We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Where The Locals Eat!”
Review of Crosswinds Grille

Crosswinds Grille
Ranked #7 of 88 Restaurants in Payson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Crosswinds Restaurant is NOT in the center of town but instead at the Payson Airport, just 1 mile west of the town center, up on a rim rock plateau.

It’s a family owned business that is open seven days a week with GREAT breakfasts, lunches, dinners and daily “specials”. The food is plentiful, fresh, and wholesome, service good, and it’s really unique in that if you have your own plane you can taxi up to the restaurant!

The views of the surrounding countryside, and the Tonto rim 20 miles away, adds to the restaurants atmosphere.

Highly recommended!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank VicPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Breakfast was tasty with good sized portions. The staff is very friendly! We also got slices of pie (Strawberry Rhubarb & Banana Cream) to go and they were delicious. We will return the next time we are in Payson!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank bythecompassrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

Best breakfast in town with friendly efficient staff! Lunch and dinner are great too! I especially love their BLT's

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank vgoddess10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

We've never eaten any meal other than breakfast at Crosswinds.Breakfast is always good—dependable—generous portions. But the reason to go there is the view of the Mogollon Rim—especially in inclement weather and snow! And to enjoy the small aircraft coming and going. We didn't pay attention to the pies in the cold case until we began to note planes flying in SPECIFICALLY to pick up a pie and then flying out. So we took an apple pie home... and we understood why! We always pick up pies for special occasions now from Crosswinds!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A548HYsarahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2019

We only recently learned of this location, and were pleased when we tried it for the first time.
It's the 'Home of the Million Dollar View' of the Rim. The airport is suitable for small private planes and the restaurant is home town friendly. Open from 6AM to 8PM, it serves American classics made fresh and served by friendly people. Model airplanes hang from the ceilings and are conversation pieces.
The food's good too. We had a hot turkey sandwich and a Reuben, both of which were very nice. Then, if you can still eat more, there is a refrigerated case of homemade pies.
Parking is right out front for your vehicle. There is also a fly-in campground with 12 spaces, fully stocked with firewood, and equipped with restrooms. Overnight camping is free to all fly-in guests, but please call ahead. Fun place. Great view.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Violette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crosswinds Grille also viewed

 

Been to Crosswinds Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing