casino

Address: Highway 87, Mile Marker 251, Payson, AZ
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Price Range: $131 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mazatzal Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevate your expectations! Located 5000 ft above sea level in the mountain town of Payson, Arizona, Mazatzal is an all-suite Hotel & Casino located just 90 minutes from Phoenix. Overlooking the majestic Mazatzal Mountains Mazatzal Hotel & Casino features the best gaming action around, an indoor swimming pool, spa, fitness center and conference room. All our suites deliver that "at home" feel while keeping you close to all our casino excitement. Mazatzal is close enough to get away from it all, so come in now and experience the Magic in the Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mazatzal Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mazatzal Hotel And Casino
Mazatzal Hotel Payson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing